We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
104
106
22
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
106
22
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkwalled citylarge bedold cityenjoyed our staytrain stationnext morningthe ownergatewallslucahearthosts
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 246 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This is a good spot, only 300m from the old city gates. They have their own parking space that holds about 5 cars. Their breakfast is decent although the coffee from a machine leaves something to be desired (petty detail). Staff is very nice and helpful, their english is very good. I Would return and recommend!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Globerouleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccainvilla, Responsabile reception at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Dear Guests,

thank you for taking the time to leave this kind feedback,we are so pleased you had a nice stay with us.
We are very sorry for the coffee machine, which we fixed and is now working properly. We work really hard to make our Guests feel great here and we hope you will have the chance to visit us again!
Best regards,
Lucca in Villa San Donato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Villa San Donato worked well for us. It had free parking for our rental car (a big plus!), friendly, English speaking staff. Italy does not have as many English speakers as other countries in Europe. The location is but a short walk through the gate to wonderful Lucca. The big breakfast was served outside in the garden and had so many great/unusual choices. There is no air conditioning but an effective fan was available in the room. I recommend the Villa especially for the price

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeBeeLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccainvilla, Responsabile reception at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for all your beautiful compliments, they make our hard work really worth it!
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast, which we are pretty proud of!
we wish we will have the chance to have you here again!
It was a real pleasure meeting you,
Best regards from all of us
Lucca in Villa San Donato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stay one night in the hotel.Its very small hotel , only some rooms divided between to Vila. its located 2 minutes walk right behind the old city gate. its was very comfortable to come back to the hotel for a short rest and to go again for a dinner inside the old city..
Our room was at the main Vila just in front of the desk reception (didn't bother since its not an active desk and after 18:00 there is no one there.
The all atmosphere is very homely and cosy but still you have your privacy.
The room was nice , big enough the shower was very clean with spoiled towels.
breakfast was satisfied although i have to admit i had better in our stay in Italy. i would warmly recommend to stay there!!!

Room Tip: for breakfast there are some tables in the garden which its nicer than the dinning room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccainvilla, Responsabile reception at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for leaving such a nice and thorough feedback! It was our pleasure to have you here and it makes us very proud that you were pleased with your stay,
Best regards
Lucca in Villa San Donato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

If you want to spend a night in the city of Loucca is fine, but no more. The staff very friendly and helpful, foul of kindness to solve every problem.It is near to historical center and it has safe free parking for motorbikes.the hotel is a very old renovated villa.so the rooms are not so good.they had not air condition...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank manolis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here in March. Quick walk to the Lucca walls, but very residential, quiet area.
Rooms are average, yet clean with a clean bathroom. Bed was quite uncomfortable (my hip bones hurt for days after leaving) and hallways/building could use some maintenance and painting. Very budget oriented B&B.

Im celiac and the breakfast woman gave me food that was not GF ensuring me that it was GF. Because of this, I ended up vomitting my way around the beautiful walls of Lucca trying to get back to the B&B. We stayed here because they listed GF breakfast on their site (and confirmed with them before arriving that GF was possible) and they do have a separate draw of GF breakfast foods, but non GF stuff got mixed in there somehow. So just be aware of this. We ended up leaving the the B&B that night and stayed at the Albergo Celide Hotel instead on the other side of the city walls.
When the owner found out what happened to me, she was very apologetic and didn't end up charging us for either night of our stay which was very nice of her.

Overall (minus the gluten incident), I would say the B&B is average, but good for budget travel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccainvilla79, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Jdon16,
we are really sorry for what happened with your GF breakfast and that your stay was not comfortable as you expected. WE hope you could accept our apologies for the unconvenience and as we are planning to restore all the building we will glad to have as our guest in the future to try our new services,
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews