We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, comfortable, but yes, disorganized” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Florence Dream Domus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Florence Dream Domus
Ranked #243 of 647 Florence B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, comfortable, but yes, disorganized”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2007

On the plus side, the room was very comfortable, with a king-sized bed and a nice modern bathroom with a shower. The location was outstanding, every sight we wanted to see was an easy walk from the hotel. Its location by the Central Market meant that there was always something to do with any spare time, and there were plenty of restaurants close to the hotel. Luckily I had read other guest comments in Trip Advisor so I knew what to expect; if I hadn't, the third floor walk-up with no elevator would have been a surprise. Also, since there is no street identification besides a very discreet plaque, we would have missed it had we not known what to look for.
We apparently arrived on Geoffrey's day off, so we had to track down someone from the store across the street to let us in. Not a big deal, but rather disconcerting when you have been traveling for 24 hours, feel disoriented, and have no one to answer your questions. We had reserved another night on our return from Tuscany, but were told that they couldn't accomodate us, and they booked us into another hotel a half block away, which turned out to be equally nice. All in all, it is a pleasant 3-star stay, not super deluxe but a good value for the money.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasGirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    32
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
avon217
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2007

My friend and I recently stayed at the Florence Dream Domus. We found
this wonderful B&B to be very comfortable. The room we had was large enough for us both. And we had doors that opened onto a courtyard....
It was very pleasant. The staff, particularly Jeffrey was helpful and
cooked a delicious breakfast. And the location was a plus-right near the Duomo.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dmc127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2007

We booked our stay through e-mail with the owner. We chose the Lucrezia because it had a stand up shower. We did read reviews that said it was small, but that wasn't a problem with our family. The rooms were well decorated and the sitting area was comfy. They did allow the use of the computer without charging extra. Do be aware this is a three floor walk up. No elevator. The B & B was well located. We checked in late afternoon and we did not realize until after the staff had gone that they had put us in the wrong room. The Caterina only had a tub. We tried using the tub that night for our baths. The tub leaked on the floor, we had to use several towels to keep it from running into the rest of the room. The problem was explained the next day, we were told we would not able to move into the room we requested for another day. We still had to mop the floor up with towels for another day. ( No reduction in our room charges) The Lucrezia was a nice room, do be aware if you are a light sleeper, there was something mechanical on the other side of the wall by the bed that kicked on and off, day and night. It made it difficult falling asleep for my husband and I.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Difficulty with room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WorldwideOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florencedream, Responsabile reception at B&B Florence Dream Domus, responded to this review, 11 October 2010
Dear Guests,

I really apologize for what happened two years ago. Recently the B&B Florence Dream Domus has changed its management and we hope to have the chance to have you here at ours again so that you might enjoy our lovely place.
Obviously we do not know anything about waht happened on August 2nd 2008, but we assure you that it will never happen again.
In case you will accept out invitation we would like to offer one night as a gift.

Regards,

Giada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2007

We stayed four nights late April '07. The first 10 days of our vacation was road-tripping through Tuscany, so it was kind of a shock to get into Florence. The Dream Domus is right in the middle of the old city, blocks away from Duomo. The room was lovely (see photo), clean, maintained daily. Geoffrey was courteous and helpful with all of our requests. Continental breakfast was good, nice to have free internet in lobby area. We actually didn't mind that there was no lift - i.e. you have to walk up two flights of stairs. We simply chalked it up to part of the 'experience'. The rooms were very quiet - overlooking a courtyard. Surprisingly, the only annoying noise we heard one night was other Yankee tourists who didn't realize their voices would carry so well with open verandas, marble floors, and stone walls. Great value.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tzargregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2006

After researching the Florence Dream online and in travel guides, we were looking forward to our stay there in early October 2006. Unfortunately, when we arrived, the owner informed us that another couple already staying at the hotel had a delay in receiving their luggage and she needed to split up our group (my fiance and I were travelling with my parents) in order to accommodate them staying longer. The owner offered us the option of splitting us up and paying to stay at an apartment she owned down the street . The apartment was a 10 minute walk away from the Florence Dream. After we declined that offer, she made arrangements for my fiance and I to stay at another hotel on the same street. It also seemed strange that our room would be unavailable for 2 nights when the other travellers were only predicted to need one additional night.
In addition, we requested the booking of museum tickets through the Florence Dream. We later tried to contact the owner via e-mail to let her know that we were also interested in doing a walking tour and trying to make arrangements in order to avoid conflicting times with the museums. Unfortunately, despite multiple attempts to contact her, we didn't hear from her and found out when we checked in that the times conflicted.
My parents liked the Florence Dream well enough but agreed with other reviewers comments about the 3 flight stair climb after a long day of sightseeing. The Florence Dream is a nice bed and breakfast but being "bumped" from a hotel doesn't fit into most definitions of a nice stay. It seems like the Florence Dream may now have more business than it is able to handle and I would discourage other travellers from staying there.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — getting "bumped" from room and difficulty contacting owner prior to arrival
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gobluetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit Metro Area
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2006

Stayed at the Dream Domus 3 nights in October 2006, and we were very happy with it. Great location, beautiful rooms. Breakfast was very good. Computer with internet access available for guests at no cost in lobby. Staff was very helpful with directions or reservations; they reserved two museums for us. Quiet location close to everything and Florence is very walkable. Third floor of private building.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SusanLoretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecksville,Oh
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2006

The location of Florence Dream Domus is excellent except not the easiest to find while driving. Rooms were lovely and breakfasts were good. Front Desk was very helpful in obtaining museum reservations. We were unknowingly upgraded which was a surprise and cost us more.

  • Liked — Room ambience
  • Disliked — The surprise upgrade
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KieranR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Collodi
Hotel Collodi
#127 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#73 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
B&B Cuor di Firenze
B&B Cuor di Firenze
#565 of 647 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#4 of 647 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 647 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Florence Dream Domus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Florence Dream Domus

Property: B&B Florence Dream Domus
Address: Via De' Ginori 26, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 647 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful old palace in the heart of Florence, at just 100 mt from the Duomo, I wanted to make true one of my best dreams. An inviting and comfortable house, furnished with antique furniture, Florentine tapestry and refined marble floors, ready to give hospitality to many friends all over the world and make sure their stay becames, as for me, a Florence Dream. Come, I'm waiting to spoil you, pleasantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B Florence Dream Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing