We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst B&B I have ever been in my entire life.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Garden Florence B&B
Ranked #312 of 651 Florence B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst B&B I have ever been in my entire life.”
Reviewed 6 February 2010

I travelled with my wife to Florence and booked a room at Ninna Nanna before we left Canada. The day before our arrival day, we had re-confirmed our arrival time with the owner again. However, when we arrived, the owner said she totally forgot our booking and had just rent our room to another group of travellers. We thought this was ridiculus. She tried to find another place for us to stay. We walked and walked, and finally reached another place she owned. The problem was, she had also rented that room to another group of travellers already. Since we had already booked, she said we could stay there. She said when the those travellers came back, just tell them the owner had made a mistake and we could kicked them out. We were so tired and did not want to assume the responibility of kicking someone out in the middle of the night. So finally, she agreed to paid a hotel room for us to stay on that night. Because of her mistake, we ended up going to bed really late and were extremely tired.

We were suppoosed to stay for 4 nights. However, the lady made another mistake again and thought we were staying only 3 nights, so she did not gave us the breakfest coupon for our last morning there. We ended up have to find her and ask for it.

Before the day left, the owner said she needed to fix something for the house and did not have enough money, and asked us to pay on that day instead of the day we left. It was okay for us since we needed to pay anyway so we paid in full. On the day we left, she was asking for the money again. We told her we paid already, but she did not recall. Luckily, on the day we paid, there was another lady saw we actually paid. And finally she was convinced. Otherwise, we had to pay again. So remember to get a receipt if you are asked to pay early.

On the early morning of the day we left, she knocked on our door without previous notification. When we open the door, the first thing she said is not "good morning" but "when are we leaving". We told her the time and she brought another traveller to came in and took a look at the room. I thought it was kind of rude and awkward.

About the room, it was the smallest during our entire stay in Italy. We didn't even have enough space to unpack our stuff from our backpack. The washroom is a world wonder. I do not know how she can manage to pack a toilet, a shower, and a sink in a 15 sq. ft. space. Basically, you have to sit on the toilet while you are taking the shower.

The only good thing about the B&B is the location. It is quite near to many travelling sites. Other than that, nothing is good. I would rather pay 10 or 20 Euro more to stay in another place.

In short, if you don't want to ruin your trip, do not stay in Ninna Nanna. No matter how cheap it is, just not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arznable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    55
    7
    10
    14
See reviews for
22
57
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We were two female backpackers traveling around Europe and got into Florence, Italy very late one evening. We arrived at Ninna & Nanna and were treated with marvelous hospitality. Not only did we receive an AWSOME rate on our room, but it was a great location, clean, had a lovely balcony and the service was top notch. We would definitely recommend this B&B and anyone!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jordanl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Florence center a lot of culture nearby and then every night sleeping in a good bed with a lovely owner RITA. She knows everything about Florence and gave good tips. The breakfast was very fine althought the place is simplebut clean for a very good price. I can recommend this place to everyone who likes to visit the center of Florence Italy.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hollandesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diliberto, Proprietario at Garden Florence B&B, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to have had our guest and that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you again in Florence.

Have a nice day
Rita & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moravia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I really like this hostel, because from the begining I felt like at home. Our room, which I shared with my friend, was very pleasantly and smartly furnished and our view to a garden was beuatiful. Bathroom with toilet was also lovely and I´m glad, that I could use a hospitality of this nice house:-)

Thanks to Rita - landlady of hostel Ninna Nanna.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PavkaMoravia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diliberto, Proprietario at Garden Florence B&B, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to have had our guest and that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you again in Florence.

Have a nice day
Rita & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

I liked staying at Ninna Nanna. The location is good, close to the central station and you can easily walk to the city center within some minutes. The rooms are basic but completely suffice, two of the three rooms have a balcony with a view to the garden. The bathroom that has to be shared by the guests is very nice and clean. If something should go wrong you can always tell Rita (the owner) to solve any problem.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KarlFaktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sciupaomo, proprietario at Garden Florence B&B, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
. The location is good, close to the central station ..thank you....it's true..!
Rita (the owner) to solve any problem.
any problem...????wowo

next time you win 20 per cent discount because I'm your friend rita.
bacio da firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Rita has a large house, with nice private rooms, decorated young style. I felt cozy, welcome, free. Everything was very clean. It came so natural to me to integrate myself in an Italian living style... I'm sure I'll be back one day. The place is close to the station and great restaurants. I walked in Firenze everywhere from this location. Absolutely, go and check it out!

ps: Rita is very helpful with recommendations about site-seeing. She speaks English well enough to have a pleasant chat about life and traveling...

  • Liked — The house decorations
  • Disliked — The pillows...
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CristinaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninnananna, responsabile di gestione at Garden Florence B&B, responded to this review, 2 December 2008
Thank you so much for your kindness. We'll wait for your coming back.
Ciao from all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Great location, only 10min walk from SMN train station. Close to convenience stores, cafes, takeaway, internet kiosks etc. Very secure apartment block. Nice garden area outside to relax with some takeaway dinner. Breakfast was via voucher for croissant and coffee at nearby cafe. Much more typical Italian breakfast than places above. Rita, who speaks English, was a lovely host. [-] booked directly by email [-] Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WigglyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninnananna, responsabile di gestione at Garden Florence B&B, responded to this review, 2 December 2008
Thank you so much for your kindness. I hope you'll come back again.
Cheers.
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
B&B Porta San Frediano
#253 of 651 in Florence
114 reviews
Villa Aruch
#24 of 310 in Florence
181 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 412 in Florence
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#256 of 412 in Florence
218 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#37 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#100 of 412 in Florence
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Florence B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Florence B&B

Property: Garden Florence B&B
Address: Via San Zanobi 37, 50129, Florence, Italy (Formerly Ninna Nanna B&B)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 651 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and breakfast cheap and chick GARDEN FLORENCE, recently renovated, is located on the ground floor and first floor of a historic building of the 15th century, in the historical center of Florence, between the districts of San Marco and San Lorenzo with its typical streets, the many family-run shops, the San Lorenzo Market, bars and restaurants in the center of Florence.Bed and breakfast cheap and chick FLORENCE GARDEN Amerigo is a family and is personally Dr. Rita del Giudice managed by the owner and his son pastry. . Pastas are made by Federico Migliori !!The bright and with private or SHARED WITH 1 ROOM AT THE MOST (Completely renovated), are furnished with taste and simplicity and decorated in an original way.Bed and breakfast cheap and chick FLORENCE GARDEN Amerigo is very bright and quiet because it is located in a restricted traffic zone; the rooms have views of AN ANCIENT GARDENAnd 'service available Free Wifi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Florence B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing