We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large, quiet appartment, centally located”

Review of Altana

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Florence, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cardiffwe...
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for a weekend or longer”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I cannot fault the accommodation. Spacious, clean, very well located. However we were left disappointed by the check in process and despite 2 requests were left short of crockery, glasses and cutlery for our weekend break which was most inconvenient. No apology received.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh...
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Could be excellent”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This apartment is central, spacious and well furnished. The terrace is a bonus. However as others have said the maintenance is poor- electric sockets hanging off walls, very dirty white paint on doors as examples. The beds and towels were clean. The second shower is tiny, and would be useless for larger people. The climb up to the third floor might be hard for some, especially with bags. We were told to take a taxi from the station, and there was a very long queue-at least an hour. Eventually we walked and this was easy but we missed our check in slot and had to wait an hour in a cafe. The young man who checked us in was pleasant and we enjoyed our stay. However the taxi situation at the station seems to be common so you should allow extra travel time if you plan to use taxis. The inside spiral and metal stair s might be unsuitable for elderly and small children. A very pleasant stay with a few niggles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and space
Liked least: Could do with a bit of TLC
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R G
Ruthin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Large, quiet appartment, centally located”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in this appartment with 3 adults and 2 children (aged 8 and 10). Was impressed by the booking company- Apartments Florence. Booking online was straight forward; it was easy to contact them before arriving to check details. Plus the guy who let us into the appatment was very helpful and there was a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived.. The appartment is large, airy and very quiet, considering the location (5 min from the station and less than 10 min from the Duomo). The street outside felt safe and there are good local facilities- lots of places to eat, 2 ice cream shops on the corner; a good sized supermarket within 5 min and the main food market 5 min walk. There is a bit of a climb up to the flat as it is on the top floor, but it is worth it for the views from the top bedroom and the space of the balcomy. All the bedrooms are a good size and there is pleanty of space in the living room to relax and for children to play. The downsides of the flat are that the second bathroom is tiny-OK for the toilet and sink but the shower isn't a lot of use. The air-conditioning in one of the bedrooms was very noisy. Also the flat could do with a bit of a repaint- although the place was very clean. Overall a great place to stay and would definately recomend the flat and the letting company.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: large, light, quiet appartment.
Liked least: second bathroom was tiny. The air conditioning in the balcony bedroom was too noise to keep on.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2015
Grazie Mille for your Altana Apartment Review. This is surely one (among several) of our best options, such a bright, spacious apartment, with the terrace from where you can enjoy a wonderful view. We are glad you enjoyed the fantastic location steps from the Duomo. We constantly do our best to upgrade our apartments so we thank you for your feedback, it helps us to maintain our high standards. Hope to hear from you again. Grazie! Apartments Florence Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Civilin
Palencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The best thing I could say about this apartment is the location. It is very close to the train and bus station as well as to the cathedral. The apartment is big but it should clearly be updated and taken care of as the dishwasher didn't wash well or the air condition made a terrible noise or there were exactly 6 knifes not one more. You should also be aware of they will charge you for water, gas and electricity apart from the rent you pay. When we arrived we had to wait for an hour before they came with the key and when we had to leave they were also late, which really annoyed me.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your honest feedback on the Altana apartment. We appreciate it since we are always trying to improve our apartments and take the best care possible of our clients. As you mentioned this bright and spacious apartment is in a prime location from where you can explore all of Florence's most famous and important tourist attractions. Please note that it is clear from our email, website and contract that utilities are charged separately for every stay longer than 7 nights . We hope to see you in Florence again! Thank you, The Apartments Florence Staff Team"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Wallingford, Vermont
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Enjoying a relaxing moment on the terrace after a day of visits is you are correct one of the many advantages of our Altana apartment. We are pleased that our Maintenance team was fast in assisting you with the internet. If reported during stays we are able to help our guests in resolving issues as fast as possible to make their stay Florence pleasant. We are glad to read as well that you found the apartment well kept, well located and comfortable for a party of 6. Thank you for using our Concierge Services booking a private driver with us to make your arrival smooth. Please visit our Facebook page for updates on events taking place in Tuscany and new apartments! Grazie, Apartments Florence Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing