We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Pizza Even In Italy!”
Review of Trattoria Nerone

Trattoria Nerone
Ranked #758 of 2,795 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: US$23 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santa Maria Novella
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Go for the decor! It's amazingly flamboyant and over the top! Apparently the men's room is lit in an interesting way! We had been wandering around Florence and were getting hungry so opted for this place. We chose to sit outside across from the restaurant, a mistake considering the aforementioned fun decor! Both of us had ordered our pizza when we overheard mention of an outdoor patio that is accessible from inside the restaurant but when we asked if we could move to it were told that "no...not for only two people". Interesting rule. The pizza's came and were they dreadful or what...soggy, wet in the middle and just plain awful. We had thought the lousy pizzas we had in Rome near the Pantheon were bad but these topped it! Wet pizzas from a place that supposedly prides themselves on their huge selection of pizzas??? At least the service was good!

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,005)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 371 of 2,005 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Nerone is an odd-looking place. It is capacious and the interior decor might be described as eclectic or otherwise as haphazard and manic. We found lots to look at and smile at.
Internally it is quite huge and the cooking is all done in a spotless kitchen where you can see it happening. The chefs all wear head-coverings and they really work hard.

I had braised stuffed rabbit cutlets and I can heartily recommend that dish which was a mere 10 Euros. My colleague had the Florentine steak, large, tasty but not particularly tender. Accompanying vegetables and garnishes were excellent.

Overall the best of the 5 such trattoria that we ate at. Nothing dull about the Nerone.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Quiet when we went in but soon filled up and was buzzing. Food was good, service excellent despite them being very busy. Would recommend.

Date of visit: May 2014
Thank Maidofkent2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was a nice little spot where my wife and I stopped one evening. She has a pasta dish and I had pizza. The food was good and everything came out well prepared. The staff seemed very nice and our server was attentive, even making a few jokes when he checked in. Its proximity to our hotel really helped us pick this place, but anyone walking from the train station should check it out.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cato1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We have never had anything but pizza, salads and wine at Nerone's, but they have always been excellent. Service can be a bit erratic, but we have never experienced anything serious. It is our "go to" place for pizza in Florence.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Nerone also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Nerone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.