We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florence”
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #118 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a pleasant stay in this 2 stars B&B hotel which felt like home. The staff - especially Francesca - was just super! The breakfast was very good. Free wi-fi. Nice location, next to the train station, about 10-15 minutes walk from the Duomo. A lot of shops and trattorias around. We strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loukiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Client,
Thank you for choosing "Hotel Berna " for your holidays in Florence.
We would like to express our sincerest thanks for the words you wrote regarding our b/b.
We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.
Thank you agian for your collaboration.
Kindest regards
ciao from Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Good location just opposit the SMN train station, supermarket is beside the B & B, Clean and very nice room and not small, nice washroom and enough hot water. The Breakfast is good, caffe, cappunico, latte. The main point we like Hotel Berna, is Francesca & the owener, Paolo they are very friendly, make you feel very relex & enjoy stay here.
Hong Kong

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I would have given this B&B five stars, but couldn't because there was no hot water when I arrived and it was so cold that all I wanted to do was take a hot shower. Having said that, it was a lovely B&B, staffed by really wonderful people.
Berna is a very typical B&B with the rooms right off the entry area so you can hear everything from the hallway. But it was always quiet at night. The room was large, though for some reason it had way too many chairs and very few places to set things.The bed was firm and comfortable.
The bathroom was recently remodeled and had a bidet and towel rack warmer, both lovely things to have when you're traveling.
The TV had a couple English language news stations, which I really appreciated.
The morning breakfast was very plentiful. The coffee from the espresso machine (not instant) was a fantastic treat!
Also, I really liked the location which was next to the train station but still close to the Duomo.
But mostly this was a lovely stay because of Francesca. She was so friendly and willing to help. As a solo traveler I really appreciated her. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Hotel Berna is located very close to the Santa Maria Novella train station, literally a 5 minute walk. It is on the 3rd floor (4th if you are American as they count "ground" as we count "first") but there is an elevator. It is very secure and safe. The rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques and very colorful. There are balcony rooms available as well. The breakfast is one of the best I've had in a hotel in Italy. Francesca runs this hotel with joy and attention to detail. This is my second stay in Hotel Berna and I will be staying there every time I visit Firenze!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you so much for your kindness. We'll wait for your coming back. Ciao from all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Off the back of a rather dull and dreary visit to Napoli, Hotel Berna and Florence proved to be the perfect antidote to our pessimism.

The hotel's receptionist, Francesca, was extremely warm and helpful. Not only did she greet us with a huge smile each time we came through the doors, but she also went out of her way to arrange a last minute trip to Chianti for us as well. She is truly one of the reasons why I would want to go back to Florence, and Hotel Berna.

The hotel's owner, Paolo, also greeted us with fresh bread, a fruit basket, and drinks while taking us to our rooms. This was a pleasant surprise, in a trip that had thus far been peppered by overpriced attractions and conniving men on the streets.

The rooms that were provided were also elaborately decorated and clean. It was quite a change from our barebones hotel in Napoli. The charm of the room was carried through to the reception area, and also the breakfast room.

Given the rates that were paid, the location of the hotel, the warmth of the staff, and the charm of the room, I daresay that this has been the best hotel that I have been in all the 27 years of my life!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reigndeerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Hotel is nicely located just near the railway station so when you come from the airport by shuttle bus your are almost within 3 minutes of walk to the hotel. You would have your own keys to enter the building and open all the doors, since hotel is located on 3rd floor of ordinary building. The rooms are clean and quite good in size, have kettle, refrigerator, TV and Wi-Fi. In a bathroom that is also quite big in size (at least by Italian marks) we even found a toothbrushes and toothpaste. Franseca, the owner is a kindness itself, is doing her best to make your stay happy and trouble free. In the mornings she makes a perfect coffee with a professional machine as a real barista (actually she finished some professional courses in that area).
Next door to the hotel is the supermarket, so you may buy some food in case you need it - extremely convenient. Buses to outlets (Barberino and The Moll) are also departures from the places that are within few minutes of walk.
All in all we were very happy to stay in Berna and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear Client,
Thank you for choosing "Hotel Berna " for your holidays in Florence.
We would like to express our sincerest thanks for the words you wrote regarding our b/b.
We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.
Thank you agian for your collaboration.
Kindest regards
Francesca & Adriana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and truly enjoyed ourselves. Hotel is located just about 5 mins from the train station and there is a supermarket right next to the hotel (talked about convenience!). We had some problems locating the hotel initally as there is only a sign on the building as the hotel is on the 3rd floor. Just look for the supermarket and there is a Chinese restaurant next to it as well. The lift to the 3rd floor is something out of this world (in a good way). It is one of those old lifts and it is really retro.. Room is ultra comfortable. It is like in a room in a house rather than a hotel. In fact, the whole atmosphere in the hotel is like staying in an apartment. They only have 10 rooms and a breakfast room where Francesca makes breakfast every morning. Breakfast is adequate but the service is fantastic. Francesca helped us to make bookings for Accademia and Uffizi which was very sweet of her.
TV channels has no English channels but you are not supposed to be spending time in the room but out walking in the streets of Firenze. Will definitely recommend my friends to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you so much for your kindness.
We'll wait for your coming back.
Ciao from all the staff.
+ kiss Francesca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#162 of 410 in Florence
441 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#197 of 410 in Florence
712 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#116 of 410 in Florence
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#96 of 410 in Florence
775 reviews
San Lorenzo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
La Residenza dell'Orafo
#63 of 659 in Florence
594 reviews
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#46 of 659 in Florence
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 11 | Santa Maria Novella, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $67 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Berna 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Florence – Great location – show map Just 275 m from Florence's Santa Maria Novella Station, Hotel Berna features spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi, parquet floors, and an electric teakettle. You can walk to the cathedral in 10 minutes. Air-conditioned rooms come equipped with classic furnishings, double-glazed windows, and a flat screen TV. Each features a private bathroom, complete with shower, hairdryer, and toiletries. Breakfast at Berna Hotel is buffet style including freshly baked croissants, pastries, and fresh fruit along with juices. It is served daily in the breakfast room with hardwood floors and red fabrics The Uffizi Gallery is reachable by foot in 15 minutes, as is Ponte Vecchio. The Medici Chapel is a quarter mile away. San Lorenzo is a great choice for travelers interested in cathedrals, food and art. This is our guests' favorite part of Florence, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing