We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical place for a Taste of Tuscany”
Review of B&B Ponte a Nappo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Ponte a Nappo
Ranked #20 of 66 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical place for a Taste of Tuscany”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We spent 5 nights at the farmhouse, arriving at 4.00pm. The family were very welcoming and apologized for the Italian bureaucracy by which they were governed. Our bags were carried to our room, which was beautiful with stunning views. A delicious bottle of wine and a bowl of olives served on the stunning terrace, completed our first evening. Breakfast, consisting of a wonderful Tuscan buffet, including a choice of cereals, yoghourts and croissants, meats, cheeses and bruschetta followed by 2 types of croissants and various cakes all served on the terrace started the day. Francesco was very helpful poring over the map of about where to go and what to see. Carla served a delicious impromptu supper for us one evening on the terrace and gave us a lift up to her favourite restaurant another evening. All in all a wonderful time in a lovely b&b with delightful hosts in a stunning location. A must to experience.

Room Tip: We preferred the farmhouse but made friends with a Polish couple who were staying in San Gimignano a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    34
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
81
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We spent 3 nights at Ponte a Nappo about a 15 minute walk up a hill to San Gimignano. The website gives great information about the rooms and we had selected the "white room" with a view of San Gimignano from our window. We hadn't expected the view to be as ideal as it was!
In every direction the views are magnificent - with rolling hills of vineyards, olive trees, and a few scattered houses. Yes, it's an uphill, 15 minute walk along a dirt road to get to San Gimignano, but that's the real local countryside. We wanted the peacefulness and beauty of the country but also wanted proximity to a city - this was the ideal spot! The room had a fridge so we took advantage of the gorgeous patio beside the swimming pool, bought some cheeses, bread, fruit, wine at the large supermarket right near the San Gimignano gate, and enjoyed a wonderful picnic lunch.
The hotel is owned by Carla and although she doesn't live there, she was at the hotel every day - as was Francesco, Carla's son, whose English is terrific. Francesco gave us good information about where to buy groceries, and directions to places we wanted to visit. We should have paid more attention to his instruction on how to find the hotel. If you see the COOP big supermarket you are very close to the road that goes down to the hotel.

Carla and her family, including 2 lovely grandchildren, were often there, and we felt as though we were like guests staying in a rural Italian home!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArleneToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Let us start with the big positives - after 2 weeks of touring Tuscany, we still could not imagine a more picture-perfect location than this. The house lies a few hundred metres from the city walls of San Gimignano, so that the city is silhouetted against the skyline above the B&B, with, on all other sides, almost ludicrously pretty countryside of rolling hills covered in vines and olives. Also there is a lovely pool with immaculately kept gardens around so that there is plenty of room to move a variety of high quality loungers, deck-chairs and sun-umbrellas around a range of patio, lawn and orchard areas. Very spacious, very pleasant.

So far so good - so why the 2* review for what sounds like a 5* property?

The answer is the attitude of the owners, which appears to be to treat visitors as somewhere between a nuisance and an intruder on their property and their time.

We arrived on a scorching hot afternoon (40 degrees C), having e-mailed in advance to confirm our arrival time, as the B&B requests. We arrived to find no-one to greet us. We waited 40 minutes in boiling heat, trying to contact the owners by mobile phone, and also receiving assistance from some of their Italian friends who were round the pool and who also tried to contact them for us, to be told that they would be there in '5 minutes' - they weren't.

We accept that accidents like this happen. However, when the son of the owning family eventually arrived, his opening words were 'I need your passports', rather than 'I'm very sorry, I was delayed' which, in the circumstances, might have been more appropriate.

This might seem like a relatively minor incident, but it is absolutely symptomatic of how guests were treated during their stay. We were told when we checked in that there is a bar -'just ask one of the staff if you want something', but the staff lock up and disappear for hours at a time to look after their other properties so, to me, that isn't a bar. Nor is their usually anyone to ask about any other query you might have.

There is a menu for lunch, but no prices, or any indication of when it is served.

There is NO information about the town in the rooms or in the house, which seems like a major omission for a lodging 1000m from a world heritage site.

There was a safe in our room, but no indication of how to get a key for it.

In summary, there is an almost total lack of information about where you are and how things work. This is fine if there is someone around to ask questions of - but there usually isn't. When we did occasionally find someone to ask even the simplest question of, we felt as if we were regarded as a nuisance.

Overall, this could be a truly idyllic and exceptional spot but, with the attitude of the current staff, we felt uncomfortable and unwanted and it really took the shine off our stay, so that we are hesitant to recommend it to others. .

A message to the people who run the place - either provide information to your guests about your location and the way you work or 'shock horror' actually find time to talk to them. They want to appreciate the lovely place where you live and, if you take some time to spend with them, both sides will benefit from the experience.

Some other relevant facts.

The Ponte e Nappo is about 1km (1/2 mile) walk up a dusty, hilly lane to San Gimignano. We (50 and 60 years) found this to be a 15 minute walk and very pleasant even in very hot sunshine and did it every day, sometimes twice. Note, though, that you won't want to walk it if you are less mobile, in high heels, or wearing black clothing.

Bedrooms have air-conditioning and are reasonably roomy, although with relatively little storage space (1 wardrobe, no drawers). Bedrooms actually look better than the photos on the website. Very well-fitted and equipped bathrooms. There is a small fridge in the room, but no glasses, plates, or cutlery.

The one bit of info you actually find in your room is that breakfast is from 8:30-10:00 and is a very civilised affair on the roomy, shady patio, with a decent choice of cold cuts, cakes and breads, .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DXB
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We came across this property while driving through the country roads around San Gimignano looking at the countryside on our way to Pisa from Florence. Came across this property which looked gorgeous, saw the rooms, location and fell for it. The price seemed a bit steep but we were okay with it. Everything about the property, food and the experience was exactly as described by other travellers here, BUT things got a bit iffy at night when the airconditioners did not work on a warm night. Slept with the windows open though we were concerned about safety. Was told on inquiry the next morning that a/c is a chargeable 'extra' on top of the Euro 140 for the room. As it turned out, several other things are extra so be careful about these when you negotiate the price. THe people though are very friendly, the food is fresh and the overall experience incredible.

Room Tip: Almost all of them are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

4 of us stayed at the B&B farmhouse. The views of the rolling tuscany hills are AMAZING, the photos do not do it justice. The apartment was removed from the hustle and bustle but at a great location just outside the walls, very clean and yard meticulously maintained by Carla and her 2 sons who were very accomodating (and cute). They hosted an outdoor dinner on Saturday night, it was 30 euro pp, we werent sure what to expect but it was one of the best meals we had during our 2 week trip. 4 courses with wine they make flowing, def worth every penny! Dont pass it up. The one and only complaint we have, which seemed to be common at all the places we stayed in Italy, were the pillows-they are pancakes. Also, there's no hairdryer which we didnt realize.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mera713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Our most recent stay was in the fall of 2010, but we have stayed in various of the Rossi family's accomodations many times over the last 20 years. Each of their places in San Gimignano has its own particular charm. They are all immaculately cleaned and maintained. The furnishings are comfortable and appropriate to the overall feel of rural Tuscany. Carla, Francesco, and Andrea are helpful and friendly without smothering you. The town and the countryside around it are mind-blowingly lovely, spectacular, gorgeous, historical, healthy... I could go on and on.

San Gimiganan itself can be a bit crowded with day tourists, but in the early morning and after 5 in the afternoon, it feels like you are living in a castle with only a few other visitors, and what a castle the whole town is!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelfoucault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We (my wife and another couple) all agreed that this was a fantastic place to stay and a highlight of our trip. We stayed at Palazzo Tortoli and had 2 rooms on the 2nd floor. First, if you are going to Tuscany, San Gimignano is a "must see" and as far as all of us were concerned this was a good place to travel out from. You will NOT be disappointed here. Great people! If you want other details email me at ... morog@aol.com

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmorog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
1.2 km away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
614 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 30 in San Gimignano
612 reviews
7.1 km away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 30 in San Gimignano
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Podere Montese
Podere Montese
#29 of 66 in San Gimignano
112 reviews
5.9 km away
Casolare di Libbiano
Casolare di Libbiano
#7 of 66 in San Gimignano
331 reviews
2.1 km away
La Fornace di Racciano
La Fornace di Racciano
#11 of 107 in San Gimignano
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ponte a Nappo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ponte a Nappo

Property: B&B Ponte a Nappo
Address: Via Vecchia 66 | Localita Ponte a Nappo, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Busini Rossi Carla Holiday, the bed and breakfast of San Gimignano that offers 9 options of great prestige, scattered between the countryside and the historical centre of a wonderful UNESCO World Heritage hamlet. From the olive trees, the vineyards, and the swimming pool of the Ponte a Nappo country house, to the medieval charm of Palazzo Tortoli a short walk from the beautiful towers: rooms and apartments equipped with every comfort, finely furnished to preserve the authentic taste of a holiday in the heart of Tuscany. A truly magical bed and breakfast of San Gimignano where you can enjoy an experience rich in art, history and culture, home cooking and fine wines, relaxation, sun, and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Ponte a Nappo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Ponte a Nappo
b&b Ponte a Nappo Hotel San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing