We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
121
60
14
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
60
14
3
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 198 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2016

I need to confess I booked this hotel by mistake. Visiting San Gimigniano I was looking for a place with parking. I found this place but not noted that was in Castel San Gimigniano that is 12 kms from San Gimigniano.
But what a surprise.

The way from San Gimigniano until the hotel is beautiful, giving a glance from nice Tuscany, just 10 minutes very pleasent, and easy to go.

Reception: familiar hotel, with very nice people, with several tips, like visit San Gimigniano after 4 PM where most of bus tourits had gone and enjoying sunset time.
Indicated restaurants as well, and one very close Three Arc was fantastic.

Room: very large, with great shower and large bed, and wifi.

Breakfast: fantastic, the best I had in my trip, with local cheese, hams, and candys... it means a typical Tuscany´s breakfast. in a great field environment.

Super recommend the hotel, it was a nice positive suprise.

Room Tip: In first floor
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Breakfast Hotel le Volpaie for 3 nights during our recent visit to Tuscany. We loved the central location for visiting nearby towns and the town of Castel San Gimingnano was wonderful to stroll around when we needed to relax at the end of the day. The breakfast was superior! Lots of Tuscan specialties and the hosts were charming. I would definitely recommend this Hotel if you want a nice retreat in Tuscany.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank P3919QTjimg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2016

As mentioned in other reviews, this hotel is located in "Castel" San Gimignano and not San Gimignano.

Pros:
- perfect base for exploring Tuscany
- large clean comfortable rooms (some with balconies)
- great breakfast with lots of variety
- swimming pool
- free parking
- Anna (owner) warm and friendly, always making sure things were ok
- 3 minute walk from the hotel is great restaurant called Ristorante Tre Archi

Cons:
- Lucca (Anna's husband, is all business, serious and does not engage with his guests
- There is little else to do in "Castel" S. G.

All in all we would have no hesitation in returning, or recommending. Great place and excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor with balcony view.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GastonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a MUST stop if you are visiting this area. The owners were at perfect example of true hospitality. The other reviews are very true. They provided, in our opinion the very best breakfast on our Italy trip. Accommodations were spotless . We upgraded to rooms with balconies, which was a great choice. The town is very small, but a great base to San gimignano and volterre. Looking forward to returning next summer with my brothers !!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Bringontheheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2016

Convenient hotel with a good location for visiting Toscany by car .Easy to reach all the sites in the area. Good value for the money. Friendly stafff and helpfull. Nice pool and a beautiful garden. Free parking and free internet

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex they have a private patio(balcony).
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel081969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews