We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little sketchy, a little uncomfortable”
Review of Hotel Aldobrandini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aldobrandini
Ranked #240 of 422 Hotels in Florence
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little sketchy, a little uncomfortable”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This isn't a bad hotel, but we did encounter a few issues with our overnight stay. It's easy enough to find, directly across from the Medici Chapel. Large, imposing wooden doors shield its stone interior; the doors creak open, quite creepily, as you buzz to get in. You have to climb a few flights of stairs in the dimly lit building to get to the lobby (there's a well-concealed elevator but we didn't try it). Aldo himself greets you at the front desk. He's friendly and bursting with conversation - which is welcoming, but maybe overwhelming for two college-aged girls who had been searching for an open room for more than an hour after a previous reservation fell through.

He said, for the night, we would be charged 65 euros (standard double room). Sure, fine. I bring down the money and go back upstairs. My friend tells me she can't get the air conditioner to turn on so I head back downstairs to ask Aldo for help. Before I can speak, he interjects - saying I handed him 55 euros and not 65 euros. Impossible - my friend and I had each counted our money. We had a specific amount left in our wallets after paying for the room. But no, according to Aldo, we were 10 euro short (I guess from the moment I turned my back to the front desk). Cool. We give him another 10 euro (now we've possibly paid 75 for the night) and try to ignore the fact that we may have just got played - because we're American? Naive? Women? Who knows. It happened. We were too taken aback to argue. It was uncomfortable. Be careful when paying - for your own good, count the money in front of Aldo (or pay by card... although I'd avoid that in this situation).

Beds were hard, room was small - European standard. Bathroom was tight with a shower not separated from the toilet area (we didn't use the shower, wasn't worth the flood). It's in a good location, close to the Duomo and market stands. Breakfast in the morning was decent - a brioche, butter, nutella spread, orange juice/coffee.

Bottom line: Try and find somewhere else to go before this hotel. Aldobrandini is a passable last resort, but nonetheless a last resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleTanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    96
    70
    19
    9
See reviews for
13
106
68
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights and the position is fantastic. Our shower, however, was black with dirt and our bathroom was not cleaned every day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietteP_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Yes, it's a historic building, but once inside the hotel, there's no sense of it. One of the owners was friendly (the woman was not). I had a single room with shower/toilet. The shower did not drain well, but at least there was a tiny shower stall. The bed was not comfortable -- similar to the roll-away beds used for extra guests, etc. Breakfast was included but poor -- a croissant or two, coffee from a machine, and orange-colored sugar water. It was one of the lowest rates I was able to find, so no regrets about trying the place once

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trotamundos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My friend and I had a great stay in this hotel. The staff was working really hard to make us feel like home and have a pleasant stay.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoyan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Hotel was really nice, near to everything in a walking distance, really close to the train station and different museums.

The room was clean and nice, the bathroon too, but the shower curtain was a little bit dirty and sticky.

The day and night staff was very, very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giemeigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

i paid 45euros for one night at this hotel. The location is fantastic and the price is amazing for the center of Florence. When i booked it (through,i think, booking.com) it mentioned that there were showers in every room. So i assumed there were in suite toilets. It's not their fault i made the assumption, which is good, because it was indeed wrong. You can see in the photo here that there is a bidet in the shower (a bit redundant, no?) but no toilet. i was in the first room around the corner from reception, the toilet was down at the end of the hall. But, ok, whatever, i was just looking for a cheap, private room for one night and this fit that bill (that's why i give it 4stars, based entirely on the price and location).

There was one problem that i observed though: the room keys were not kept behind the reception desk, but hanging from the wall. The hotel asks that you leave your room key there when you go out (which is standard in Europe) but then they just leave the keys out there in the lobby. Often when i would come and go, there was nobody at reception or anywhere in the lobby. The front door opens automatically when you ring the bell, so you could get in, pick up whichever key you wanted, go into that room, do whatever you needed, all unnoticed!! Now, security in Italian hotels is always shady at best and often lousy, but this seemed to be a new level of laxness. In the photo here you can see the keys hanging on the rack on the wall and that is the front door open in the background. Most likely if you stay in this hotel there will be no problems with security, but it will be due to no action on the part of the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaxRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
creinert
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Aldo Brandini for 3 nights while we were in Florence the first week of October. I agree with a lot of the reviews that said the owner was very nice, the sister i think is not grumpy so much as she doesn't know English but we tried a little to speak with her and she was always polite and DID smile for us :) The breakfast got bad reviews b/c it was 'rolls and coffee'. That is typically what my husband and i eat so it was perfect for us. A tip would be at breakfast to order a 'cafe latte' or 'cappuccino' instead of plain coffee, it's so much better. The location of the hotel was perfect for us, right in the center of everything we wanted to see. Our room was VERY basic, bed, pillows, closet, desk and chair, and our bathroom was in our room, a request we made thru our travel agent. There is no elevator, but we were on what i would call the 'third floor' we didn't have to carry our luggage up the winding staircase, but we did have to carry it up the short flights of stairs to the hotel. The room was clean, but the beds were not ideal. My husband has a bad back and had we known how the beds were we most likely would have stayed at a different hotel. The 'double' beds were also just two twins pushed together (a common occurrence in europe we are told). Until about 10 at night we could hear distant noise outside and definitely the church bells but we looked at that as a temporary thing :) The only reason i would not reccommend this hotel is because of the beds, everything else we were satisifed with. We realize we are not in the U.S. so things are not going to be the same. If you look at it with the attitude of "When in Florence" you will be fine :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creinert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#257 of 422 in Florence
226 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#269 of 422 in Florence
91 reviews
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#278 of 422 in Florence
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#114 of 422 in Florence
450 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#271 of 422 in Florence
443 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#162 of 422 in Florence
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aldobrandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldobrandini

Property: Hotel Aldobrandini
Address: Piazza di Madonna Degli Aldobrandini 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aldobrandini 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aldobrandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldobrandini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing