We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run, very friendly”
Review of Hotel le Volpaie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Volpaie
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2017

If you are stay for more than a few days do not opt for a standard room they are a little basic. The pool area is lovely. Breakfast is excellent if booking with Expedia be aware we booked B&B they did not sort it out correctly.
Great location for seeing the sight of Tuscany but away from the crowd in fantastic scenery.

Room Tip: If staying for a while do not chose a standard room, great for a day or two only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 7 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2016

I need to confess I booked this hotel by mistake. Visiting San Gimigniano I was looking for a place with parking. I found this place but not noted that was in Castel San Gimigniano that is 12 kms from San Gimigniano.
But what a surprise.

The way from San Gimigniano until the hotel is beautiful, giving a glance from nice Tuscany, just 10 minutes very pleasent, and easy to go.

Reception: familiar hotel, with very nice people, with several tips, like visit San Gimigniano after 4 PM where most of bus tourits had gone and enjoying sunset time.
Indicated restaurants as well, and one very close Three Arc was fantastic.

Room: very large, with great shower and large bed, and wifi.

Breakfast: fantastic, the best I had in my trip, with local cheese, hams, and candys... it means a typical Tuscany´s breakfast. in a great field environment.

Super recommend the hotel, it was a nice positive suprise.

Room Tip: In first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Breakfast Hotel le Volpaie for 3 nights during our recent visit to Tuscany. We loved the central location for visiting nearby towns and the town of Castel San Gimingnano was wonderful to stroll around when we needed to relax at the end of the day. The breakfast was superior! Lots of Tuscan specialties and the hosts were charming. I would definitely recommend this Hotel if you want a nice retreat in Tuscany.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank P3919QTjimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016

As mentioned in other reviews, this hotel is located in "Castel" San Gimignano and not San Gimignano.

- perfect base for exploring Tuscany
- large clean comfortable rooms (some with balconies)
- great breakfast with lots of variety
- swimming pool
- free parking
- Anna (owner) warm and friendly, always making sure things were ok
- 3 minute walk from the hotel is great restaurant called Ristorante Tre Archi

- Lucca (Anna's husband, is all business, serious and does not engage with his guests
- There is little else to do in "Castel" S. G.

All in all we would have no hesitation in returning, or recommending. Great place and excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor with balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GastonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a MUST stop if you are visiting this area. The owners were at perfect example of true hospitality. The other reviews are very true. They provided, in our opinion the very best breakfast on our Italy trip. Accommodations were spotless . We upgraded to rooms with balconies, which was a great choice. The town is very small, but a great base to San gimignano and volterre. Looking forward to returning next summer with my brothers !!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bringontheheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Convenient hotel with a good location for visiting Toscany by car .Easy to reach all the sites in the area. Good value for the money. Friendly stafff and helpfull. Nice pool and a beautiful garden. Free parking and free internet

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex they have a private patio(balcony).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel081969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Be careful if you are trying to be close to San Gimignano - this hotel is in the village of Castel San Gimignano, 20 minutes drive away. The advert for the hotel in Booking dot com is a bit misleading, to say the least. You need a car, as many people have pointed out. The location of the hotel is great for getting out and about in the area, but there is little in the way of attractions or restaurants and hotels on foot.

I agree with so many comments made here. The hotel is wonderfully clean, and the beds are quite firm, in the Italian fashion. The breakfast is great. The pool is cold, but great to cool down in.

I was interested to read the comments from the loan woman from Australia, who felt the owner might be a bit unaccepting of ethnic minorities. We received the same cold shoulder from Luca, but Anna was really warm to us. We are whiter than white Scots, burning instantly in the sun, so it was not a case of discrimination for us. I speak Italian too, so it was not a language thing. I just thought he was really grumpy, and it is perhaps time for him to take a back of house role! Then I thought, what is the difference between us and the other customers? We have a five year old! No, surely not in a country that loves and accepts children?

Anyway, he was just downright rude towards us, in a bizarre and surreal manner when contrasted to his wife, who bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. Very incongruous.

He huffed and puffed when asked for an ice bucket for our Prosecco. He grunted whenever I asked for anything in polite Italian, and insisted in answering back in his broken English.

We had a long day on the morning we checked out, and when I asked what time we had to check out he grunted 10.30. That was unfortunate, because the next morning when I handed in the keys his lovely wife suggested we stayed and used the pool for as long as we liked. I should have approached her the evening before...

In summary, Luca is like Basil Fawlty without the energy or humour, and should really step back. Or maybe he should just make clear that children (and perhaps young women travelling on their own, and perhaps of an ethnic minority - see the other reviewer who had a similar experience) are not welcome.

I lived in Italy for many years and have travelled in Italy for the last thirty years and have never been made to feel so unwelcome by a hotelier.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JBoyLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volpaie, Proprietario at Hotel le Volpaie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016
Google Translation

Grazie signore, tutto vero però come tutte le cose della vita ad ogni reazione c'è una motivazione. Ci refletta signore, come ho riflettuto io.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
3.8 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#7 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,277 reviews
7.1 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
642 reviews
9.8 km away
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Hotel Pescille
Hotel Pescille
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
364 reviews
12 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
672 reviews
6.6 km away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#13 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Volpaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Volpaie

Address: Via Nuova 9 | Castel San Gimignano, 53030, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: $120 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Volpaie 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel le Volpaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Volpaie Hotel
Le Volpaie San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing