We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret in Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Cavalcanti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Cavalcanti
Ranked #94 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Europe
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

I almost don't want to write this review because I don't want anyone to know about this place and go and stay there when I want to. We stay here every year. It is 100% fantastic. I see people have remarked on the smell of drains HELLO HELLO it's a medieval building in a medieval city. Go figure. And so what if the bar makes a noise. Go drink there. If you can't beat 'em, join em. You can't do better in Florence.

Room Tip: All rooms very pleasant but some do not have a view. Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    63
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
131
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at the Relais Cavalcanti, the place was nice and clean and a 5-minute walk from just about anywhere in central Florence. Francesca helped us make museum reservations prior to our stay and was also accomodating of our arrival time. No breakfast, but the kitchen area has coffee, tea, fruits, bread for toast, and small desert cakes and is always open for a light snack. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a well-priced, centrally located accomodation in Florence!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawston123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

I stayed 2 nights. The location is great but for the price is lacking the breakfast. I stayed in another hotel in Florence, a few days before and the rooms were bigger, they have the breakfast included and it was cheaper. The size of the rooms are good for an european hotel. Francesca is very nice and bella. She provided a map of Florence with several recommendations of restaurants, gelatos and groceries. Very good job.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RioMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The accomodation is central without traffic and is well above the irish pub.

The room was spacious with a wonderful view over the market.

Francesca was very helpful with places to see and eat.

The room with tea coffee and cakes was fantastic at any time of the day!

Air conditioning in the bedroom worked very well indeed.

I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lephoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My evaluation of RELAIS CAVALCANTI
Last year I and my family stayed in "RELAIS CAVALCANTI".
We were completely satisfied with the accommodation, service
and above all, with friendly atmosphere that made our stay in Florence
even more pleasant.
This year I visited Florence again and staying at the same place - RELAIS CAVALCANTI
reconfirmed my expectations resulted from the best experiences of the previous stay.
The high standard is guaranteed by the management of two ladies "Ann & Francesca"and that's why
I can "RELAIS CAVALCANTI " warmly recommend.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Florence is small and totally walkable. That's the reason it's important to have a hotel in the heart of the city. The Relais Cavalcanti is perfectly located. We found ourselves dropping by to unload packages or change shoes, grab an umbrella - throughout the day because of its convenience.

Our room was right beside the kitchen and I was worried about noise but the walls are thick and there's no noise problem. Likewise, an outdoor market was right outside our room window but we never heard a thing. Our room was beautiful: full of antiques, with a flat screen tv that we never turned on, a refrigerator, bidet in the large bathroom, ok air conditioning (don't know if it would have cooled enough in the hot hot summer). I had to go to the lovely living room for wifi, which was fast and free. There are only 5 rooms for rent at Relais Cavalcanti. We saw some of the other guests but everyone was in and out a lot so we never met any of them. The B&B is actually an apartment in a building full of other apartments. The door to the building is literally in the middle of an outdoor restaurant. One must schlep one's stuff up one flight of stairs to reach the elevator. The elevator says it holds 4 people but it looks more like a 2 person only affair to me. You get a set of keys for which you also get lessons. Haha. Front door key, elevator key, door to the flat key, room key, seems like there may have been another too.

It is quite a beautiful place to stay and the location makes it perfect.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank georgia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

The Relais lived up to expectations. The location was perfect for exploring, everything was within easy walking distance. The room was large, very clean and nicely furnished. The guest house is in a pedestrian zone so no traffic noise. There was noise from restaurants below, but hey you're in Florence! We closed the window (double glazed) turned on the air con and slept very peacefully. There was free WiFi but our room was furthest from reception so coverage was patchy. Having said that there was a comfy lounge next to reception where you could sit to check emails etc. Breakfast wasn't provided but there was a nice dining room with kitchenette to make your own. The only small thing I would advise about is that there is several steps to the lift so beware if you have heavy or large suitcases.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#37 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
B&B Olga's House
B&B Olga's House
#119 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#84 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Duomo
B&B Residenza della Signoria
B&B Residenza della Signoria
#59 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Cavalcanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Cavalcanti

Property: Relais Cavalcanti
Address: Via Pellicceria 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Relais Cavalcanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Cavalcanti Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing