We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Vacation in Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Berna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Berna
Ranked #154 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bartlett
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a great stay at Hotel Berna. It was close to the train station and a close walk to all the attractions. Even though it was on a pretty busy street it was very quiet. The room was clean and the staff was great. Francesca was wonderful and made sure we had a hearty breakfast each morning and helped us plan some of our sightseeing and museum visits. The only downside is that there is a small lift and was difficult to fit our luggage in there so we carried it up to the third floor where the B&B was. I would highly recommend this!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    131
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
66
162
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were a party of six friends . Booked the hotel for its location close to the train station and very close to the all the sights . Supermarket on the ground floor with the central food market round the corner. Didn't expect for a 2 star hotel to have such facilities. Francesca and Paolo at the reception were very helpful with information and making us a superb cappucino with our breakfast. Coffee and tea facilities in the room were great plus slippers for the guests. We stayed in 4* in Bologna later and it didn't provide the facilities that Htl Berna had. Being on the 3rd floor and having a small elevator didn't bother us much. Actually it was good exercise for us after eating and wine tasting. Would book again when in Florence .

Room Tip: room at the back is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a pleasant stay in this 2 stars B&B hotel which felt like home. The staff - especially Francesca - was just super! The breakfast was very good. Free wi-fi. Nice location, next to the train station, about 10-15 minutes walk from the Duomo. A lot of shops and trattorias around. We strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loukiav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernahotel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Client,
Thank you for choosing "Hotel Berna " for your holidays in Florence.
We would like to express our sincerest thanks for the words you wrote regarding our b/b.
We always hope that our friendly and informal way to help our clients is appreciated.
Thank you agian for your collaboration.
Kindest regards
ciao from Francesca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Good location just opposit the SMN train station, supermarket is beside the B & B, Clean and very nice room and not small, nice washroom and enough hot water. The Breakfast is good, caffe, cappunico, latte. The main point we like Hotel Berna, is Francesca & the owener, Paolo they are very friendly, make you feel very relex & enjoy stay here.
Hong Kong

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I would have given this B&B five stars, but couldn't because there was no hot water when I arrived and it was so cold that all I wanted to do was take a hot shower. Having said that, it was a lovely B&B, staffed by really wonderful people.
Berna is a very typical B&B with the rooms right off the entry area so you can hear everything from the hallway. But it was always quiet at night. The room was large, though for some reason it had way too many chairs and very few places to set things.The bed was firm and comfortable.
The bathroom was recently remodeled and had a bidet and towel rack warmer, both lovely things to have when you're traveling.
The TV had a couple English language news stations, which I really appreciated.
The morning breakfast was very plentiful. The coffee from the espresso machine (not instant) was a fantastic treat!
Also, I really liked the location which was next to the train station but still close to the Duomo.
But mostly this was a lovely stay because of Francesca. She was so friendly and willing to help. As a solo traveler I really appreciated her. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Hotel Berna is located very close to the Santa Maria Novella train station, literally a 5 minute walk. It is on the 3rd floor (4th if you are American as they count "ground" as we count "first") but there is an elevator. It is very secure and safe. The rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques and very colorful. There are balcony rooms available as well. The breakfast is one of the best I've had in a hotel in Italy. Francesca runs this hotel with joy and attention to detail. This is my second stay in Hotel Berna and I will be staying there every time I visit Firenze!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernahotel, Responsabile reception at Hotel Berna, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you so much for your kindness. We'll wait for your coming back. Ciao from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Off the back of a rather dull and dreary visit to Napoli, Hotel Berna and Florence proved to be the perfect antidote to our pessimism.

The hotel's receptionist, Francesca, was extremely warm and helpful. Not only did she greet us with a huge smile each time we came through the doors, but she also went out of her way to arrange a last minute trip to Chianti for us as well. She is truly one of the reasons why I would want to go back to Florence, and Hotel Berna.

The hotel's owner, Paolo, also greeted us with fresh bread, a fruit basket, and drinks while taking us to our rooms. This was a pleasant surprise, in a trip that had thus far been peppered by overpriced attractions and conniving men on the streets.

The rooms that were provided were also elaborately decorated and clean. It was quite a change from our barebones hotel in Napoli. The charm of the room was carried through to the reception area, and also the breakfast room.

Given the rates that were paid, the location of the hotel, the warmth of the staff, and the charm of the room, I daresay that this has been the best hotel that I have been in all the 27 years of my life!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reigndeerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#163 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#211 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
Hotel Cosimo de'Medici
#80 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Angelica
Hotel Angelica
#186 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
San Lorenzo
Affittacamere Alba
Affittacamere Alba
#191 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
San Lorenzo
Zip B&B in Florence
Zip B&B in Florence
#99 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berna

Property: Hotel Berna
Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 11 | Santa Maria Novella, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Berna 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Florence – Great location – show map Just 275 m from Florence's Santa Maria Novella Station, Hotel Berna features spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi, parquet floors, and an electric teakettle. You can walk to the cathedral in 10 minutes. Air-conditioned rooms come equipped with classic furnishings, double-glazed windows, and a flat screen TV. Each features a private bathroom, complete with shower, hairdryer, and toiletries. Breakfast at Berna Hotel is buffet style including freshly baked croissants, pastries, and fresh fruit along with juices. It is served daily in the breakfast room with hardwood floors and red fabrics The Uffizi Gallery is reachable by foot in 15 minutes, as is Ponte Vecchio. The Medici Chapel is a quarter mile away. San Lorenzo is a great choice for travelers interested in cathedrals, food and art. This is our guests' favorite part of Florence, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Berna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing