We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views awful sleep ! ”
Review of Hotel Sovestro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sovestro
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, California
31
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel grounds are gorgeous but I think that being in Tuscany that’s not very hard to achieve. The accommodations are below average. Our room looked fine at first but smelled a bit like the last person who stayed there smoked in it. The bed is also lumpy and hard, the bedding is rough and just not comfy. My husband and I hardly slept because. Of how uncomfortable the bed is. Our hot water didn’t work in our shower. When they made our room they didn’t take away the iron and board they had brought in and also left cups off coffee that had been sitting out. The breakfast buffet is not worth the 6 euro for what you get.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Customers,
thank you for having written your review about your stay in our hotel
I was disappointed to hear that you had some issues with your room and that our buffet breakfast was not satisfactory for you!

We take feedback such as yours and use it as learning tool so we can improve our service and do our job at best!

Please accept our apologies if your stay was not as good as expected.

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this lovely family run hotel at short notice following a problem with a villa we had booked. They could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. All staff super. Hotel clean and very well maintained. Restaurant served very good food. A great stay which helped turn a holiday disaster into a very pleasant and relaxing trip.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TMM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Clients,
thank you so much for having writte this beautiful review!!
We are all very pleased that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We were very happy to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you,

yours sincerely
family Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Sovestro for 3 nights, originally booked for only two but they were happy to accommodate when we asked to arrive a day earlier.

Hotel room was clean and simple and suited us for what we wanted - wifi worked most of the time (although it doesn't work poolside unfortunately) and the air conditioning was fine if not a little noisy when turned up.

Staff very friendly and helpful with all of our (many!) questions and the pool is fantastic - clean and the perfect place to unwind after sightseeing. A real bonus that makes the hotel such a good place to stay. Restaurant next door is also excellent.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tj228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Customers,
thank you very much for your beautiful review!!
we are pleased that you appreciated our services and that you had a nice stay in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Excellent hotel - travel lodge style just a short distance from San Gim. with a brilliant outside pool to relax and cool down in after a hard days sightseeing,
Rooms were well equipped and clean, Staff especially Donatella on reception were friendly and helpful. The on site restaurant is amazing - we didn't eat anywhere else during our stay - try the wild boar or rabbit stews
Worth staying if you visit San Gim.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 508gerryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Customers,
thank you very much for your beautiful review,
we are happy toread that you enjoyed your holidays in San Gimignano!
Thank you for your compliments that are very important for us.

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

best regards
Family Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We spent couple nights there, very good location assuming you have a car, good breakfast and fantastic restaurant attached for dinner, clean, very good service. The only odd thing was that A/C is off from 9 in the morning to 2PM.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shmil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Customers,
thank you very much for your beautiful review,
we are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano!

best regards
the reception
laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We stayed here for two weeks in July and could not find fault with this hotel. From the minute we arrived we felt very welcome. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained.

Upon arrival we had a lovely bottle of wine in our room. The bedroom was spotlessly clean and the chambermaids were excellent and looked after our room so well during our stay. We stayed in a room with a patio area overlooking the main pool, it was so comfortable.

The hotel is run by very nice friendly people, nothing was ever too much trouble.

Breakfast was excellent, a great choice of fruit, cereals, cold meats and delicious daily fresh cheeses, everything you could ask for. We ate outside everyday on the lovely patio area.

The swimming pool is immaculate and has a lovely area to relax in, there is also a second pool area which is shallower around the other side of the hotel and this is also lovely.

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to San Gimignano, this is a warm walk in July but the hotel also offer a shuttle service for guests at certain times of the day. We ate at the adjoining Ristorante Da Pode, this is highly recommended with amazing food, so much so that we ate here regularly. The service here was really lovely too.

The hotel is really well situated in peaceful countryside and in a great spot for touring the area.

Thank you for a wonderful, relaxing two weeks.
Julian and John

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the main swimming pool are lovely and there is no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Mrs Julian & Mr John,
thank you very much for your amazing reviw and for having written such a beautiful comment af our hotel and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here in San Gimignano!
It was a great pleasure for us of the family and all the staff to welcome you and we hope to welcome you again !!

Thank you !

yours sincerely
family Failli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in June. Our room was clean and bed very comfortable. Chose room Overlooking road at end of long driveway, which had lovely terrace and view, but there is little traffic at night and shutters make it so quiet so not disturbed. Breakfast was good, with lots of choice. Pool was excellent and very clean. San Gimiangno only a 30 min stroll away. We had a lovely meal in The hotel restaurant. A great hotel to base yourself to explore San G. and the local area .

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovestro, Proprietario at Hotel Sovestro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Dear Mrs Alison,
thank you very much for your very nice review and for spending your time to write your opinion, which is very much appreciated from all of us!
Me, my wife and my two daugthers work hard to offer the best service possible to our clients.
Therefore our clients' opinion is always very important..

We hope to welcome you again in San Gimignano,

Wishing you a nice summer!!

best regards
Failli family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
4.7 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,341 reviews
5.0 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
666 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#5 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#10 of 29 in San Gimignano
661 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
799 reviews
7.1 km away
Hotel le Volpaie
Hotel le Volpaie
#15 of 29 in San Gimignano
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sovestro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sovestro

Address: Localita Sovestro 63, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Gimignano
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Gimignano
Price Range: $133 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sovestro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sovestro has 40 rooms, 28 of which are situated on the ground floor with a small private garden and 12 rooms on the first floor with fitted Balcony .All the rooms have a wonderful view on the countryside of San Gimignano or a suggestive view of our swimming pools.All our rooms have private bathroom with shower, hair-drier, telephone, minibar, safe, TV LCD of 26’’, with Sky Silver programmes and air conditioning or heating. WI-FI free in all the rooms, in common area inside or open-air.We have a private free wide- parking, in the small pinewood, is available only for the hotel- guests.Two are the swimming pools, available for our clients, the bigger allows you to swim, have fun and take the sun, the other one, smaller, is in a very silent and discrete corner of the garden, has a small waterfall for massage and a waterline for a moment of relaxation and sun bathing. … Moreover … We inform you that, we realized a small fitness room available for our clients.The use of the gym is free.We wish you finally to give you a small suggestion to let you enjoy the beauty of our hearth, a beautiful walk, through a path deeped in the countryside, which from Hotel Sovestro leads to San Gimignano, with its towers, in only 20/30 minutes.Furtherore we suggest you to enjoy one of the best Tuscan cuisines in the restaurant “Da Pode”.Once it was a farmhouse and now managed directly from the Failli family, who will invite you to savour the Tuscan-dishes.Monday is the day of rest of the restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sovestro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovestro Hotel San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing