We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Utterly charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casolare di Libbiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casolare di Libbiano
Ranked #4 of 64 San Gimignano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Utterly charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at Casolare Libbiano for 4 nights. It could not have been more wonderful. The house is beautiful inside and out with lots of interesting art and sculpture. The second floor living room has a fascinating bookcase, for you book lovers out there. It is located 3 km off a main road, on a pebble filled, winding road within a park preserve so if you want quiet & isolation, this is the place (translation-you need a car to go anywhere.) Our room was beautiful and the bathroom was small but adequate (we found most bathrooms in Italy to be small.) We didn't need a/c in October and we're not sure if they have it in the hotter months. Our hosts, Berta and Andrea, were gracious and attended to our every need. Breakfast was quite nice - meats & cheeses, selection of pastries, cereal, fresh fruit, nothing hot, but quite enough. One morning when my husband had indigestion, Andrea offered to cook him an egg and did so. This B&B now offers dinner (reservations in advance) and we reserved one night. It was a gourmet delight and at first we thought it was on the expensive side, but if you drive into San Gimigiano you must pay to park, so it comes out about the same. I personally am not fond of the new trend in some B&B's of serving gourmet meals instead of simple home cooking but that's probably just me. The Chianti wine country is located nearby and Sienna is about 1 hour away. We highly recommend Casolare Libbiano.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedewnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    31
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
82
153
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I, along with another couple, spent the last few days of our trip to Italy at Il Casolare di Libbiano in July, 2011. I had chosen this place for us, and was nervous, knowing that our group is extremely picky about where we stay. We were totally delighted with this place! It is about 8km outside of San Gimignano, with a good portion of the drive on an unpaved "road to nowhere", but upon arrival, you are in the middle of a beautiful little paradise. Il Casolare is composed of several buildings. The main, two-story house has 4-5 rooms (can't remember exactly). Another small building about ten steps away from the main house has a small entryway, a bedroom and a bathroom. There is a third, larger house, a bit further removed from the main house. All is clean and tastefully appointed, truly lovely. Outside, you are surrounded by the Tuscan countryside. There are tables and lounging chairs around the grounds, to simply relax and enjoy the scenery. There is also a small pool which we enjoyed as a break from the afternoon heat. Andrea and Berta were gracious, accommodating hosts.

I also made the decision to eat there our first night, and again, I looked like a genius. The meal was incredible! A four course, gourmet indulgence. When it was time to decide where to eat the next night, our friend's birthday, there was no debate...she chose to stay and eat at Il Casolare; again we had a delectable feast. And, upon my request earlier in the day, the chef made our friend a special dessert for her birthday, a mouthwatering almond cream torte.

I would not hesitate to recommend Il Casolare di Libbiano to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tootsOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Our recent stay at Casolare di Libbiano was a memorable highlight of our recent Italy vacation. Andrea & Berta are warm hosts who seem to truly enjoy having you as their guests. The beautiful grounds are well maintained, as are the guestrooms. We stayed in the very quiet “Verde” room. Not to be missed are the gourmet four course evening meals that are prepared fresh each day using vegetables and herbs from the garden. Breakfast is also excellent as well. Be aware that the driveway is not paved; so keep that in mind if you are renting a car.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at Il Casolare di Libbiano for just one night to break up our journey to Pisa for the flight home. The 2 mile drive down a long track was worthwhile on arrival at a beautiful woodland setting and beautiful gardens. A friendly welcome by Mario and shown to our room - authentic, comfortable, immaculately clean and the most crisp white sheets I can remember sleeping on! We had pre-booked for the full service dinner and I would highly recommend this. Apart from the simplicity of just wandering through the lovely gardens then through to dinner, everything was delicious. Sadly we were away too early to enjoy breakfast - there's always next time...We would highly recommend a stay at Il Casolare.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Here comes another great review for Casolare di Libbiano. I stayed for 3 nights in Sept 2011 and found everything to be as good as all the other reviews. Breakfast and light lunches were great but the dinners created by the chef - well I can't think of a superlative to do them justice! The variety and the flavours!! Andrea, Mario, Antonia and the other lady on staff whose name I can't remember - sorry - were all friendly and helpful. The room was clean and beautifully furnished, the bed comfortable. The pool area was well maintained with plenty of sun lounges and the gardens gorgeous. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annette_melb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Bernardo Do Campo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

It is located in a very beautiful place in Toscana, very near to San Gemignano city.

We stayed in a very confortable and silent room.

Complete breakfast served partially by the owner, who have always been very attentive, cheerful and kind with us.

We loved to have our full service dinners listening to Vivaldi and Bach, drinking a good local wine and talking about the places we were visiting.

Room Tip: Please ask for the room at back of house, downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

No television, No Wi-Fi, No news, No papers No sound. Perfection. Awaking from our afternoon siesta, following Mario’s leisurely lunches, accompanied of course with a bottle of local wine, we awake to the sound of singing coming from the kitchen as chef Costantino prepares the next evening meal which we eagerly await, the smell is amazing. Time for an hour or two around the garden and pool listening to nothing. Change and shower and await the drifting sound of classical music which denotes dinner is served. No menu choice, but at this stage my mind couldn’t cope with decisions, but no issues here, each of the four courses results in many ummm’s and ahhh’s from our family, food simply couldn’t be better. Service from Andrea and Berta is passionate if relaxed, but who isn’t at this stage. The evening ends with a coffee served in the comfortable lounge and time to bed and a good night’s sleep in comfortable rustic surroundings, readying for breakfast and another morning of exploring this wonderful part of Italy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
6.4 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
5.1 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#4 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
3.5 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#5 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
8.1 km away
Torraccia di Chiusi
Torraccia di Chiusi
#3 of 64 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casolare di Libbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casolare di Libbiano

Property: Casolare di Libbiano
Address: Localita Libbiano 3, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Gimignano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casolare di Libbiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casolare Di Libbiano Hotel San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing