We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Position”
Review of Hotel Davanzati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Davanzati
Ranked #8 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Position”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Davanzati and were not disappointed.
It is in a very central location close to all the historical sites, lots of restaurants and shops.
The room was very large and had a balcony (overlooking rooftops but still enjoyable).
Happy hour was a great way to meet other travellers and enjoy a few wines before dinner.
We were recommended La Bussola across the street and ate a couple of delicious meals there.
The staff were friendly and helpful - carrying our cases up the "26 steps".
The steps really aren't a problem!
Breakfast was a bit minimal but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it if visiting Florence.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,994
    358
    69
    12
    9
See reviews for
766
1,606
233
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I have had hit and miss experiences following the reviews on Trip Advisor (including on this recent trip to 3 cities in Rome); however, this was a case where the ratings and reviews are spot on.

So much has already been written that there isn't much left to add. But I will try to weigh in on a few items:

-Service is spectacular. You deal with the hotel owner (Fabrizio) and family, and they clearly take pride in their job and hotel. He greeted us by name each morning and always was ready to offer a restaurant or site seeing tip. He also provided a printed itinerary with our reservations to the Uffizi and Galleria upon check in. He made these reservations for us at no charge, and they allowed us to skip what would otherwise have been very long lines.

-The "extras" are incredible. Free in-room movies, free use of laptop in rooms, free use of iPads in lobby/restaurant, free happy hour each night, free breakfast each morning, play stations for the kids in each room (plus a library of games), tour guide books for you to use, etc. You even get a sleep machine to use each room to provide white noise. We found we didn't need it, since our room was very private/quiet (see tip below).

-Location is unbeatable. We walked with our suitcases from the train station, and from the hotel could walk to every major attraction without any difficulty. One thing worth noting is that you must carry your bags up one flight of steps from the street in order to reach the elevator to the lobby.

Room Tip - we stayed in connecting rooms #101 & 102. They were perfect for travelling with two kids (7& 10). One room has a queen bed plus a separate area with a couch, the other has two single beds. Both rooms have plenty of space and open up to a private terrace that has an outdoor dining table. The owner told me he lived in this very set of rooms as an apartment for 9 years.

Room Tip: Connecting rooms 101 & 102 for those travelling with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sempo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this Hotel in Jan 2012 on a weekend city break and it was just perfect! We requested a double bed and found that they upgraded our room on arrival, the breakfast was very good quality and it is in a fantastic location. We enjoyed the complimentary prosecco and nibbles in the evening and thought that the iPad to use as the morning newspaper was a nice touch. Thank you for a pleasant stay and we would definitely return again in the future.

Stayed January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smiley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Perfect location and very quiet, which was needed after staying 2 nights in Rome. We stayed 5 nights in a suite with our 2 daughters, ages 20 and 23. The set up was ideal- we had a master bedroom with king bed, and then 2 loft bedrooms for the girls. Two full baths made the mornings easier. The breakfast, happy hour, laptop in the room and wifi make this a value. Other hotels will charge you for these services. Fabrizio is a wonderful host; my husband very much enjoyed speaking with him over an espresso w sambuca on the day of our check out. Allow them to reserve museum tickets for you and arrange for tours, it will save you so much time. I hope to return to Florence one day and would not dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermom327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The good: nice people
location
free wifi
The not so good: outdated rooms
noisy
Not a hotel room I enjoyed relaxing in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 503traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

After flying into rome staying at a small less$ hotel for one night we splurged for 2 nights and was $ well spent. Very romantic, clean & great location. One of my favorite hotels all time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I am on my first solo trip outside of Canada and booked Hotel Davanzati based on the reviews. I am not disappointed. Every glowing word is true and more. When I mixed up my dates and missed check out and my flight, Tomasso extended my stay easily and in my panicked state Fabrizio not only contacted Air France to help me but searched other flights for me to ensure I didn't get stranded in Europe. Besides all this the rooms are large, beds are really comfy, everything is clean. There are laptops in every room, Ipads in the lobby, wi-fi in all public areas of the hotel. Anyone with a teenager will find this useful.
The "Continental" breakfast is more than continental with Italian pastries (definately rival the French pastries), meats, cheese, fruits, toast, cappuccino, regular "american" coffee, cereals, etc. Having this included with the very reasonable room cost is a big bonus because Florentine restaurants are VERY expensive.
Happy Hour is a great idea, allowing you to exchange stories and meet new friends! Great for the soloist.
The central location allows you to explore the nooks and crannys of Florence and there are many as well as access the many famous places you will want to visit. There is even a museum right next door - Palazzo Davanzati which is well worth the visit to see a renaissance style home and a bargain at 2Euro. You are very close to Ponte Vecchio, the Ufizzi, the "Duomo", and other famous places you will want to see.
Fabrizio is more than happy to tell you of the sights, book tours, make museum reservations (which is neccessary if you don't want to stand in line for hours), dinner reservations and more.
The staff are very hardworking and very friendly. Ciao, Sophia and Francesco!

This is great place for both solo and families. Tell your friends! I know I'll be back.

Room Tip: If you book a single room, ask for the one on the second floor not on the first. If you choose to n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,701 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#17 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Davanzati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Davanzati

Property: Hotel Davanzati
Address: Via Porta Rossa no 5, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#9 Green Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Davanzati 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ancient (1400) typical Florentine building, right next to the Museo of Palazzo Davanzati, in Florence historical center. After very accurate restoration, Davanzati Hotel opens its rooms once again: with original Tuscan furnishing and with all the comforts. The hotel counts 21 rooms: 14 doubles, 4 single rooms, 3 suites equipped with: Air conditioning, Minibar, Sat - TV, Built-in safe, Telephone, High speed Internet connection. Also in the lobby/reception and the breakfast room (which are hot spots with free wireless internet access), there are 2 computers for free use always connected to the web. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Davanzati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davanzati Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing