We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
464
196
24
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
196
24
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ristorante da great hotel main pool hotel restaurant is quiet hotel breakfast buffet is very pleasant stay cold meats nice pool walk into town rental car min drive large bathroom visit san gimignano private terrace dirt road wild boar
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 687 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in June. Our room was clean and bed very comfortable. Chose room Overlooking road at end of long driveway, which had lovely terrace and view, but there is little traffic at night and shutters make it so quiet so not disturbed. Breakfast was good, with lots of choice. Pool was excellent and very clean. San Gimiangno only a 30 min stroll away. We had a lovely meal in The hotel restaurant. A great hotel to base yourself to explore San G. and the local area .

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Dear Mrs Alison,
thank you very much for your very nice review and for spending your time to write your opinion, which is very much appreciated from all of us!
Me, my wife and my two daugthers work hard to offer the best service possible to our clients.
Therefore our clients' opinion is always very important..

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

Wishing you a nice summer!!

best regards
Failli family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

We loved it here. The staff are so friendly and the whole place it spotless. Rooms are comfortable and have everything you need, there was a great selection at breakfast and the pool areas were good. It's about a 25 minute walk to San Gimignano through olive groves and vineyards but a courtesy bus runs a few times during the day to drive you. The restaurant is really nice too and well worth trying out. We're looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary-Christmas72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Dear Ms Mary,
thank you very much for your beautiful review!
We are very pleased that you liked our hotel and restaurant.
We of the family and the staff were happy to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again!!

Have a nice summer!!

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights on a 21 day trip of Tuscany. The staff is made up of family and locals and they could not have been more helpful or pleasant. All staff work extremely hard and the property is spotless!

Alicia was a joy and always accommodated with a smile! We travelled by train from Florence and she picked us up when we arrived and drove us to the station when we left. San Gimignano is delightful and the climb up is a little challenging but the views are worth it!
We ate at the restaurant on 4 nights and were never disappointed! It has a Michelin star and the chef is the wife/mother. The pool is a great way to relax after a day of sightseeing.

We would definitely recommend Hotel Sevestro and hope to return!

Grazie Mille Sergio and family!

Tom and Siobhan Brewer

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank siobhanb268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Dear Mr & Mrs Brewer
thank you for your beautiful review.
We were all very happy to welcome you in San Gimignano and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and restaurant.
Your opinion is very important for us and we try to make our clients satisfied and happy.
Me and my family and all the staff hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano!

yours sincerely
Alessia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2017 via mobile

A really lovely, restful.rural locaton just 2kms southeast of San Gimignano on the road to Poggibonsi. Only about 60 bedrooms over max two levels. The two story section has a wonderful central area with helical grand stairway and book supply. Well done whoever designed this!Room grand if perhaps slightly dated. Beakfast is heavy with sweet pastries. Good coffee machines which also give boiling water. Cold meats and two cheeses as well as cereals - but no big spoons! Jugs would be a useful addition and maybe scrambled eggs too. Really lovely outdoor breakfast patio... The restaurant menu was about as good as other restaurants we used. The indoor dining area is varied with some nice areas. Wouldn't want to eat there every night and couldn't rave about Tuscan wines. €2.50 Cover charge per person... Hotel staff pleasant but don't have a lot of English. Fridge, kettle and tea requisites in bedrooms. Very pleasant outdoor areas with generous sun shade...I got very sick immediately after dinner on the first night. No interest shown why and was charged for that meal. To be fair, my husband was unaffected by the very same meal. Asked for and received a plain omelette next evening which was not a menu item. No cover charge added for that! Would recommend overall.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank _mary_osullivan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Dear Mrs O'Sullivan,
thank you for your nice review and for having written your opinion about your stay in our hotel and restaurant.
We are pleased that you had a nice stay with us and we are sorry if that night you felt sick!
We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

best regards
the Failli family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

Hotel Sovestro is a small, somewhat quaint hotel on the outskirts of San Gimignano. Although surrounded by the most beautiful scenery in Tuscany, our room was somewhat close to the road and there was some noise.
The rooms are small with a little patio area; however, that area is small and very close to neighbors in the adjoining rooms. Still, there is a refrigerator in the room, the rooms are quite clean, and their are nice seating areas outside of the rooms to sit with friends.
Breakfast was good, with plenty of variety and tasty food. There is an outdoor seating area to eat breakfast, and there is what appears to be a decent outdoor pool at this hotel.
Hotel Sovestro would be a fun place for families with children with the pool, good breakfast, and restaurant (although we didn't eat at the restaurant.)
Be sure to take some photos of the beautiful vineyards and hills, some of the prettiest views in Italy.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shawna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Dear Clients,
thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are pleased to read that you had a nice holiday in our hotel and that you appreciated our service and our property.

We are glad that you also enjoyed the tuscna countryside around San Gimignano and we hope you will always remember your holiday with pleasure.

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,
best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews