We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade”
Review of Caffe Giardino

Caffe Giardino
Ranked #16 of 135 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a little special family run eaterie. You can eat and drink here from 7am for breakfast untill 7.30Pm. We have sandwiches with our homemade bread (schiacciata), bruschetta and big salads with seasonal products and some wonderful pastas. If you would like to book, we are happy to oblige. Thanks and we look forward to seeing you soon. Francesca and Sandro
Reviewed October 15, 2017

We were hungry earlier than usual (for Italians at least, 6pm perhaps) and were looking for an easy, fresh meal. We walked into this little place and found exactly what we were looking for. The front part has a deli counter where I believe they serve paninis during lunch. A group of local teens were ordering food at the counter when we arrived (always a good sign that the place you choose is good and authentic!). There are a few tables in the back with specials written on the wall. Soft Sinatra music playing in the background and windows and doors open made for a great atmosphere. The woman (who I believed to be the owner) spent several minutes describing all the specials and helping us pick out exactly what we wanted. She was so kind and did not rush us in the slightest. I ended up with one of the specials that day- panzanella. My husband had the tagliatelle with wild boar. Both were very good, my panzanella especially was so fresh and flavorful! House red wine rounded out the meal. Neither dishes were especially large, but that is exactly what we were looking for that day; a fresh homemade and easy meal.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ssydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frensytina, Proprietario at Caffe Giardino, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

A perfect description! wow!
In the back is our lovely room where we are very happy wen the people sit there because is a special room...magic view and yes!!!! we love Sinatra and jazz music ...Proud you eat Panzanella!!! Tank you so much...hope you come back in Caffè Giardino!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 828 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2017

We stopped in for a quick bite around 2 pm. It's a busy place! We sat at a table in the back, the front is more of a deli. Cute table with a window view looking out. We had a salad and bruschetta. The bruschetta was delicious. Very different from most places. It was a large single piece of toasted thick bread with basil, olive oil , fresh mozzarella and cherry tomatoes. Quite a large portion but yummy. Would defiantly recommend this place for a quick bite. Very small sitting area and I believe it closes about 5-6pm

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank beachgirl-711-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frensytina, Proprietario at Caffe Giardino, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Good morning!
We are open 7.00 am 8.30 pm....people want to eat can reserved no more tan 7.30pm.
Thank you! You eated our special plates....next time i recommend Schiacciata!
Hope see you soon
Enjoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

Have been coming to S Gimignano for years and would not miss a daily visit to enjoy the delights that Francesca and Sandro serve up. For lunch, choose from amazing sandwiches made with their own bread baked daily, fresh pasta, salads, cold meats and a view of the rolling hills. Or have a pastry and coffee quickly up front with the locals early in the morning. Made even more special by being remembered year in year out and greeted like long lost family. Love it here!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank GMJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frensytina, Proprietario at Caffe Giardino, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2018

Grazie, thank youuuuuu!!!
we dont know who you are, but we are so happy if you are our customers from many time! Love you xoxo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

Stop here every morning for a coffee, very friendly service always with a smile. Very popular with the local people
They have a great breakfast and lunch menu. Everything is prepared fresh there is a brilliant vista from the back of the bar. There are lovely pastries to tempt you. Just outside the city walls.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

Came in on the last day of our holidays for lunch. The food was fresh and the staff were so accommodating to our kids. Lovely atmosphere. The host was very attentive and we had a great chat with her about the area.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank raj2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Giardino also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Caffe Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing