We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what it provides.”
Review of Hotel Genesio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Genesio
Ranked #348 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 11 July 2017

To begin with, the location of that hotel is great. Really close to city center, you can move around without having to get any transportation. The stuff was really kind and helpful.
The downside part is that it wasn't super clean (as far as the vacuum cleaning is concerned) and the breakfast it provides is poor. I do not think it is a value for money place, but yet again Florence is an expensive destination in general. I would consider it visiting it again, if I couldn't find a cheaper place to stay.

Room Tip: No particular view from that hotel, but it really doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Silia1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

What to say apart from you get what you pay for
+ ok, so it's a small walk from the train station. The bed was fairly comfy. The were plenty of toiletries (bars of soap) and towels available.
The shower was of average power.
The breakfast was plentiful and the usual continental style. The staff were very pleasant. There was a working air con unit in the room that cooled the room somewhat. You are able to leave left luggage till later

- ok, the hotel is situated at a cross junction so there is a lot of traffic. This is not too much of an issue as the shutters block out most of the noise when closed and provide adequate black out effect. The biggest issue for me was that they are in the 2nd floor of a 3 floor block with no lift so suitcase carrying was a problem with my bad knees. The sights that I saw on the way up the stairs were very off putting ( crumbled plaster off the walls etc)
However that part may not belong to the hotel so perhaps nothing they can do
Another issue for me was the lack of room around the breakfast area. This was a small room with closely situated chairs and tables. The area to make your hot drinks was away from my table so it was a tight squeeze every time I got up to collect milk for my tea etc. I really think a small jug of milk on the table would elevate some of this.
Now , the design of the shower.
The toilet is virtually in the shower area. This feels bizarre. However we did not experience any flooding etc so just a eyesore not a functioning problem.
Cleanliness was adequate too

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank raj p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

No lift (second floor hall and rooms)
Old structure
No frigobar in the room
Cheap price for Firenze average hotel cost
Good location. (200 m from San Giovanni square and 600 m from train station Firenze SMN)

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Raluca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Our room was extremely small.
everything becomes wet when you take a shower and the noise from outside is just horrible like you are sleeping on the street itself with a lot of traffic noise (loud buses).
Also you hear everything that is happening in the hotel itself (cleaninf, talking etc)

the location is good though but I value a good night of sleep and some space to be able to move.

If you do choose to sleep here bring some high quality earplugs with you..

Gr a guest who had no sleep at all :)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mai-Linh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura P, Responsabile reception at Hotel Genesio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear guest,
we are sorry that you found the room noisy despite the double glazing, but Florence is a lively and bustling town at all hours of the day and night so that the city noise is almost inevitable !!
If you wanted a silence ascetic had to book in a Tibetan only monastery and not in a city full of life as it is our wonderful Florence !!
sorry if our hotel is right downtown ...
Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

- WiFi worked only at reception, not in my room.
- Breakfast was very poor which was advertised in booking.com. I think it is false advertisement. There were only dry biscuits, marmalades, a cup of coffee, yogurt, old red juice.

- The hotel is completely transparent in terms of sound - you will hear everything the receptionist and other guests are doing at all times.

+This hotel is in a great location. Its about 10 mins walk from the train station Santa Maria Novella train station.
+ Friendly staff

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank TripMember0518201610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura P, Proprietario at Hotel Genesio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016
Google Translation

Carissimo ospite,
perchè dire bugie??? la nostra colazione è composta da cappuccino caffe espressi cornetti e panini freschi di pasticceria, succo di arance rosse siciliane, marmellate, miele, burro ,yughurt, cereali e the di vari gusti, crostate e biscotti.
certo è che se lei pretende di far colazione alle 11,00 am quando la colazione viene servita dalle 7,30 alle 10,00 am si dovrà accontentare di farla al bancone del bar e avrà a disposizione ciò che è rimasto !!
il WI-FI funziona benissimo in tutta la struttura... è chiaro che la sera quando tutti si connettono la linea si rallenta, ma non dipende certo dal nostro hotel!!
Non accetto critiche false solo per il gusto di denigrare il lavoro di tante persone che ogni giorno cercano di rendere il soggiorno dei propri ospiti confortevole !!!
Spero che si faccia un esame di coscenza per le falsità che ha divulgato sul nostro conto.
Addio!!!


Dear guest,
why tell lies ??? our breakfast consists of coffee cappuccino expressed croissants and fresh pastries sandwiches, Sicilian blood orange juice, jams, honey, butter, yughurt, cereals and the various flavors, pies and cookies.
certain is that if you claim to have breakfast at 11.00 am when breakfast is served from 7.30 to 10.00 am you will have to settle for it at the bar and will have what is left !!
The WI-FI works great throughout the hotel ... it is clear that in the evening when all connect the line slows down, but it certainly does not depend from our hotel !!
I do not accept criticism false just for the sake of denigrating the work of many people who every day try to make the stay of its guests comfortable !!!
I hope you make a conscience examination to the falsehoods which disclosed on our behalf.
Goodbye!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Pros – This hotel is very clean and the mostly-English-speaking staff was wonderful and very helpful. 24hr front desk was a real plus and security was very good. Internet was good and dependable. They provided plenty of bar soap, shampoo and large, soft towels. Air conditioning worked well which was a blessing because, due to the street noise, you have to sleep with the window closed if your room is located on Via Aprile.

Cons – No elevator (lift). Shower was large and workable but was a bit of an odd arrangement with the toilet being almost in the shower. Bathroom and room were certainly on the small side. Don't let these cons deter you from staying here though. It's a great little hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

This B&B has a very convenient location. Most attractions are within walking distance but you can also take the bus, where the bus stop is located in the street that is infront of the hotel. The only reason I gave this hotel a four circle review is his very friendly and professional staff. But as a hotel is classified very medium because the room I was given was very, very small; I couldn't move around in it. The bathroom: even worse. The WC was literally placed in a corner and if you were tall there was no way to sit properly without leaving the bathroom's door open so you can place your legs outside.. A nightmare. The shower itself was just a hole on the floor with a curtain dividing it from the rest of the bathroom. It was clean, but on the other hand, it needs renovation. Another drawback is that this hotel is located on the second floor, and if you're travelling with large suitcases: good luck.. You're going to need it..
Its breakfast was all dry biscuits, all pre packed with a good variety of choice of marmalades. A croissant was already placed on the table for all guests. Just a choice of juice, red orange juice, but a lot of choice of hot beverages. Overall I think that the 28€ that I paid for the night was too much for this hotel, (the city tax was another 2.50€).

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Anthi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Enza
Hotel Enza
#245 of 411 in Florence
313 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Cimabue
Hotel Cimabue
#341 of 411 in Florence
510 reviews
Hotel Emma
#252 of 411 in Florence
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#276 of 411 in Florence
258 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Piccarda Bed And Breakfast
Piccarda Bed And Breakfast
#322 of 411 in Florence
43 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#170 of 411 in Florence
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genesio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genesio

Address: Via Ventisette Aprile 9, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $55 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Genesio 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Genesio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genesio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing