We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Honeymoon”
other travellers have booked this property
restored farmhouse 8 minutes outside San Gimignano
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
restored farmhouse 8 minutes outside San Gimignano
large south-facing pool set in Tuscan countryside, wooded valleys, hilly vineyards
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
restored farmhouse 8 minutes outside San Gimignano
large south-facing pool
set in Tuscan countryside, wooded valleys, hilly vineyards
set on a quiet wooded hill-side, on the road between San Gimignano and Volterra
child-friendly, comfortable and clean - with fireplace, WiFi and TV/DVD
dining area seats 8 people indoors, and another 6 outdoors...
shaded outdoor eating area, overlooking the pool...
2 double bedrooms, plus day-bed
the day-bed in the larger of the two bedrooms, and some complimentary holiday reading...
one king-sized bed, a queen-sized bed and a day-bed...
modern bathroom and shower-room - one is ensuite, both have bidets
tableware for 6
locally made 'vernaccia' under the shady pergola on your own terrace
kitchen with stove, dishwasher, toaster, kettle and small oven
the pantry, off the kitchen - all clean, bright and charming...
pool with showers, solarium and BBQ pits
set on 10 acres of wooded hillside with paths for children to explore
Located on SP47, nestled on a wooded hillside between SanGimignano and Castel SanGimignano
less than 10 minutes' drive from San Gimignano, and 25 minutes from Volterra...
wide range of family-friendly affordable local restaurants, only minutes away
San Gimignano Farmers' Market every Saturday morning
view from walls of San Gimignano towards LeFontanelle
30 minute drive from beautiful Volterra, of 'Twilight' vampire fame
a good selection of family DVDs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Honeymoon”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2014

We spent 7 days of our honeymoon at La Fontanelle relaxing in the comfortable apartment after spending our days and evening exploring the Tuscan countryside. We loved the central location, so close to San Gimignano and other hilltop towns. We adored spending our early evenings sipping wine overlooking the lush valley before heading out to dinner in one of the nearby towns. The beds were completely comfortable and the apartment was clean and well stocked with everything we might need. We will definitely stay at La Fonatenelle again next time we are in Tuscany! A second honeymoon maybe? We have recommended the location to many of our friends, without hesitation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very easy to book, and there were no hassels.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glyn A A
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Property has a real Tuscan feel right up in the hills amongst vinyards for the real experience”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The property has 2 double bedrooms in the cool downstairs with 2 bathrooms. There is a large single Living/Dining/Kitchen room upstairs decorated in keeping with the tuscan style. With the hill breeze and the the Tuscan design dont worry about the lack of Aircon. Everything is clean and Kristina the owner is friendly to deal with. Its the perfect location for Pisa, Florence and Siena but you will need to drive everywhere there is nothing in walking distance.There is a bed sofa upstairs if you have two teenagers of different sex but I would consider if thats ok for you. Our lot were happy. The caretaker Alesandro is not very accessable and dosnt speak English but the property is in good condition so you hardly need him. All in all one of our best holidays ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and layout of property which overlooked the pool
Liked least: Site manager never introduced himself and was nt very available resulting in us leaving a couple of things un fixed.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great location for exploring Siena, San Gim, Volterra etc.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

La Fontanelle is extremely low-key establishment, we arrived, signed in with the owners and then didn't really see them for the rest of the week! For us this was absolutely fine, although some information about the area and a map would have been appreciated had they been on offer!

Our apartment was extremely clean, comfortable and spacious. There were 5 of us in a three bedroom apartment and there was plenty of room. The pool is shared amongst all the apartments but we found that we had it to ourselves for the majority of the time. Our apartment had a small private outside area too which was perfect for lunches.

La Fontanelle is situated about a 10 minute drive from San Gimignano, we found a taxi service locally who took us in and picked us up to take us home in the evenings (20 Euro each way, probably over-priced but between 5 we didn't mind!) but also had a rented car for day trips. San Gimignano itself is a great place to be near to, it has enough restaurants, bars and sites to keep you amused for a week or so. We also did day trips to Siena (30/40 mins drive) and Volterra (20 mins drive), which were both fantastic and very easy to look around in a day. It was also great to be only a one hour drive to Pisa airport, making the journey to and from the UK far more pleasant.

Our only concerns about the apartment were that we weren't given very good directions so it took asking a few locals to find it, it would be great if the owners could supply a map as it is easy from San Gimignano once you know where it is! Also, the drive down to the parking area is extremely slippery, our hire car struggled to get out each time, I think they could probably do with addressing this!

All in all it was a great base to explore some beautiful towns and also supplied us with a very relaxing break by the pool with a lovely Tuscan view in the background. I read some reviews previously that claimed the road was a nuisance but I really didn't find this an issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Drive
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed December 7, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, level of comfort, facilities
Liked least: occasionally the internet access -as in much of Italy- was inconsistant
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
EyeforTra...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Emotions”
Reviewed July 21, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived with family with 3 young kids on a Saturday at 4 pm, our appartment was not ready and although these things can happen an additional 1,5 hours to clean with a moderate result was dissappointing . Location at first is beautiful however after the first day of stay we discovered a few negatives; 1)poor kitchen equipement (no bowls, cleaning/drying towels, wine glasses, breadknive, bottle opener etc etc) 2) Terrible noise transmission from adjacent appartments and from street cars, 3) no garden beds (relax chairs) or umbrella, poorly equipped garden seating without cushens. The beds are great though and really comfortable (despite the noise from your neighbours)
Also positive is the internet connection (why is it by the way normal to pay in rental appartments and annoying to have to pay in hotels:-) All in all, kids loved it, great place to discover Toscany but very poorly equipped (and some broken goods).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad your stay was positive overall and that your three children had a wonderful time. I wish you had contacted me during your stay to let me know that you couldn't find wine-glasses and bottle-opener. I would have been more than happy to get whatever items you were missing, probably delivered that same day. There's a photo on the HolidayLettings/TripAdvisor advert of the red Chinese cabinet in the living room, well-stocked with wine-glasses and dish-towels, bowls and a bottle-opener. And I have been able to confirm that guests who arrived in August - the week after you? - found everything they were looking for. My apologies if these were for some reason not there during your stay. You praised the quality of the wireless internet connection. But I'm not sure whether your feedback implies that you had to pay for this WiFi? Our advert clearly says "free Wi-Fi", and again the other guests I've reached have confirmed they were given a username and password for free. If you did pay, possibly the caretakers were not understanding that you were staying in our place - where the WiFi has already been pre-paid annually. If you let me know who you are, I would be happy to refund that 10 euro charge. And again, I'm glad that you enjoyed your holiday overall. Best wishes, Kristina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing