We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$78
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$216
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel(Florence)
US$225
US$211
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Roma(Florence)
US$155
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Guest House Bel Duomo(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$128
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$237
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$346
US$327
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
US$522
US$496
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$550/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
44
41
25
12
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
41
25
12
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 139 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2015

It definitely exceeded our expectations in terms of interior design! It was modern, bright and spacious, especially for what you pay for! Our room even had a little mini fridge and plenty of plug sockets. The bathroom (specifically the shower) was amazing! The location is ideal. Quiet at night but within 5 minutes of walking distance to the Duomo and town centre. Plus the street that the hotel is located on has a wide variety of good restaurants, cheap supermarkets or 99cent stores and other useful and interesting shops, such as internet café's, hairdressers, art café's etc. Also the owner was incredibly friendly and helpful, giving us a map and showing us all the useful/interesting places to go. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 279anja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2014

This place is within walking distance from the train station. The location is actually perfect, because it's on a quiet street, but you can easily walk to any place in Florence. I was surprised to find that the room was very large and nicely decorated. Very clean. It exceeded my expectations for sure. Our room even had a small kitchen area which we were not expecting. I don't think you can find better value for money. I would stay here again next time I'm in Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The location is almost perfect... its close to the Accademia and to the Uffizi gallery and if you walk for 10 mins. more you can reach Ponte Vecchio. San Marco square is 5 mins. walk from the guest house and you can catch a bus or get a taxi from there. Train Station (S. Maria Novella) is about 20 mins. walk from Locanda Gallo. Carolina, the owner/manager was very friendly, considerate and helpful.
This review is for the room named 'Petrarca' - If you get a room on the 3rd Floor like we did, the climb to the room is quite steep and tiring with your luggage. We were given a room for 4 people but the room is more suitable for 2 or at the most 3. The bathroom was in a closet like space and the floor tiles were about to come off. There was no coffee pot or water heater but you can get it if requested. The AC in the room was leaking water and the first day when we returned after visiting the Accademia, we found our bed completely soaked with the water from the AC. After notifying the manager (Carolina, also the owner) fixed the problem. The guest house maybe a little difficult to find since their door looks exactly the same as other doors on the road but if you go by
the number you can see it clearly marked and it's in front of an old church. There are a few Trattorias and ristorantes close to the house. Via Gallo is a busy street and you will find lots of eating places on the way.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on lower floors if you do not want to climb stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abzen2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Locanda Gallo for 2 nights. Location is good, only some minutes away from the city centre and with plenty of places to eat around (most of them close on the afternoon), including some mini supermarkets.
There was nobody there when we arrived (at around 1 pm) and we didn't know we had to inform them first (I actually checked the details again when I was back and still couldn't find the warning), but after a phone call the owner's son came and checked us in. He was very friendly but spoke no good English, luckily we understood each other between Spanish and Italian.
Room itself (Giotto) was very nice, with a mini kitchen and basic appliances, including a fridge (very helpful in the hot summer).
The next day I met the owners which were very very very friendly, even let me use their pc to copy my 2-weeks worth pictures into a usb, after having had problems with my camera.
We had a very pleasant stay and I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Giotto room had a double bed, mini kitchen and ensuite. AC is a bit loud but we had a great sleep. You do have to go all the way up as there is no lift so consider that if not too fit or carrying heavy luggage. Do let them know in advance the time you are arriving.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sirenita1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent a week in this place. We informed the owners two days earlier, at what time we’ll arrive. It is easy to find the place, and at the door hangs a nameplate with the name of the guest house. There was a nice lady waiting for us. She spoke english very well. Both owners were very friendly and helpful. We had a room called Michelangelo – it was clean and charming. We were surprised that the room had a fridge and hairdryer. What is more, we got an electric kettle and tea. The lady at the reception prepared for us a map of the recommended places where we could eat. We have been in two of them and the food was really tasty. We also got a discount on breakfast at a nearby bar. The room had free Wi-Fi. Except for one day someone made the bed and our towels were changed two times. I do not understand why people complain about it. I think that the standard of the room for this price is really great! But the most important is the location – this guest house is very close to the city center, but the street isn’t noisy or busy and there aren’t many tourists. You can walk everywhere on foot. In this street there are some really good restaurants, great ice cream shop, several bars where you can have breakfast, as well as a supermarket and laundry facilities. The station can be reached in 15 minutes. Certainly, if we’ll be in Florence again, we’ll return to Locanda Gallo.
I’d like to say something about the complaints that I saw here. This is not a place for people who require constant contact with the owner and demand that the owners should serve them all the time. You can read everything in the announcement – it is said f.e. that there is no elevator, that it’s more the apartment than the hotel, that the guest has a lot of freedom, and that the owners are not in place. For us, this autonomy is an advantage, not a disadvantage.
Greetings for owners! Grazie mille e un giorno ritorneremo! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mughetto_sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews