We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
US$81
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$220
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$363
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
US$256
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$193
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$216/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plus Florence(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
US$348
US$333
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$547
US$496
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$562/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
30
72
75
38
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
72
75
38
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred orangetoilet and showertrain stationhotel is greatplace to staystar hotelcroissants
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 248 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

Our room was extremely small.
everything becomes wet when you take a shower and the noise from outside is just horrible like you are sleeping on the street itself with a lot of traffic noise (loud buses).
Also you hear everything that is happening in the hotel itself (cleaninf, talking etc)

the location is good though but I value a good night of sleep and some space to be able to move.

If you do choose to sleep here bring some high quality earplugs with you..

Gr a guest who had no sleep at all :)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mai-Linh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura P, Responsabile reception at Hotel Genesio, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2016

Dear guest,
we are sorry that you found the room noisy despite the double glazing, but Florence is a lively and bustling town at all hours of the day and night so that the city noise is almost inevitable !!
If you wanted a silence ascetic had to book in a Tibetan only monastery and not in a city full of life as it is our wonderful Florence !!
sorry if our hotel is right downtown ...
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2016

- WiFi worked only at reception, not in my room.
- Breakfast was very poor which was advertised in booking.com. I think it is false advertisement. There were only dry biscuits, marmalades, a cup of coffee, yogurt, old red juice.

- The hotel is completely transparent in terms of sound - you will hear everything the receptionist and other guests are doing at all times.

+This hotel is in a great location. Its about 10 mins walk from the train station Santa Maria Novella train station.
+ Friendly staff

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank TripMember0518201610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura P, Proprietario at Hotel Genesio, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2016
Google Translation

Carissimo ospite,
perchè dire bugie??? la nostra colazione è composta da cappuccino caffe espressi cornetti e panini freschi di pasticceria, succo di arance rosse siciliane, marmellate, miele, burro ,yughurt, cereali e the di vari gusti, crostate e biscotti.
certo è che se lei pretende di far colazione alle 11,00 am quando la colazione viene servita dalle 7,30 alle 10,00 am si dovrà accontentare di farla al bancone del bar e avrà a disposizione ciò che è rimasto !!
il WI-FI funziona benissimo in tutta la struttura... è chiaro che la sera quando tutti si connettono la linea si rallenta, ma non dipende certo dal nostro hotel!!
Non accetto critiche false solo per il gusto di denigrare il lavoro di tante persone che ogni giorno cercano di rendere il soggiorno dei propri ospiti confortevole !!!
Spero che si faccia un esame di coscenza per le falsità che ha divulgato sul nostro conto.
Addio!!!


Dear guest,
why tell lies ??? our breakfast consists of coffee cappuccino expressed croissants and fresh pastries sandwiches, Sicilian blood orange juice, jams, honey, butter, yughurt, cereals and the various flavors, pies and cookies.
certain is that if you claim to have breakfast at 11.00 am when breakfast is served from 7.30 to 10.00 am you will have to settle for it at the bar and will have what is left !!
The WI-FI works great throughout the hotel ... it is clear that in the evening when all connect the line slows down, but it certainly does not depend from our hotel !!
I do not accept criticism false just for the sake of denigrating the work of many people who every day try to make the stay of its guests comfortable !!!
I hope you make a conscience examination to the falsehoods which disclosed on our behalf.
Goodbye!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Pros – This hotel is very clean and the mostly-English-speaking staff was wonderful and very helpful. 24hr front desk was a real plus and security was very good. Internet was good and dependable. They provided plenty of bar soap, shampoo and large, soft towels. Air conditioning worked well which was a blessing because, due to the street noise, you have to sleep with the window closed if your room is located on Via Aprile.

Cons – No elevator (lift). Shower was large and workable but was a bit of an odd arrangement with the toilet being almost in the shower. Bathroom and room were certainly on the small side. Don't let these cons deter you from staying here though. It's a great little hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2016 via mobile

This B&B has a very convenient location. Most attractions are within walking distance but you can also take the bus, where the bus stop is located in the street that is infront of the hotel. The only reason I gave this hotel a four circle review is his very friendly and professional staff. But as a hotel is classified very medium because the room I was given was very, very small; I couldn't move around in it. The bathroom: even worse. The WC was literally placed in a corner and if you were tall there was no way to sit properly without leaving the bathroom's door open so you can place your legs outside.. A nightmare. The shower itself was just a hole on the floor with a curtain dividing it from the rest of the bathroom. It was clean, but on the other hand, it needs renovation. Another drawback is that this hotel is located on the second floor, and if you're travelling with large suitcases: good luck.. You're going to need it..
Its breakfast was all dry biscuits, all pre packed with a good variety of choice of marmalades. A croissant was already placed on the table for all guests. Just a choice of juice, red orange juice, but a lot of choice of hot beverages. Overall I think that the 28€ that I paid for the night was too much for this hotel, (the city tax was another 2.50€).

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Anthi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 5, 2016

1. The hotel is completely transparent in terms of sound - you will hear everything the receptionist and other guests are doing at all times.
2. Some of the receptionists are demoralized - enough so to sing aloud around midnight. I cannot ascertain whether the receptionist currently singing is drunk or not, but I'm going to lock door of my room just in case.

Stayed: January 2016
1  Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews