We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$243
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Roma(Florence)
US$191
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$200
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plus Florence(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$436
US$419
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$790
US$550
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
370
78
16
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
78
16
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarmel and pinoother guestsvia guelfatrain stationwonderful hostslovely terracerick stevesmuseum reservationscentral marketthe hotel is conveniently locatedshared bathroomcoffee makerantique furnituremajor sightslate at nightsmall hotelmini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 483 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I travel and work in Italy and stay at this hotel every time I am in Florence. The location is excellent, a 5 minute walk to the Duomo. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the terrace is amazing. If I ever need anything like a charger for my phone or a hair dryer, the husband and wife owners are more than helpful and accomodating. Understand that in all Italian cities, the historical centers are mostly stone and hard surfaces so naturally they are a bit noisy....I find it charming and if it really bothers you..a room on the terrace is quiet..but really it is not that bad. Also, Florence is known for mosquitos and the hotel provides a little plug in machine that gets rid of them quickly so just ask.

It is a wonderful place to stay and I always meet very interesting travelers on the terrace....which usually results in great conversation and memorable evenings under the Tuscan moon. You can even see the top of the Duomo from the terrace!

I would never stay anywhere else. It is a joy.

Room Tip: i always choose the economical singles but #10 is delightful on the terrrace.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina_stilista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Perfect hotel just minutes from the train station. Carmel was very generous and after requesting a terrace gave us a beautiful room with a double door off the room to a huge common terrace. We were only there for a couple nights but it was a perfect spot to see Florence. She provided us with reservations for the Uffizi Gallery and Accadamia at no charge and had some excellent suggestions for breakfast within a one block radius of the hotel. By the way, the first time in 2 weeks we had bacon and scrambled eggs since coming to Italy so thanks Carmel. Great place, don't miss it and hope you get the terrace room.

Room Tip: We had room 9. Big, roomy and opens to the terrace. She won't guarantee them but she promises to try.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I never write reviews, good or bad, but this place was so bad I had to. My husband and I just came back from a 10 day vacation in London and Italy. We spent 2 nights in Florence which I would consider 2 of the worst nights I have ever had on vacation. We were given room #6 (which seems to have a lot of bad reviews and no photos on here). The room was OK by inital appearance but it was on a very noisy street. Then you walk into the bathroom through a metal door and while they told us the bathroom was clean, i wouldn't walk in there without shoes on. The white tiles were no longer white, and hadnt been for a while. There was also a smell. We dont know if it was a sewer line or spetic tank smell but it was nausiating especially to me who is 4 1/2 months pregnant. My husband promptly went down and asked if there was another room; there was not. We told them about the smell and how dirty the room was and they said "so you look for a new hotel?". No offer to help or anything. So for the rest of the day we were searching out new hotels to no avail. We decided to stay there the first night hoping we could get one for the second night, no luck and they probably knew that. The smell in the bathroom was so bad I couldnt even shower without getting sick. I used my sister in laws shower (#8) which was MUCH nicer and had a walk out to the terrace. The noises from the streets kept me up all night. We couldnt shut the window because they wanted 10euro to give us the remote for the AC, and I certainly wasnt giving them another cent. So mosquitos came in our room all night. There was also street cleaning at about 3 in the morning one night. We complained about the room again and the smell and they just said "yes, it comes and goes". THATS IT! No offer to help or do anything! I also did not feel safe walking in the neighborhood even though my husband said it was fine. They also have a bird that sqwaks all day. So we paid for a room with bed and no usable shower. I could have stayed in a nicer hostel. All I left Florence with was some mosquito bites and a bad taste in my mouth.

Room Tip: Ask for any room but room #6
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILBargellino, Owner at Hotel Il Bargellino, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Dear Sir and Madam:

Congratulations on the upcoming new addition to your family. Pino and I are sorry that your recent visit to Florence was not as pleasurable an experience as it could have been.

We wanted to take a moment to address your concerns about our small family hotel. And also to thank Trip Advisor for the opportunity.

The section of Via Guelfa we are located on, while not the busiest in town, is still a street in the city’s center, which can sometimes generate noise from passing pedestrians and vehicles.

The bathroom tiles and fixtures, while they are older, are exceptionally clean and completely functional.

Sewer gas is an occasional issue in Florence city-wide since the flood of 1966 and directly correlates to pipe locations within buildings; Because we were completely booked at the time of your stay, we were unable to relocate you to another room in the hotel. However, we could have easily helped you to find another hotel had you asked. Since you were here with
relatives, we did not assume that was an option you were interested in exploring.

Room fans, as well as mosquito repellent devices, are readily available upon request.

A/C is also available for a modest additional fee. Due to skyrocketing energy rates we are unable to offer a/c free of charge at this time.

And lastly, we can assure you that our neighborhood here in Florence is a perfectly safe and family-friendly environment.

We would welcome the opportunity to host you, your brother and sister in law on a future visit to Florence, so as to provide the relaxing and comfortable experience that over 95% of our guests enjoy.

Sincerely, Carmel Coppola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The location was excellent, very convenient to everywhere we wanted to walk to in Florence. Carmel and her husband could not have been nicer or more helpful. She emailed us an information sheet about sights in Florence when we made our reservation which was quite helpful. Carmel's speaking English is a real plus with no confusion. The room was nicely furnished and the bed very comfortable. We were on the ground floor and right off the lobby, so there was some street noise, but it wasn't really a problem. Although next time I might ask for an upstairs room, we opted for the ground floor because it was the only room left available that had a private bath. The in room refridgerator was a nice bonus. They have a lovely upstairs patio that we would have used more if the weather had been at all warmer. Great location and very convenient to the bus and train stations. The Pizzeria/Ristorante "La Divina Osteria" is just down the street and was excellent! This is a great place to stay to get your bearings in Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We found this guest house in Rick Steves’ guidebook and, in our opinion, it very much deserved his recommendation.

The location could not be much better. It is a ten minute walk to the Santa Maria Novella train station, the Duomo, the Palazzo Vecchio, the Ponte Vecchio and the Ufizzi Gallery, five minutes to the Academia and Bargello galleries, and about a 20 minute walk across the river to the Pitti Palace.

The room (#9) was very comfortable and large, even by American standards, with good hot water, a refrigerator, coffeemaker, and a double door opening onto a large tiled terrace with a long, shaded table. While we cannot speak for street-side rooms, our terrace-side room was very quiet. It also had very good, in-room wifi, something we have had frequent trouble finding regularly during our (to date) three months traveling in Europe and Morocco.

The proprietors were readily available and addressed all our requests promptly. Carmel, the wife, is from Boston and speaks fluent “native American”—at least as much as a Boston accent allows. Overall, they were very hospitable, even inviting us for a glass of wine the night before we left. It’s very easy to feel at home here.

One service they offer, which we found particularly valuable, was making reservations for us at the various museums that required them.

In general, we were very satisfied with our stay and would recommend this guesthouse highly to others.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JackfromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews