We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and staff”
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We stayed here for two weeks in July and could not find fault with this hotel. From the minute we arrived we felt very welcome. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Upon arrival we had a lovely bottle of wine in our room. The bedroom was spotlessly clean and the chambermaids were excellent and looked after our room so well during our stay. We stayed in a room with a patio area overlooking the main pool, it was so comfortable.

The hotel is run by very nice friendly people, nothing was ever too much trouble.

Breakfast was excellent, a great choice of fruit, cereals, cold meats and delicious daily fresh cheeses, everything you could ask for. We ate outside everyday on the lovely patio area.

The swimming pool is immaculate and has a lovely area to relax in, there is also a second pool area which is shallower around the other side of the hotel and this is also lovely.

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to San Gimignano, this is a warm walk in July but the hotel also offer a shuttle service for guests at certain times of the day. We ate at the adjoining Ristorante Da Pode, this is highly recommended with amazing food, so much so that we ate here regularly. The service here was really lovely too.

The hotel is really well situated in peaceful countryside and in a great spot for touring the area.

Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing two weeks.
Julian and John

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the main swimming pool are lovely and there is no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Mrs Julian & Mr John,
thank you very much for your amazing reviw and for having written such a beautiful comment af our hotel and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here in San Gimignano!
It was a great pleasure for us of the family and all the staff to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again !!

Thank you !

yours sincerely
family Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in June. Our room was clean and bed very comfortable. Chose room Overlooking road at end of long driveway, which had lovely terrace and view, but there is little traffic at night and shutters make it so quiet so not disturbed. Breakfast was good, with lots of choice. Pool was excellent and very clean. San Gimiangno only a 30 min stroll away. We had a lovely meal in The hotel restaurant. A great hotel to base yourself to explore San G. and the local area .

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Mrs Alison,
thank you very much for your very nice review and for spending your time to write your opinion, which is very much appreciated from all of us!
Me, my wife and my two daugthers work hard to offer the best service possible to our clients.
Therefore our clients' opinion is always very important..

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

Wishing you a nice summer!!

best regards
Failli family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We loved it here. The staff are so friendly and the whole place it spotless. Rooms are comfortable and have everything you need, there was a great selection at breakfast and the pool areas were good. It's about a 25 minute walk to San Gimignano through olive groves and vineyards but a courtesy bus runs a few times during the day to drive you. The restaurant is really nice too and well worth trying out. We're looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary-Christmas72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Ms Mary,
thank you very much for your beautiful review!
We are very pleased that you liked our hotel and restaurant.
We of the family and the staff were happy to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again!!

Have a nice summer!!

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights on a 21 day trip of Tuscany. The staff is made up of family and locals and they could not have been more helpful or pleasant. All staff work extremely hard and the property is spotless!

Alicia was a joy and always accommodated with a smile! We travelled by train from Florence and she picked us up when we arrived and drove us to the station when we left. San Gimignano is delightful and the climb up is a little challenging but the views are worth it!
We ate at the restaurant on 4 nights and were never disappointed! It has a Michelin star and the chef is the wife/mother. The pool is a great way to relax after a day of sightseeing.

We would definitely recommend Hotel Sevestro and hope to return!

Grazie Mille Sergio and family!

Tom and Siobhan Brewer

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank siobhan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Mr & Mrs Brewer
thank you for your beautiful review.
We were all very happy to welcome you in San Gimignano and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and restaurant.
Your opinion is very important for us and we try to make our clients satisfied and happy.
Me and my family and all the staff hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano!

yours sincerely
Alessia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

A really lovely, restful.rural locaton just 2kms southeast of San Gimignano on the road to Poggibonsi. Only about 60 bedrooms over max two levels. The two story section has a wonderful central area with helical grand stairway and book supply. Well done whoever designed this!Room grand if perhaps slightly dated. Beakfast is heavy with sweet pastries. Good coffee machines which also give boiling water. Cold meats and two cheeses as well as cereals - but no big spoons! Jugs would be a useful addition and maybe scrambled eggs too. Really lovely outdoor breakfast patio... The restaurant menu was about as good as other restaurants we used. The indoor dining area is varied with some nice areas. Wouldn't want to eat there every night and couldn't rave about Tuscan wines. €2.50 Cover charge per person... Hotel staff pleasant but don't have a lot of English. Fridge, kettle and tea requisites in bedrooms. Very pleasant outdoor areas with generous sun shade...I got very sick immediately after dinner on the first night. No interest shown why and was charged for that meal. To be fair, my husband was unaffected by the very same meal. Asked for and received a plain omelette next evening which was not a menu item. No cover charge added for that! Would recommend overall.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank _mary_osullivan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Mrs O'Sullivan,
thank you for your nice review and for having written your opinion about your stay in our hotel and restaurant.
We are pleased that you had a nice stay with us and we are sorry if that night you felt sick!
We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

best regards
the Failli family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel Sovestro is a small, somewhat quaint hotel on the outskirts of San Gimignano. Although surrounded by the most beautiful scenery in Tuscany, our room was somewhat close to the road and there was some noise.
The rooms are small with a little patio area; however, that area is small and very close to neighbors in the adjoining rooms. Still, there is a refrigerator in the room, the rooms are quite clean, and their are nice seating areas outside of the rooms to sit with friends.
Breakfast was good, with plenty of variety and tasty food. There is an outdoor seating area to eat breakfast, and there is what appears to be a decent outdoor pool at this hotel.
Hotel Sovestro would be a fun place for families with children with the pool, good breakfast, and restaurant (although we didn't eat at the restaurant.)
Be sure to take some photos of the beautiful vineyards and hills, some of the prettiest views in Italy.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shawna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Clients,
thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are pleased to read that you had a nice holiday in our hotel and that you appreciated our service and our property.

We are glad that you also enjoyed the tuscna countryside around San Gimignano and we hope you will always remember your holiday with pleasure.

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,
best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We stayed one evening in a standard double room which had a wardrobe, small safe, one luggage rack, small desk, fridge, chair, comfortable bed and bed tables. The bathroom was small by American standards with a small shower and heat rack. The light was poor and we did not find a coffee or tea maker in the room, unlike the description. Wifi worked well. Breakfast was generous! pastries, cakes, tarts, in addition to the typical salami, cheeses, tomatoes, fruits, juices, and coffee. The hotel is about 2 KM below San Gimignano and easy to find. Parking there is also easy. Since we were off season, we drove up to the parking lots just outside the San Gimignano gates to see the town. In season, the hotel runs a shuttle. This is a large hotel with a restaurant and other amenities.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Customers,
thank you very much for your beautiful review,
This is very important for us, because we are always trying do do our best to satisfy our clients.

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.7 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,341 reviews
5.0 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
666 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
7.1 km away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: $133 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing