We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
107
106
22
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
106
22
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk walled city large bed old city enjoyed our stay train station next morning the owner gate walls luca heart hosts
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 249 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is located close to the city walls, I would recommend you have a GPS to find the place.

It’s a tight squeeze to get into the cark park at the back of the B&B if cars are parked badly.

We had a good size room with balcony

Minor complaint a previous occupant had smoked on the balcony and left an ash tray full of cigarette buts on the sun lounger that had not been removed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Welshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccainvilla79, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Traveling-Welschman,
Thank you very much for your nice review, we wish to welcome you in the future and I hope you could accept our apologies for the missing ash tray on the balcony,we will improve our cleaning management,
kind regards
Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently stayed for 1 night at the Lucca in Villa and were very impressed.
The rooms are large and newly decorated, with decent size bathrooms and the best hotel breakfast we had during this trip to Italy.
It was great value for money and offers free parking in their own grounds, there is also plenty of on street parking nearby.
Location wise it is about 5 minutes walk from the city walls and lovely old town, with local shops, restaurants etc close by.
In short we would stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: we had a ground floor room and didn't see any others, but sure they are all good
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccainvilla79, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Trevor H,
thank you very much for your review! We are very glad you were impressed by our villa and you appreciated our breakfast, we pay attention very carefully to the quality and freshness of food.
We wait to welcome you again for a long stay.
kind regards,
Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my week's stay at Villa Donato in May, 2013. The staff were friendly and helpful; theyhelped me orientate myself with respect to my Italian school and services in Lucca. Villa Donato is located just outside the city's walls so within a few minutes you can reach the centre.

My room was very comfortable with a modern, adjoining bathroom.

Self-service breakfast catered to many tastes with delicious fresh breads, cakes, yogurt, cereal and fruits.

I am happy to recommend this hotel for its value and hospitality.

Room Tip: Personally I found my room quiet and comfortable
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccainvilla79, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Patricia H,
We would like to thank You for Your kind words!
It was a pleasure having You as our guests and we hope To meet you again in the future,
We look forward to seeing You again soon, hopefully with a better weather!!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A really good location for Lucca. Within a ten minute walk of the walls with parking for the car. Pleasant room with tea and coffee making facilities but with no milk. There was some road noise outside so try and get a quiet room (there are some that face the back). Continental breakfast but by the time we arrived there wasn't a great deal of food left and the dining room needed clearing. Overall, would recommend and the receptionist was helpful too

Room Tip: With balcony at rear.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccainvilla79, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Dear Cilan-Harlech,
thank you for your review, we hope to have as our guest next time and you could ask for a room at the back,
kind regards
Alessandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Lucca In Villa San Donato for 4 nights and we had an enjoyable stay. It is situated in close walking distance from the City Walls of Lucca. The hospitality was 5 star the staff are very friendly and helpful. And we loved the breakfast.

Any questions we had about tourists spots and restaurants the staff where extremely helpful. Highly recommended .
 
Thanks for making it a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalernoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccainvilla, Responsabile reception at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such nice words for us.
We really hope we will have the chance to meet again in the future!
Best regards
Lucca in Villa San Donato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews