We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,250)
Filter reviews
1,250 results
Traveller rating
816
353
58
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
816
353
58
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main hotel free prosecco free buffet snack area great hotel free bikes hot tub superior room within the walls inside the city walls the hotel staff strawberries annex building loved this hotel pastries coffee machine old town
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,250 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2018

Room tip: The rooms in the annex are in an old historic building and are worth the upgrade for the outside seating area.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

Hotel Ilaria makes you feel at home as soon as you check.From the bellman and people at the reception all are at you service.The property is an old mansion and has an annex across the street ,where we stayed,in charming two level suite.The location is perfect because you are in the heart of the old citadel an if you come by car is just a block away from one of the entrances. Breakfast is served in a terrace overlooking Bottini gardens and is just enough to get you moving for a nice walk around the city.The give you bicycles in case you decide to a little further, but Lucca's main spots are reachable after a 15/20 minutes walk.

Room tip: I would definitely choose the suites in the annex.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Coco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Dear Coco,
thank you for your charming review!
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our city!
We really hope to welcome you again in our beautiful Lucca!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018

A well situated and fairly small hotel, it’s located within the town walls and is consequently just a short walk from the bars and restaurants, but is nonetheless on a quiet road with little in the way of passing pedestrians or traffic; in fact the road immediately outside the hotel is blocked off just a short distance away, effectively making it a cul de sac, although there is another road just across the river that runs down the middle. Our room was on the second floor and was a decent enough size with a large and comfy bed (perhaps a little firm for some people though), TV, tea/coffee making facilities, mini-bar, safe and so on. Walls were perhaps a little on the thin side with some noise from adjacent rooms, no doubt not helped by the wall hung TV. This was fairly minimal though, and we slept well. If you have a car, there is a small car park adjacent to the hotel, although there is only room for about five cars.

Breakfast was a help yourself buffet and covered most bases. Hot choices were limited to some very tiny sausages, bacon and scrambled eggs, and in addition to this there was cold meat and cheese, smoked salmon, cereals, pastries, fruit and so on. On the whole it was all pretty good, with only the croissants being slightly disappointing perhaps as they were clearly overcooked. There was also a help yourself buffet in the lobby downstairs between 12:00 – 7:00pm each day, principally some of the left overs such as bread and pastries from breakfast, but it was a nice touch. Even better, there was also free Prosecco between 5:00pm – 7:00pm! Overall, we were very pleased with this and thought it was good value for the location and quality.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Blackth0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Dear Blackth0rn,
thank you very much for your detailed comment!
We are glad you noticed our positive sides and also your advices to improve our services!
It is very importat to us to get better every day!
We really hope to welcome you soon again,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This hotel is one of the best I have stayed in for customer service, location and amenities, with the free all day refreshments and free prosecco from 17.00 to 19.00 I can't praise it enough. It was very enjoyable being able to meet other guests in the lounge area. Will be back.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Glenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Dear Glenise,
thank you very much for your nice review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, our staff and services!
We hope to welcome you soon again!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

Well, the other reviews of this hotel have covered it, so I’ll keep it brief. This is a great place to stay in this charming town. My family of 3 stayed in one of the suites in the Residenza dell’Alba. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again if we’re lucky enough to return to Lucca.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tommynottimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauroCusinato, Direttore at Hotel Ilaria, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Dear Tommynottimmy,
thank you so much for your nice words!
We are so happy to read you enjoyed your stay!
We hope to welcome you soon again!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews