We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”
Review of Athenaeum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Athenaeum Hotel
Ranked #203 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Near London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel is not central. On checking in we were told of a ridiculous Firenze Tourist Tax of four euro per night per person. The reception staff were indifferent and at times rude, it seemed that when you needed to find out information it was a real effort for them. The bar is rarely manned and we had to ask repeatedly for service at reception. The breakfast is nothing special, you have to ask for coffee and the staff in the breakfast area were also very unhelpful. Heaven forbid if you asked for a second cup of coffee, you got a scowl of disapproval. The bedrooms are also nothing special, the ones we had were small and the bathroom had a sliding door and constant smell of sewage which was rather off putting. If I came back to Florence I would not stay here again and there are no good places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eedwd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    302
    117
    37
    23
See reviews for
125
338
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I were given this weekend away in this hotel as a present. I must say that it was quite central, the classic room was quite small but had all the necessary facilities. Quite noisy, being on a main road. €23 a day for parking. €4 a day per head for tourist tax!! Buffet breakfast nothing particular about it. Clean, modern and staff very cordial.

Room Tip: ask for a room not overlooking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The front desk, bar and restaurant staff were exceptionally welcoming and helpful (I was travelling on my own and needed taxis, directions etc.) and the hotel is ideally situated for business locations as well as walking down to the Ponte Vecchio and Duomo (approx 15-20 mins).

Room of a very good size for a "standard" and a handy fridge with lots of space for your own snacks. Decor looking a little tired in room but very clean and comfortable bed and pillows. Could have done with better lighting as room was quite dark.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyKate1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Hotel Athenaeum is the perfect hotel for your visit to Florence. After my fist visit there last week, I can't go back and I can't wait to recommend it to my family and friends. This hotel has it all -- it has the most amazing breakfast (fresh breads, pastries, meats, fruits), wonderful bar, exceptional restaurant, hotel gym and more. BUT you can't have a bad experience with the staff -- everyone from the front desk to the barternders/wait staff are top notch. They are all there to make sure you have a wonderful experience and will do anything they can to enhance, help and guide or solve problems! This hotel ALSO is the perfect location -- not even 3 blocks from the DAVID and probably 5 from the Italian Market, it provides a wonderful walk to and from your daily activities!
This beautifully done hotel is the perfect spot for buisness or pleasure!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I came to this hotel on our honeymoon to Italy. On the surface, this hotel is modern and artsy, and wowed us 20-somethings...at first. Although the rooms are somewhat small, the decor and use of space was good.

Looks aside, I would not recommend that anyone stay at this hotel. As a whole, the staff was either hot or cold. Super-friendly and helpful sometimes, and rude and unaccomodating at others. They have free wifi and bikes you can use, which was great. But the showers are tiny and won't stay hot if you're showering at the same time as others.

When the two of us newlyweds arrived at the hotel, they told us all they had were two twin beds. We pleaded to change rooms, explaining that it was our honeymoon. "No, it is not possible-we are all booked up." Our reservations were made a month in advance, and they had been notified that we were on our honeymoon. We still ended up with twin beds but they were pushed together. So, we got our honeymoon bed with a deep crack in the middle.

On our second night at the hotel, we were kept awake until 1:30am by a wild and insanely loud party at the hotel restaurant. I called reception once around 11pm just to check on how much longer it would be going on. No real answer. Second time, I called around 12:30am. I asked how much longer the party would be going on and if they could do something about the noise. Reception was rude and kept telling me "This is not possible", "This is not possible...we have over 100 people here..."

My advice is do not stay here if you value your sleep! Four star hotel? Probably more like 2 or 3.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jac326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Well, it’s a fairly cheap hotel for its class, a brisk walk from the city centre. It’s okay, I suppose, but not inspiring. I wouldn’t recommend it to a friend, and I’d never want to go back. But it’s not so bad as to spoil the loveliness of Florence.

I can’t think of a more apt way to describe it: in Yorkshire, we have an expression “all fur coat and no knickers”, conveying the idea of trying to conceal a basic shabbiness with a façade of elegance. The place tries to give the impression of arty / boutique hotel style, and sort of succeeds - from a distance. But when you look more closely, you find a distinct tackiness not far beneath.

The place looks like it was fairly recently decorated, but decoration alone can’t conceal the shabby bits that aren’t covered by wallpaper. The electrical fittings in my room looked as if they are made from Bakelite, and half of them seem to be redundant. My shower unit looked grimy. The toilet was installed strangely high off the floor; I’m a tall chap, but even so, its height made it uncomfortable to use – numb legs and pins and needles in the feet after a while; if you use it, you might want to find something to rest your feet on.

When I arrived on the first day, my bed had a counterpane, but this mysteriously disappeared on the second day - the bed I returned to just had a sheet and that’s all. Fortunately, there was a blanket in the wardrobe, but the fact remains: whoever made up my room didn’t care enough to properly re-make the bed.

The curtain in my room was absurd. The window had a single curtain track with a stop in the middle, presumably to accommodate two curtains, one at each end, to be drawn together from the ends to the centre stop at night, and drawn apart to the ends of the track in the morning. How many curtains did it have? One. Even funnier, the curtain spanned the centre stop, meaning that it was impossible to either fully close or fully open the curtain. Whoever installed that curtain was either remarkably stupid or totally indifferent about his/her job. And apparently no-one else cared enough to remedy it.

And that quite sums up the hotel. There’s a distinct impression that no-one cares much, and I was left wondering what else was done half-heartedly that I didn’t notice. In addition, my fellow guests were often raucous, and noise transmission between rooms was surprisingly bad for what seemed a fairly modern building.

Room Tip: Just check your room carefully before you accept it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of August. Very reasonably priced. We decided to walk from the train station to the hotel which was about a 10-15 min walk. Hotel had a very clean and new look to it in the lobby. The room seemed a bit small at first but we were very happy with it after spending the first night. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom was very clean. The free Wi-Fi in the room was a big help in that we were able to sit and research things to do without having to leave the room. Breakfast was simple but filling, plenty of choices of all your favorite food groups. Staff was very friendly in telling us places to go and stores where we could find the items we needed such as a new luggage. We spent most of our days walking around Florence so the location was a big help for us since it was only a few blocks to the Duomo. All in all was very pleased with the stay, would definetly visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockyy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#47 of 422 in Florence
1,118 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cellai
Hotel Cellai
#85 of 422 in Florence
879 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#93 of 422 in Florence
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#231 of 422 in Florence
667 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Adler Cavalieri
Adler Cavalieri
#81 of 422 in Florence
823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#179 of 422 in Florence
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenaeum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenaeum Hotel

Property: Athenaeum Hotel
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 88, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Athenaeum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, art and business in a 4-star Hotel in Florence. The Academy of Fine Art and the David statue are just round the corner! The ideal location for business or leisure visitors, Hotel Athenaeum in Florence is where contemporary design, modern style and classic materials skillfully combine with art and culture. Hotel Athenaeum’ strategic location in the heart of Florence is the perfect starting point for visitors willing to discover the town or business people alike. The Hotel offers a top international service and a warm welcome.Hotel Athenaeum has 60 rooms, a conference room, a restaurant, a bar and a capacious private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athenaeum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing