We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect In Every Way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lucca In Villa San Donato
Ranked #38 of 176 Lucca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A little tricky to find...but..don't give up! Alexandra the owner couldn't have been more helpful, from making a dinner reservation, to calling the car rental agency in Firenze for us...Absolute service...the room was clean, roomy, with a very nice bathroom...windows were great..our room was in the back facing the terrific enclosed car park..Breakfast is superb and in its own little building, with fresh tomatoes, cheeses, pastries and more..even when we had to leave early in the morning..there was breakfast waiting for us in the reception room. These ladies certainly know how to run a B and B...maps were good too...excellent location, not much of a walk at all to get everywhere inside the wall and to the Autostrada and Train Station. Fell in Love with Lucca!!!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a room in the back..overlooking the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccainvilla79, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Linda F,
we are happy you appreciated everything at Lucca in Villa San Donato, thank you for the wonderful review from all the staff,
we hope to welcome you again in the future,
kind regards
Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

It is located close to the city walls, I would recommend you have a GPS to find the place.

It’s a tight squeeze to get into the cark park at the back of the B&B if cars are parked badly.

We had a good size room with balcony

Minor complaint a previous occupant had smoked on the balcony and left an ash tray full of cigarette buts on the sun lounger that had not been removed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccainvilla79, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Traveling-Welschman,
Thank you very much for your nice review, we wish to welcome you in the future and I hope you could accept our apologies for the missing ash tray on the balcony,we will improve our cleaning management,
kind regards
Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We recently stayed for 1 night at the Lucca in Villa and were very impressed.
The rooms are large and newly decorated, with decent size bathrooms and the best hotel breakfast we had during this trip to Italy.
It was great value for money and offers free parking in their own grounds, there is also plenty of on street parking nearby.
Location wise it is about 5 minutes walk from the city walls and lovely old town, with local shops, restaurants etc close by.
In short we would stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room and didn't see any others, but sure they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccainvilla79, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Trevor H,
thank you very much for your review! We are very glad you were impressed by our villa and you appreciated our breakfast, we pay attention very carefully to the quality and freshness of food.
We wait to welcome you again for a long stay.
kind regards,
Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my week's stay at Villa Donato in May, 2013. The staff were friendly and helpful; theyhelped me orientate myself with respect to my Italian school and services in Lucca. Villa Donato is located just outside the city's walls so within a few minutes you can reach the centre.

My room was very comfortable with a modern, adjoining bathroom.

Self-service breakfast catered to many tastes with delicious fresh breads, cakes, yogurt, cereal and fruits.

I am happy to recommend this hotel for its value and hospitality.

Room Tip: Personally I found my room quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccainvilla79, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Dear Patricia H,
We would like to thank You for Your kind words!
It was a pleasure having You as our guests and we hope To meet you again in the future,
We look forward to seeing You again soon, hopefully with a better weather!!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A really good location for Lucca. Within a ten minute walk of the walls with parking for the car. Pleasant room with tea and coffee making facilities but with no milk. There was some road noise outside so try and get a quiet room (there are some that face the back). Continental breakfast but by the time we arrived there wasn't a great deal of food left and the dining room needed clearing. Overall, would recommend and the receptionist was helpful too

Room Tip: With balcony at rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccainvilla79, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Cilan-Harlech,
thank you for your review, we hope to have as our guest next time and you could ask for a room at the back,
kind regards
Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at Lucca In Villa San Donato for 4 nights and we had an enjoyable stay. It is situated in close walking distance from the City Walls of Lucca. The hospitality was 5 star the staff are very friendly and helpful. And we loved the breakfast.

Any questions we had about tourists spots and restaurants the staff where extremely helpful. Highly recommended .
 
Thanks for making it a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalernoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccainvilla, Responsabile reception at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such nice words for us.
We really hope we will have the chance to meet again in the future!
Best regards
Lucca in Villa San Donato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We spent 2 nights there last summer and it was just a great stay. We could easily walk to the city centre, our room was very clean and big. Alessandra gave us very helpful information on what to do and where to have lunch in Lucca. Very big breakfast!
If back in Lucca, will book there again...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronald g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccainvilla, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Dear Ronald,
thank you very much for your review, we are looking forward to meeting you again if you would like to come back we recommend to book through our facebook's fan page or web site to have the best offer.It was a pleasure giving you tips on Lucca,
kind regards and see you next time,
ALessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#17 of 47 in Lucca
228 reviews
3.3 km away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
3.8 km away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#16 of 47 in Lucca
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Corte di Re Artu
Corte di Re Artu
#48 of 176 in Lucca
227 reviews
0.6 km away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#20 of 176 in Lucca
183 reviews
0.3 km away
La Mimosa
La Mimosa
#25 of 176 in Lucca
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucca In Villa San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucca In Villa San Donato

Address: Via delle Tagliate 49 | San Donato, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $87 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lucca in Villa San Donato is a splendid Liberty-style villa a few steps from the historic walls of Lucca, where the composer Giacomo Puccini was born. The villa has been carefully restored, but taking care of preserving its original features: the grit floors, the capitals of the antique windows in traditional Tuscan style, without forgetting the modern amenities: free wifi, LCD TV and independent heating.The rooms, all equipped with private bathroom and carved in their original size are furnished in a simple and functional way and will make you feel the historical atmosphere of the city. The bed and breakfast is decorated with a beautiful and well-kept garden, where in summer you can enjoy yor outdoor breakfast which can also be requested gluten-free or sugar-free, or simply sip a good wine produced in the hills of Lucca. The private parking and proximity to the city center, reachable on foot in five minutes, will give you the chance to finally forget the stress of traffic and just experience the city as the ''real'' Lucca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lucca In Villa San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucca In Villa San Donato Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing