We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, and kind hosts,inexpensive hotel downtown.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Il Bargellino
Ranked #114 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2009

My wife and I stayed at Hotel 11 Bargellino, and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The room was spacious, well-kept, and secure. The bed was very comfortable. And Carmel and Pino, the hoteliers, were gracious, warm, friendly, and kind. This was my first visit to Italy, and they gave me a very positive image of Italians. In fact, when I think of Italy I cannot help associating it with their charm and courtesy. I would certainly stay with them again..

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenkenCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2009

Hotel il Bargellino is a nice little place owned by an American. (It's nice to have someone that speaks English!) It is very close to the train station (Piazza Adua to Via Faenza to Via Guelfa). The room was clean and large, and had a shower and sink in the room. It was one of the larger showers we saw in Italy. The toilet room was right outside our door. The room opened up to a very nice terrace shared by the owner and other rooms. It is an easy 15 min walk though the market to the Dumo (if you don't stop to look!). On the way, we found a 99 cent store on Via Nazionale which sold Cokes and 1.5L water bottles (a great value)! No breakfast is served, but just grab some produce and pastries in the market.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJCR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Hotel Il Bargellino was cozy with a touch of class. It's a small hotel and offered the opportunity to meet others who are staying there. The terrace made for wonderful conversation with other travelers, an inexpensive dinner spot and a place to relax. The rooms have character, the beds are large and the service is great. Carmel is from Boston and is very helpful. It's a charming place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elenamoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel ll Bargellino. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was just off the lovely rooftop terrace. We enjoyed our breakfast there each morning. It is difficult to find a green space in Florence, so we really appreciated the beautiful terrace.

We also appreciated the assistance with tickets to the major sites and the general advice. We would certainly stay here again, and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Travellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in the middle of a busy trip. Florence is beautiful and overpowering, noisy and fantastic and it was such a treat to stay in a well located, comfortable place. The rooms are of average size with old-world touches that make you feel like you are really in a different land. Each evening (and most mornings), we'd spend on the terrace. It was quiet, spacious, lovely and cool in the evenings. After a busy day, we' pick up a bottle of chilled white wine, head up to the terrace, and meet new people from other parts of the world. In many ways it was the high point of our month-long trip. Carmel and Pino were friendly and helpful, and there was the perfect balance of a family feeling and privacy. It was not expensive and we enjoyed ourselves greatly. Having a fan helped cool the room and covered some of the sounds from the street below

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

This was a fabulous place to stay while in Florence. The owners and staff are warm and welcoming, very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious -- beautiful high ceilings and a very nice bathroom. This is a small intimate hotel (10 rooms) with exquisite decor and it is in a great location -- convenient for walking everywhere and close to the train station. We loved our stay -- the terrace is a great place to relax and it provides a nice social space to get to know fellow travellers. Owners are very gracious. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2009
Thank mawells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Hotel Il Bargellino is the real thing! The excellent location in the historical center, the extremely clean and delightfully decorated rooms, and the exceptional terrace make this a real gem in a city that is frequently overwhelming. Carmel and Pino are very accomodating and knowledgeable and helped me with all my museam reservations and questions i had about Florence in general. I have travelled all over Italy and this hotel is a real value for your money. I highly recommend it for long and short visits and would not stay anywhere else when visiting Florence!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laila30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#138 of 411 in Florence
674 reviews
Hotel Villa Betania
#90 of 411 in Florence
557 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#125 of 411 in Florence
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#103 of 411 in Florence
775 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 411 in Florence
426 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 411 in Florence
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Bargellino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Bargellino

Address: Via Guelfa 87, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#38 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#68 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $102 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Il Bargellino 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For up to the minute rates, availability, service, communication and information, direct all reservation enquiries to the hotel/me Carmel Coppola. (instead of using outsourced services) Reach me through our web site or by e-mail which can be found at the top of our Tripadvisor page on the left. Ours is a small, family owned and run hotel and I reply personally to all queries. We're ideally situated in a residential neighborhood of the San Lorenzo area with-in Florence's historic center and walls and with-in short walking distance to shopping, dining, all major tourist sites, markets and the main station "Santa Maria Novella". All guests have access to our enormous terrace. Free WiFi and appliances, e.g. hair dryer, fan, coffee maker, refrigerator, microwave etc. are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Il Bargellino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Bargellino Hotel
Il Bargellino Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing