We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super apartment, perfect location, wonderful owner”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
San Gimignano, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
FRANCIS D
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super apartment, perfect location, wonderful owner”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and another couple stayed in this wonderful apartment for eight days. Giuliana, the owner could not have been nicer with us. When we read the reviews prior to booking, many previous renters recommended reserving the parking garage, you have to pay for parking in San Gimignano in any event so knowing exactly where to park every time you go out is really nice. You must try the world prize winning gelato at Dondoni on Cistern Piazza and the pizza at the little hole in the wall place, turn left on the main drag three or four doors down on the left hand side.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location, and our interactions with the owner
Liked least: Nothing, everything was first class
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Super! I am extremely glad that you have spent a great time in San Gimignano. There are many things to see and eat, the many museums, churches, beautiful towers, medieval city walls and the beautiful countryside ETCC ... and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I remember you with great affection and kindness because you have been cordial and respectful guests. Your knowledge has enriched me and I wish you all that you can go back to Italy, in San Gimignano.

Benedetta & Giuliana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathie P
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“top place to stay in san gimignano”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We have just enjoyed 3 nights at "la Torretta", thoroughly pleased with our choice. The apartment is so well located, comfortable and well equipped. Guilianna is so helpful and very organised with a book of recommendations and suggestions, we wish we were there longer to try more. We would definitely stay here again if in San Gimignano

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and type of appartment
Liked least: stairs, but worth it for the views
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thanks very much for the wonderful review. I'm really happy and I am happy that you are been good in my apartment.
Thank you!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Un_Ingles...
Dapto, Australia
1 review
“Excellent home away from home”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We really enjoyed San Gimignano. The apartment made an excellent home away from home. It was in a central location close to all amenities. The fact that the apartment also had it's own private garage - available for a fee - was much better than finding a parking spot each day. Having the apartment cleaned once per week was a nice touch. Giuliana , the owner, was always available and not only occasionally dropped by with gifts but also generously gave us a lift back to our car with our luggage when we were leaving.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Geographic location within San Gimignano.
Liked least: Lack of a microwave oven in the kitchen.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann L
Oakland, California
1 review
“Old World charm and 21st century hospitality!”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

San Gimignano is the quintessential Tuscan hill town--a small community of towers and plazas, with hundreds of years of history within its walls. Our clean and spacious apartment, in a historical building adjacent to the main square, was a perfect home base for exploring both the town and the surrounding communities. Guiliana's place had lots of room for 2 couples to be together--in the large kitchen, or the living room--or separate, with 2 lovely bedrooms and 2 modern bathrooms. Giuliana provided us with information about both the apartment and the nearby sights. Her restaurant recommendations were jewels. She was friendly and helpful; we knew that she was there, if needed, for any question that might arise. Modern amenities like a garage (small extra fee) and free internet were also a big plus.
I would strongly recommend Giuliana's Stone House apartment to anyone interested in the best of old and new, a truly memorable delight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great layout and roominess, good kitchen for homemade meals
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayhawk68
Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“San Gimignano Giuliana is wonderful!”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We (3 of us) stayed in San Gimignano for the last week of April, 2015. Guiliana Taddei was the owner of the apartment we rented during that week. Lucky us. The apartment perfectly located in the city, no more than a 10-15 minute walk to every site in San Gimignano. The apartment itself, La Torretta, has two bedrooms (with lots of storage), 2 bathrooms (with showers), a living room, and a kitchen. But who wants to cook when there are some of the best restaurants in the town? Every meal we ate in SG was terrific. There is also a washing machine. A garage just outside the city walls is also available for 10 Euros/day. If you have a car, you cannot park inside the city anyway. I believe public parking was 15 Euros/day. The apartment was very homey and perfect for our needs. The shuttered windows could be opened to the city below for some great views of the activities. It's a 40-step climb to the apartment so it's best not to be on crutches. Guiliana herself was a super owner and hostess. While she doesn't speak English (we WERE in Italy!), her grandson is a great translator so that was never a problem. She is a warm and caring person and is anxious to help in any way she could. If you are driving, she will meet you at a pre-arranged time just outside Parking Lot 3 (P3) and lead you and your car into the city so you can drop your suitcases off. Driving inside the walls of San Gimignano can be a little intimidating with the throngs of people. Overall, the La Torretta apartment was an ideal accommodation for our week in San Gimignano.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: WiFi was intermittant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy O
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just one piazza from the center of town”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My family of five stayed three nights at Apt La Torretta. We LOVED the place and especially the location, one piazza away from the Duomo and La Cisterna--the center of town. Both bedrooms have windows opening up to quiet Piazza delle Erbe and views of San Gimignano's towers. Giuliana, a retired schoolteacher, is a kind and wonderful hostess; she met us to show us how to work everything and made recommendations for dinner. Later she helped us contact a cab driver when the bus schedule wasn't good for our plans. San Gimignano was a great base camp for visiting other cities in the area: Florence, Siena, Pisa. For planning: The closest train station is Poggibonsi, a short bus ride from San Gimignano. We also caught the first night (preview) festivities of the town's medieval fair--the third weekend in June.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location just off the two main piazzas
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierreetf...
Gatineau
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

This apartment was perfect for the four of us for the 3 days! It's in a great location in the heart of San Gimignano , an excellent, historic, and beautiful medieval hill town in the province of Siena. The owner Giuliana made our initial entry into the apartment as easy as could be she was incredibly hospitable and made all transactions and communication easy.All in all, we would recommend this apartment to any friends planning a trip to Tuscany.and we would of course rent it again, too. Really, we have no complaints--in fact, we *miss* this place.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing