We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An eclectic B&B in a great location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Strange Uncle B&B

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Florence, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Rob T
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An eclectic B&B in a great location!”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I took a mediterranean cruise and afterwards decided to ride the train for a few days and see a few sights. We spent two days and one night in Florence. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we decided on the Strange Uncle B&B. The owners, Bred and Nadja were waiting for us when we arrived. They were very welcoming and provided us with all the information we needed. The location is perfect! You can walk to almost any of the main sights of Florence within minutes. A variety of breakfast items were on the table as soon as we woke in the morning and the owners made it very clear to call them if we needed anything. All in all, it was perfect. A few things to mention for those inquiring to stay... the apartment is on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator. This isn't a huge deal but we had already been in Europe for almost 2 weeks and had a couple of big, heavy bags. Also, be aware that only one of the rooms has a bathroom. The other rooms share one bathroom. I somehow overlooked this beforehand and was a little surprised but it was no deal-breaker. With that said, the best part is probably the owners... Bred is so nice and Nadja is so sweet. You can tell they love what they do!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloria M
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home feeling, best location, great hosts”
Reviewed November 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My Dad and I spent little more than 3 days in Florence but managed to see a LOT thanks to Strange Uncle´s great location. The Basilica di San Lorenzo is just in front of it and the Duomo just some blocks away. You can even sleep in a little after a long day of tourism because you are in the Old Town again just by stepping out the door. So you can stay out until late enjoying night life in Florence and still get enough sleep to be read to go out and explore the city again the day after. Should you be short on money to keep eating out, you can go back to the BnB anytime to cook something in the very cozy kitchen =) The whole apartment was very tidy and clean, the room was even spatious and nicely decorated. The other guests were very nice and not loud at all, which speaks for them but also for the hosts. Nadja and Bred were very friendly, gave us lots of tips as to where to eat in the city or what to see, etc, and we were able to see them daily so we felt we had someone to turn with any questions we might have. I was afraid my 72 year-old dad would feel like he was spending his vacations at a student´s dorm, but it wasn´t like that at all. He liked it a lot at Strange Uncle´s...we met a student there and also honeymooners, we all were from different countries and of almost all ages and all of us love it at STrange Uncle´s. I will definetely stay there again if I ever go back to Florence..which I hope :) (By the way, in casa you have problems with your knees, just now the appartment is on the 3rd floor, if I remember correctly. It wasn´t much of a problem for my dad, but it might be for some seniors)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas L
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful feel, unique, great location”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Had a great stay here for 2 nights. A really lovely young business with lovely owners and much more character than a standard hotel. Quiet location, Great facilities, comfortable bed, really good breakfast included each morning. Highly recommend.

Travelling group: Da solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Die Lage
Liked least: Nichts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandrukyk...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Todo, la amabilidad y simpatía de los anfitriones, la tranquilidad del alojamiento y su posición en Florencia, la comodidad de las habitaciones, el desayuno
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing