We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for backpackers, clean rooms.”
Review of Sogni d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sogni d'Oro
Ranked #48 of 48 Hotels in Lucca
Meise, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location for backpackers, clean rooms.”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

As mentioned by a reviewer beneath: you get wath you pay for. Nice welcome by the hostess, very friendly.
It was a clean room, bathroom and kitchen. The mattress on the bed was allready a little old and not very comfortable. Very handy to have a little kitchen with a fridge!! Bathroom was ok.
It's is located near the city-center, only a 5minute walk to reach the citywalls.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    14
    13
    6
See reviews for
4
21
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The name of the hostel means "Golden Dreams", very aptly named. Great location, quiet (although there is a nearby bar that gets noisy on the weekend,) kitchen has a stove/oven/fridge but is not well-equipped with cooking/eating utensils. It doesn't look terribly clean, but it is.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenndods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We appreciated the helpfulness of Davide but were happy that we only had a one-night stay. While the bed was comfortable and the room moderately clean, the sewer gas in the bathroom was a problem for us.

If you're looking for an inexpensive room with a good location near the city wall and don't have high expectations you could consider this option in Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucca hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

The room was decent-sized but dingy. A lonely vase of plastic flowers on the dresser was heavily coated in dust. We had a private bathroom but it was so tiny, with a toilet + sink + shower wedged into a closet that we thought the shared one might have been a better idea. Mold in the shower and cracks on the walls. No A\C, of course. The location is good, just a few minutes from the walls of the city and there is a nearby supermarket. The big selling point is the price - cheapest around, and even cheaper if you take shared bath. The owner is hospitable and speaks decent English.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yay_Hanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Convenient location with lots of car parking and within easy walking distance to Lucca's city walls. Host very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in a room with a private bathroom that was extremely small, like it was built into an old closet. The room was spacious and clean but the walls were very thin and you could hear every word of your neighbors. Our room was also adjacent to the shared bathroom for the 3 other rooms and so lots of noise was heard from it, along with a constant on/off generator-type noise heard from a hot water pump every time someone turned on the hot water tap.

  • Liked — location to Lucca
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChitchatCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

I arrived at Sogni D'Oro in the middle of a torrential downpour, cold, tired and bedraggled. I was horrified when the friendly, polite manager, Fabio pointed out that I had a reservation for the next night and that they were presently full, it being a national holiday in Italy.

I did what any self-respecting traveller would do in the circumstances. Cried. I needn't have bothered as Fabio was already making a phone call to another guest house and within 5 minutes was driving me and my son round the corner to another guest house.

He returned the next morning to pick us up and drive us back to Sogni d'Oro where he had our original room ready and waiting for us, basic, clean and comfy. He also offered to arrange a taxi transfer to the airport at 4am the following morning. Having spent the previous week in Italy, discovering how unreliable taxis can be, I gratefully accepted and enjoyed a punctual, fast, friendly service from Fabrizio in his posh leather- interior BMW.

Sogni D'Oro is basic but very clean and functional. It is great value in an otherwise quite expensive town. It is 5 minutes walk to the medieval town and nowhere is more than 15 minutes away from anywhere, it is so tiny.

I thoroughly recommend it for those on a budget or damsels in distress.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrypie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancock, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2005

We stayed at the Sogni d'Oro for a week at the end of September 2005. We chose it because the description said that it had free car parking and was just five minutes from the train station. Also because we were on a very limited budget and we were able to get a 60 euro per night rate - cheap by Lucca standards. The parking was there, but the train station was actually more like a 12-minute walk away. Luckily the friendly managers picked us up when we arrived and gave us a useful map.

With regard to location, the guest house is 5-6 minutes outside the old city walls but there's precious little on that side of the old city once you get inside. It's a full 25-minute walk to the Piazza Anfiteatro, around which many of the restaurants and shops are located. The nearest restaurant - Gli Orti di Via Elisa - is about 12 minutes from the guest house (it's very good but extremely busy - reserve if you can). If you're into self-catering, there is a basic kitchen (no microwave) in the guest house and a supermarket next door.

Our room was one of the two out of five with an en-suite bathroom. However, unlike Room 1, which has a proper, full-size bathroom with bath and bidet, our room, Room 3, had what was effectively a converted closet, with a loo, washbasin and shower cubicle crammed in so close together that you could barely turn around inside, and with no room to hang towels. An eggy smell of drains pervaded our room and the corridor outside - odd plumbing, I think - and it was rather noisy too.

The room itself was rather small and old-fashioned. No mod cons - no TV or phone, for example. The bed had certainly seen better days and in the seven days that we were there the sheets and towels were only changed once.

On the whole, I would only recommend staying at the Sogni d'Oro if you have a car and want convenient, free parking or if you need budget accommodation and can't find anything inside the city walls. There are plenty of affittacamere inside the walled city that are much closer to "the action", such as that is in Lucca, a rather quiet town. Also, if you're planning to use Lucca as a base for visiting other parts of Tuscany, I would recommend staying somewhere closer to the bus station (Piazzale Verdi, just inside the western city walls and a LONG trek from the Sogni d'Oro). Buses to Florence, for example, are faster than the snail-like trains, and there's also a direct bus service to Pisa Airport.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank rusugiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#17 of 48 in Lucca
219 reviews
1.1 km away
Albergo Moderno
Albergo Moderno
#32 of 48 in Lucca
101 reviews
0.4 km away
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 48 in Lucca
915 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 48 in Lucca
429 reviews
1.0 km away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sogni d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sogni d'Oro

Property: Sogni d'Oro
Address: Via Cantore 169, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 48 Hotels in Lucca
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sogni d Oro Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing