We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed 14 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Grand Hotel Bonanno for 2 weeks in October 2011. Could not fault the hotel or staff who were always helpful. The location of the hotel is excellent for train stations 5 min walk to San Rossaro and 20mins to Central or 5 mins on a bus. The breakfast was very good with plenty choice, we only ate twice in the resturant in the evening and it was also very good. Excellent Pizza resturant 5 mins walk away called Pisakech.
Would recommend and would definately stay again

Room Tip: We had a room at the back and it was very quiet
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mairi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,404)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Bonanno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

480 - 486 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

Everything very good including thé price being a 4*. Only neg comment are thé rooms a bit small. Staff is fantastic and makes you feel at home. We ate dinner also and were pleasantly surprised as thé restaurant isn't thé busiest. I know where to stay now in pisa

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorikketz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The hotel Bonanno is a good choice of hotel if you must visit Pisa.
Why? because it is a few minutes' walk from Pisa railway station (opposite the hotel, walk under the underpass and continue down to the river, then cross the bridge to reach the station). It is also a short and inexpensive taxi ride from the airport if you can get a cab as there are very few and the wait is long especially late at night which is the only time when it is worth taking a taxi rather than using the train.
The hotel is modern. It is located ina residential district, and you can walk to the Duomo and the Leaning Tower quickly and easily. Right by a busy main road and adjacent to the railway line, the hotel is not pretty, but it is clean and adequate.
But why would you want to stay in Pisa? Surely only when you arrive on a late flight and have no time to travel to Florence. There's not much to do when you have seen all the buildings around the Duomo, and you can do that with a multiple ticket in a full day.
Best to stay in Florence (and hope there is not one of those Italian strikes that stop the trains unexpectedly for a whole day).

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had arranged for the hotel courtesy bus to collect us from Pisa airport and drive us the 15 minutes journey back to the hotel, which went without a hitch. We did make the mistake of paying the driver €5 each (which was the price they quoted on their website) although when we came to check out the cost of the pickup was added to our bill. We did wonder why he seemed so pleased - obviously was the best tip he had received in a while! However, we put that one down to experience...

Our rooms were perfectly adequate. The windows had large blackout curtains so we were not awoken at sunrise (a pet hate of mine). The bed was a bit on the hard side but did not stop me from sleeping comfortably. We were facing the side of the hotel (some train tracks and a road) although were not disturbed by street noise.

It is situated on the outskirts of the centre of Pisa although Pisa is very easy to walk around (and there were free street maps available on reception). We were no more than 10 minutes walk from the Leaning Tower and about 20 minutes walk to Pisa Central Station (ideal for catching a train out into the Tuscan countryside).

The bar had plenty of tables inside and out, with a good selection of drinks and cocktails.

We did not eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast, which offered the usual buffet selection found in every European hotel. It did let itself down on Sunday morning, which found us rummaging around for clean cutlery and crockery (although the buffet was still plentiful). Perhaps they were short-staffed that morning, I do not know, although normal service was resumed on the Monday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Bee_Middlesex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for a romantic 50th birthday treat and totally loved our stay, although there is a couple of gripes! let me start with the positive! great for easy access to the tower and sights, very pleasant and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, I have a bad back and the bed was superb! we stayed in room 126 which was a corner room - great as we had 2 views! bright and airy, breakfast was amazing - such a choice! pleasant light and airy restaurant, rooms cleaned daily. Sadly, now the gripes - 1.We being very English were disappointed to find NO tea/coffee making facilities in the room. We asked at the reception for a kettle but were told we could get tea/coffee from the bar, although, we did get pots of hot (tepid) water to take up to the room! we soon remedied this by buying a kettle! (it was slightly leaning - so we made this into our souvenir of Pisa!!)
2. I am very sensitive towards 'bites', now, I don't know whether they were mosquito bites or vistors in our bed! as my Husband also got bitten -he never gets bites! There is no info anywhere about mosquitoes in Pisa, plus I mainly got bitten down one side! so make of it what you will. I did mention this to the staff and they became quite defensive - which is understandable, but it doesn't mean the place is dirty or unclean to have such vistors. We would stay there again if they did tea and coffee in the room otherwise we would not stay there.

Room Tip: Room 126 was a lovely, but without the visitors in the bed if they were from there.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Hotel Bonanno was offered as part of a deal through Last Minute, and it was good value for money, the rooms were reasonable and the buffet breakfast okay, but be aware that it is situated right by a busy underpass and if you get a room facing the front it is quite noisy. But in general the location of the hotel was good for access to the Leaning Tower and the Piazza del Duomo, and we booked the hotel minibus for the transfer to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, not facing the busy underpass.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stayed at Grand Hotel Bonanno for two nights.

I will start with the positive. The rooms are large and clean. I would compare it to a middle of the road hotel chain. Its a couple of minutes from a station and a short walk from the main train station. The Leaning Tower is also a short walk.

The breakfasts were fantastic. It was great to have hot options. There were so many options and breakfast started early so we had time to eat before going to the airport. The rooms had sky tv which meant there were a number of English channels and the option to change the language of programs if available.

What I really didn't like about this hotel was the lack of sound proofing. We didn't have a decent sleep either night. We could hear every word from our neighbours. One side was having an arguement late night however even when talking at a normal level could be heard clearly. The person the other side had a horrible cough. Outside two dogs barked all night. It sounded right outside our room even though we were on the third floor. I have stayed in hotels with poor sound proofing before but never on this level.

It was also disappointing that wifi was not available and internet had a charge.

I would not stay at this hotel again. It has a lot going for it but a good nights sleep is a must for me.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel_fuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
4.6 km away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,727 reviews
1.2 km away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.4 km away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,885 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
1.3 km away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#6 of 68 in Pisa
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bonanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonanno

Address: Via Carlo Francesco Gabba 17, 56122, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: $91 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonanno 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Grand Hotel Bonanno is just 800 mt from the Leaning Tower and the old town center, strategically placed near the main road of access to the town. The Hotel has 89 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, minibar, hair dryer and safe.Furthermore the hotel has a free private parking area, perfect for your trip in Tuscany. Monuments, university, railway station, motorway, the Galileo Galilei International Airport, and the Congress Hall are not far away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonanno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Hotel Bonanno Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing