We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, simple, nothing fancy but clean and homey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Le Violette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Le Violette
Ranked #65 of 168 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good location, simple, nothing fancy but clean and homey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Le Violette is very close to the Porta Pietra, which makes it really convenient to the train station and also for drivers that are dragging luggage into the old town. Although it is simple to find once you know where it is, we had to ask directions the first time after passing it a few times - just a sign on a wall and easy (for us) to miss. Get in the area and ask. We arrived on the night of a concert, which was held only a block or two away. We didn't realize this and were amazed at the activity which quieted down at a decent hour (and wasn't a problem once windows were closed). It's a very old building and we didn't expect air conditioning but were pleased to find in our room since it was unusually hot. The hostess was very helpful, spoke limited English but was willing to do her best to understand us. Breakfast was typical Italian breakfast and the coffee was good and more plentiful than other Italian hotels we stayed in. We stayed in a room with a bathroom and the room and bathroom were both good sizes. So if you are looking for a simple, inexpensive place, good service, a homestyle touch in an easy location, this is it. A few tips - Rent bikes and ride the ramparts, there's a bike rental very close by. On the third weekend of the month there is a huge flea market, antique fair, held in many different plazas, great fun if you like poking around looking at stuff or just taking interesting pictures. Outdoor, evening concerts on the weekend nights. You can't see without a ticket but get a table and have a drink or gelato at a nearby cafe and enjoy the music.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConnTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
24
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

Anna and her family were kind and helpful hosts and were one of the best things of this place. The B and B was clean and the beds were comfortable. Our room was quite spacious. We opted for shared bath and there were two clean bathrooms down the hall for 5 or 6 rooms. There were several great amenities like kitchen priviledges and use of the washer and dryer (for cost). We had our own set of keys to come and go as we pleased. The location, inside the city walls, was also perfect for us.

On the down side, our room and the breakfast area felt a bit worn and dingy. (A fresh coat of paint would have helped alot.) Also it was difficult to open windows in the room for natural light/air and that contributed to the overall lackluster feel. There was a good amount of noise from both the street on one night (of 2 nights we were there) and also noise from the shared kitchen. Breakfast was mediocre (rolls, coffe and fake juice). Overall, I didn't think that the room was a good value especially considering the shared baths. You probably could get a better value elsewhere.

I would prefer to stay elsewhere in the future. However, if other things were booked up in town, this is an adequate place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ninebark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Le Violette doesn't have many amenities, but it has some great things going for it.

Anna, the proprietress, doesn't speak much English but she has enough to get the job done.

There are no English channels on the TV. I didn't see any air conditioning, but it's an old stone building and seems to hold the night's cool very well.

It's on the first floor (that's 2nd floor to we Americans) with no elevator. But after checking in they gave us keys to the outside door so we could come and go as we pleased (which is good because the owners aren't always there).

They let us plug into their high speed Internet cable. We also got free wi-fi off some nearby unsecured network not associated with Le Violette.

Our group of friends took 3 rooms, and they gave us three rooms with no bathrooms. We all had to share two bathrooms down the hall. Since we had the place to ourselves after sundown, we poked around a bit and discovered that all the other rooms in the place had their own bathrooms in the rooms, so if I go back I'll request one of those.

The place had a much-welcome washer/dryer which they let you use if you leave 5 euros in return. Honor system.

Breakfast was fairly minimal but the cappuccino was excellent! Location was excellent! It's just inside the old city walls, and though their website said "plenty of parking behind our building", when I asked about it Anna told me to drive outside the city walls and using one of the public parking lots nearby. All the lots I found said "2-hour parking" so I finally settled on paying 8 euros to park overnight at the parking lot of the nearby train station. That was fine with me. Not too far to walk, not too expensive, safe enough.

Anna sent us to a great local restaurant where we were the only tourists in the place. It was packed with locals and was some of the best food we had in Italy.

We also walked a couple of blocks from Le Violette and attended the live opera performace at the church of San Giovanni. It lasted about an hour and cost 15 Euros, but it was a great experience and something out of the ordinary for our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick_Arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2009

Great location, Anna and Sara are great, they make you feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEG666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 km away
B&B Il Duomo
B&B Il Duomo
#15 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 km away
Antica Residenza del Gallo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Residence Il Duomo
Residence Il Duomo
#4 of 73 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 km away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#20 of 168 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.6 km away
La Colonna
La Colonna
#68 of 168 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Le Violette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Le Violette

Property: B&B Le Violette
Address: Via della Polveriera 6, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Le Violette was recently bought from a very social and dynamic Signora who, having turned 70 years old, was ready to retire. This signora found in the current owner, Elisabeth Warren, a similarity that satisfied her desire to pass on the B&B to someone who would enjoy and manage it as she did. We offer a comfortable room and a delightful breakfast. Conveniently located within the intriguing walls of Lucca, yet a minute walk from its train station, we give our guests the best of this charming town as well as the easy accessibility in exploring its surroundings. Free Wi-Fi in the entire B&B. There are free maps to Lucca and its surrounding areas. The host is present at breakfast to give suggestions and advice and is always available by phone for any specific needs. Italian Breakfast is from 7:30am to 10:30am consisting of croissants, bread with butter, jam or nutella, yogurt, cakes and juice with your choice of cappuccino, espresso, tea, caffe latte, American coffee or hot chocolate. The host will usually encounter the guests at check-in and leave them the keys to the building, the B&B and their room so they may come and go as they please. Checkin: from 11:00am to 4:00pm. Please contact us in advance for early or late arrivals. Checkout: before 11:00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your B&B Le Violette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing