We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay if you can find it!”
Review of Hotel Bologna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bologna
Ranked #143 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a nice place to stay, but hard to find. The rooms are decent and the breakfast is good. The desk staff, however, could use a semester at charm school. It is within walking distance to town which is good. Parking in this area is impossible.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loriwilkes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

Good hotel, nice room, clean, own bathroom (with all shampoo, hairdryer etc..) Breakfast is continental style. TV and Free wifi. All good can definitely recommend! One thing can be the location of the hotel, which is 2.9 km from the train station, and 20 - 25min walk to city center. For young people no prob, thou ;) Make sure to get a map at the reception.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This hotel comes hightly recommended! Great service and clean rooms! Its is about 15min walk from centre of Florence and nice safe, quite area, yet close to everything! The breakfast was also very nice, great coffee! Definitely a great hotel form your stay in Florence!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meliscl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

we stayed here and we were surprised of the high standard this two star hotel offered. You would think it is only a two star hotel but they manage and make the hotel feel like a nice four star hotel. Very clean rooms, a very cheap mini bar (grappa at two euro :-) and very friendly people at the reception. Don' expect 4-5 star rooms but this hotel shows you that a 2 star hotel is also capable to offer a great travel experience. Breakfast is super: sandwiches, meat, eggs, fruit...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coomankevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Great hotel. We bumped there by accident. Cozy rooms, internet, great breakfast with superb coffee. Parking is not included, but you can park 2 blocks west on via della Piagentina for free.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ducatony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We booked a budget option in Florence as we were only staying for one night. Withn this in mind we selected the Hotel Bologna. Whereas it was adequate for the one night, we were certainly glad not to stay any longer.

Our double room was at the back of the hotel. Our view consisted of another wall when we opened our window. The hotel is old and the room and it's facilities are similar....which is fine in itself - but cleanliness was not good.

The TV and telephone were caked with dust. Various items in the bathroom had hair in them. The room had a mosquito killer 'plug in' device on the cabinet when we went in...I know mosquitos were in Italy when we were there - but no other hotel saw the need to provide these.

Breakfast was standard continental but had a very limited range of breads cereals and juices and was OK at best.

The hotel is a good 15 minute plus walk to the centre of Florence

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank journeyman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

A clean and very basic hotel. Tiny bar area and spartan furniture in the bedroom. The double bed was in fact two beds pushed together. Bedside lamp malfunctioned and no drawer space for small items of clothing. Fixed-head Shower was absolutely useless with a trickle of water. The washhand basin could not be used properly as there was totally inadequate space between the sink and shower unit. During my stay a pipe burst, sending water into my room at 2.00 a.m. and then electricity failed! No hot water the next morning until 1200 hrs. Breakfast was a big disappointment: bland and unappealing.
Friendly staff but would not stay at the Bologna again. Location is quite a walk from the centre. Not worth 60 euro a night for single occupancy. More like 40 euro would be fairer.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discerningbexhillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Bologna-Fi, Proprietario at Hotel Bologna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Dear guest,
we are really sorry about the bad experience you had here. Our main purpose is to make our guest feel home, because we strongly believe that an happy costumer is the best advertisement for the Hotel.

Since this review is nearly 6 years old, we all hope you will consider to contact us directly (by telephone or e-mail) for your next visit to Florence. Let us know you have already been our guest and you had not a good experience, we will be happy and proud to show you the improvements we did, and we promise we will do our best to make your stay in Florence unforgettable.

Best Regards
Hotel Bologna's manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Jane
#197 of 410 in Florence
604 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#136 of 410 in Florence
666 reviews
Hotel Rosary Garden
#123 of 410 in Florence
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#159 of 410 in Florence
313 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#94 of 410 in Florence
767 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#41 of 410 in Florence
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bologna

Address: Via Orcagna 50, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#84 Family Hotel in Florence
#93 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $73 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bologna 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bologna is located in a quiet street, a 5-minute walk from the River Arno. All our rooms have air conditioning, a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi. Bologna Hotel's rooms have simple decoration and a private bathroom with hairdryer and free toiletries. A buffet breakfast is served daily in the wood-beamed breakfast room. The hotel is located close to the heart of Florence, just a 15-20-minute walk along the Arno to the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery. You will find many restaurants, shops and bars between the city centre and the Hotel Bologna. The public parking is available on the streets around the Hotel and the bus stop to the city centre is just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing