We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big rooms nice breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lucca In Villa San Donato
Ranked #38 of 176 Lucca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed in this really nice mansion just one night but was good enough to appreciate the calm area and the people to served us breakfast.
Place is clean and safe and staff for what we saw is nice. will go back

Room Tip: ask for garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicozim4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccainvilla, Responsabile reception at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Dear Guests,

we want to thank you and tell you how much we appreciate your comments!
We hope next time you will be able to spend more than just one night with us!
Kindest regards,
Lucca in Villa San Donato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

It's situated just outside the city walls and the price reflects this. The room was lovely, clean and big. And breakfast was amazing. They were very friendly. If you don't have that much cash definitely stay here, VERY good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tatiana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccainvilla, Responsabile reception at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Dear Tataiana,

thank you for taking the time to leave this kind feedback,we are very happy you had a nice stay with us and you enjoyed our breakfast.
We work really hard to make our Guests feel at home and we hope you will have the chance to visit us again!
Kind regards,
Lucca in Villa San Donato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This is a good spot, only 300m from the old city gates. They have their own parking space that holds about 5 cars. Their breakfast is decent although the coffee from a machine leaves something to be desired (petty detail). Staff is very nice and helpful, their english is very good. I Would return and recommend!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Globerouleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccainvilla, Responsabile reception at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Dear Guests,

thank you for taking the time to leave this kind feedback,we are so pleased you had a nice stay with us.
We are very sorry for the coffee machine, which we fixed and is now working properly. We work really hard to make our Guests feel great here and we hope you will have the chance to visit us again!
Best regards,
Lucca in Villa San Donato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Villa San Donato worked well for us. It had free parking for our rental car (a big plus!), friendly, English speaking staff. Italy does not have as many English speakers as other countries in Europe. The location is but a short walk through the gate to wonderful Lucca. The big breakfast was served outside in the garden and had so many great/unusual choices. There is no air conditioning but an effective fan was available in the room. I recommend the Villa especially for the price

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeBeeLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccainvilla, Responsabile reception at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you so much for all your beautiful compliments, they make our hard work really worth it!
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast, which we are pretty proud of!
we wish we will have the chance to have you here again!
It was a real pleasure meeting you,
Best regards from all of us
Lucca in Villa San Donato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stay one night in the hotel.Its very small hotel , only some rooms divided between to Vila. its located 2 minutes walk right behind the old city gate. its was very comfortable to come back to the hotel for a short rest and to go again for a dinner inside the old city..
Our room was at the main Vila just in front of the desk reception (didn't bother since its not an active desk and after 18:00 there is no one there.
The all atmosphere is very homely and cosy but still you have your privacy.
The room was nice , big enough the shower was very clean with spoiled towels.
breakfast was satisfied although i have to admit i had better in our stay in Italy. i would warmly recommend to stay there!!!

Room Tip: for breakfast there are some tables in the garden which its nicer than the dinning room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luccainvilla, Responsabile reception at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for leaving such a nice and thorough feedback! It was our pleasure to have you here and it makes us very proud that you were pleased with your stay,
Best regards
Lucca in Villa San Donato

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

If you want to spend a night in the city of Loucca is fine, but no more. The staff very friendly and helpful, foul of kindness to solve every problem.It is near to historical center and it has safe free parking for motorbikes.the hotel is a very old renovated villa.so the rooms are not so good.they had not air condition...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank manolis m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here in March. Quick walk to the Lucca walls, but very residential, quiet area.
Rooms are average, yet clean with a clean bathroom. Bed was quite uncomfortable (my hip bones hurt for days after leaving) and hallways/building could use some maintenance and painting. Very budget oriented B&B.

Im celiac and the breakfast woman gave me food that was not GF ensuring me that it was GF. Because of this, I ended up vomitting my way around the beautiful walls of Lucca trying to get back to the B&B. We stayed here because they listed GF breakfast on their site (and confirmed with them before arriving that GF was possible) and they do have a separate draw of GF breakfast foods, but non GF stuff got mixed in there somehow. So just be aware of this. We ended up leaving the the B&B that night and stayed at the Albergo Celide Hotel instead on the other side of the city walls.
When the owner found out what happened to me, she was very apologetic and didn't end up charging us for either night of our stay which was very nice of her.

Overall (minus the gluten incident), I would say the B&B is average, but good for budget travel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luccainvilla79, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear Jdon16,
we are really sorry for what happened with your GF breakfast and that your stay was not comfortable as you expected. WE hope you could accept our apologies for the unconvenience and as we are planning to restore all the building we will glad to have as our guest in the future to try our new services,
kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
2.2 km away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#18 of 47 in Lucca
228 reviews
3.3 km away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
3.8 km away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#16 of 47 in Lucca
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Corte di Re Artu
Corte di Re Artu
#49 of 176 in Lucca
227 reviews
0.6 km away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#17 of 176 in Lucca
183 reviews
0.3 km away
La Mimosa
La Mimosa
#26 of 176 in Lucca
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucca In Villa San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucca In Villa San Donato

Address: Via delle Tagliate 49 | San Donato, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $87 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lucca in Villa San Donato is a splendid Liberty-style villa a few steps from the historic walls of Lucca, where the composer Giacomo Puccini was born. The villa has been carefully restored, but taking care of preserving its original features: the grit floors, the capitals of the antique windows in traditional Tuscan style, without forgetting the modern amenities: free wifi, LCD TV and independent heating.The rooms, all equipped with private bathroom and carved in their original size are furnished in a simple and functional way and will make you feel the historical atmosphere of the city. The bed and breakfast is decorated with a beautiful and well-kept garden, where in summer you can enjoy yor outdoor breakfast which can also be requested gluten-free or sugar-free, or simply sip a good wine produced in the hills of Lucca. The private parking and proximity to the city center, reachable on foot in five minutes, will give you the chance to finally forget the stress of traffic and just experience the city as the ''real'' Lucca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lucca In Villa San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucca In Villa San Donato Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing