We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, great tips!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza Casanuova
Ranked #241 of 640 Florence B&B and Inns
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great tips!”
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We can certainly recommend this B&B.Lovely large room and bathroom, free drinks in the minibar, walking distance to all tourist attractions, great tips on where to eat! And very kind hosts, who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgo053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    21
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
45
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hunting Valley, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Thank you to the gracious and lovely Beatrice and Max. Spending this leg of our vacation in their beautiful family home was a pure pleasure. The location was superb, the owners are kind and generous with their suggestions and help and the 19th century mansion has been lovingly cared for and updated in the most thoughtful ways. This extraordinary place is superb in every aspect!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emresnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayonne, new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The owners, Max and Beatrice, a brother and sister team, were welcoming and extremely accommodating. The apartment is gorgeous. The location is superb. The rooms are spacious and very, very comfortable. The beds are excellent. And you can't go wrong with any of Max's and Beatrice's recommendations for food, sights, transportation, etc. Really quite special. We expect to stay there again and again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayonnefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I found the B&B using tripadvisor and was not disappointed at all. You will almost feel home at this hotel, recommend to book in advance because of the limited number of rooms, is actually a private appartment furbished with B&B.
10 mn walk to Florence center, fairly easy to locate

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2010

A friend recommended this bed and breakfast with superlatives that I worried could not be met. They were exceeded. The owners of Residenza Casanuova made all of our arrangements for sightseeing in Florence and that part of our time there was effortless thanks to them. They recommended restaurants within walking distance and our meals, one for pizza and the other for fine dining, were the two best meals we had in Italy. The building is magnificent with a sweeping staircase, beautiful antiques, comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms, away from the tourists but within easy walking distance of all of the sights. This is a romantic place and perfect for a couple but we traveled with three teenagers and an adult friend and it was perfect for our needs as well. The children walked around the area on their own and enjoyed music in the square and easy access to gelato. I will never stay anywhere else when visiting Florence.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jha33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Max and Bea really look after you. You actually feel like you are sharing their home. Breakfast was great each day.... We miss the croissants and scrolls already! Handy location near the markets and easy to catch the C3 bus into the heart of Florence. We really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed for two nights, 8 person (the max they can have is 10). We had 14 people in our company, and 6 of them stayed at another B&B, so we can directly compare. Residenza Casanouva is better. It occupies the entire the third (top) floor (with elevator) of a building that is incredibly clean, well maintained and elegant. There are two larger rooms and three smaller ones, all of them with air conditioning. The breakfast is served in the large living room. The place is about 10 minutes walk from the main attractions, on a truly quiet street. The other place our group had was closer, but more noisy and less nice. Beatrice is a great hostess. Our emails were answered promptly, including requests for reservations to the Accademia and Uffizi. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lm-gym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 411 in Florence
2,286 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#164 of 411 in Florence
441 reviews
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 411 in Florence
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residenza Castiglioni
Residenza Castiglioni
#66 of 640 in Florence
310 reviews
B&B Porta San Frediano
#228 of 640 in Florence
114 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#244 of 411 in Florence
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Casanuova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Casanuova

Property: Residenza Casanuova
Address: Via della Mattonaia 21, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Casanuova 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's actually our guests' opinion that highlighted our best. Residenza Casanuova... Like at home! Our property is the real bed and breakfast, the house originally belonged to our family, it is the place where since 2005 we offer accommodation and breakfast for our guests. We love to share with travellers our home and all the useful information or secret corners of our city, so that our guests can really live Florence like a Florentine. Elegance and care With the restoration of the apartment we maintained the original size of the rooms and the beautiful forniture and details that characterize them, thanks to our family's heritage: the room with the umbrellas, the one with the hats, the mirror from Murano, the old boxes... Our guests, when the weather permits, gladly enjoy our terrace for relaxing at sunset, maybe with a glass of good Tuscan wine. Delicious and rich home made breakfast We personally prepare and serve it in the dining room of our home, until late in the morning, allowing customers the choice and variety of typical local food. When requested, we purchase the right items for those with food allergies or intolerances. Free services Our guests greatly appreciate to find for free some amenities as the drinks in the room's fridge, cappuccino and tea facilities with a kettle, Wifi internet throughout the guesthouse with no charge. We also provide upon request, for museums', excursions or other activities booking, before our guests arrive in town. Ancient building... Modern comforts The palace where we are, dated 1871, is one of the few, in the center of Florence, having the elevator. The entire house is equipped with air conditioning, wifi internet connection, each bedroom with private bath and all the needed amenities. Centrally located but you can drive to our guesthoue! Our location is in the center of Florence, near the Sant'Ambrogio fresh food market, 10 min. From the Santa Croce basilica, close to restaurants, shops, entertainment venues, all really within walking distance, but we're still reachable by car because at the border with the restricted traffic zone. The neighborhood offers several parking areas at approx. €20,00 Per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Casanuova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing