We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toscana. Magnifico!”
Review of Sassi Bianchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sassi Bianchi
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Tuscany is absolutely beautiful and Sassi Bianci is an great place to see it from. We stayed in in Lucy cottage, which is the smallest cottage, but a great size for my wife and I. It was simply decorated and full of Tuscan charm. The cottage had a kitchen, which we often used to cook our own meals or to prepare snacks for while we toured. They even stocked it with a few basic, but useful items such as bottled water, milk and coffee.

Concetta and Paolo were so nice. They gave us some great advice on the area. One day we returned from touring and they had left us some homemade traditional Tuscan vegetable soup. Also, on our last day we got our rental car stuck. They came over and pulled our car out for us. We are so greatful for them and can't wait to go back. We would absolutely return and stay there again.

The countryside is spectacular. There is a vineyard right on the property. The property is situated on the east side of the hill, so no scenic sunsets, but that may be the worst thing I can say about this place. Amazing panoramic views. It has a nice pool and tennis courts, although we only used the pool a couple of times and never played tennis. There is way too much to see in Tuscany too spend much time relaxing at the cottage. But if you wanted to, it is a great place to do so.

We used Sassi Bianci as our base camp for touring all over Tuscany. We made driving trips to San Gimignano, Sienna, Florence, Chianti wine region, Pisa and Saturnia. San Gimignano is a short 10 minute drive from the property. It is a good central location if you are planning to try to see as much of Tuscany as possible.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlmartell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2010

We were delighted with our stay at Sassi Bianchi in San Gimignano! Traveling with another couple from the US, we stayed in the Ginestra farmhouse in October 2010. Sassi Bianchi is situated just outside San Gimignano and it was a great location from which to explore Tuscany. The view was outstanding! Nestled amongst several vineyards, Sassi Bianchi has a beautiful pool, tennis courts and play areas. Each building had a stone outdoor grill and we loved being able to grill and cook in the house itself. The farmhouse is is charmingly appointed in Tuscan style and was perfect for the four of us. Ginestra has a lovely sitting room where we enjoyed a fire in the hearth every night. There are several lovely antique peices and the beds were comfortable. Everything was very clean and in good working order, and Concheta and Paolo provided not only a greeted us warmly on our arrival but provided great maps and suggestions about what to see and do in the area. A highlight of our trip was the night that Concheta and Paolo cooked dinner for us, simply divine!!! By the end of our stay, we didn't want to leave and you won't be disappointed with the accomodations or the warm and friendly hospitality Concheta and Paolo provide!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EBethGA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

We Had a hard time finding a perfect place last minute and were very fortunate to Have Found Sassibianchi . My parents , Who Have Never Been to Italy , Joined with us Our 3 children (5, 8, 10) for the week . It was perfect . The location is ideal to visit Florence , Sienna , San Gimignano and Volterra . Were the views spectacular and pictures do not do the rows of lavender and Vineyards justice . Concetta and Paul were great hosts and we Brought fresh pastry the day goodbye. The apartment is rustic, but clean. They were very helpful in making a reservation for us and available for other ideas for trips in the area . Hightlight for the Kids Was the pool and the beautiful view. While There Were there other families , it never felt crowded and there WAS enough room ( and chairs ) for everyone . We Would absolutely recommend this villa to friends and Would return in the future .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Our family stayed at Sassi Bianchi for one week as part of a month-long trip to Italy. Ginestra, our little stone house, was rustic but very comfortable, and the views over the surrounding green hills, vineyards and lavender fields are spectacular. After day trips to explore San Gimignano, Volterra, Siena, Pisa and the Chianti Classico region, it was wonderful to leave the summer crowds behind, have a swim and relax in the country. Concetta and Paolo were superb hosts: warm, attentive and responsive. They were very welcoming to our three children (ages 10, 8 and 6); almost like having a nonno and nonna for a week! The meal that Concetta cooked for us one night (squash blossom fritters, pecorino and honey, homemade tagliatelle with wild boar, grilled chianina beef steak, vin santo with cantucci, homemade limoncello) was hands down one of the very best meals we had in Italy. Our kids loved collecting eggs with Paolo, exploring the estate and playing with the children and teens who were staying in the other two villas.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaFeFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Our family (3 kids ages 14, 12 and 10) had the vacation of a lifetime, in part due to our fabulous stay with Concetta and Paolo at Sassi Bianchi. We spent 2 weeks in Italy, with one week in a farmhouse at Sassi Bianchi. After a very long travel day from Rome, we arrived in Tuscany in need of a place to relax, reconnect and reenergize. Our farmhouse (Ginestra) was the perfect place to land - spacious and clean on the inside, with breath taking views and the pool just below us on the outside. Our first night, Concetta and Paolo prepared and served us a fabulous, multi-course meal that our family will never forget. Concetta and Paolo are wonderful hosts. Lovely, informed and present, both Concetta and Paolo were as much a part of our experience as the beautiful grounds and scenery. Sassi Bianchi is close to many of the hill towns everyone wants to visit in Tuscany, but is tucked on to a quiet, panoramic hill top, so that when you are "home" you experience tranquility and breath taking views that go on forever. We feel so fortunate to have spent time at Sassi Bianchi with our wonderful hosts, and only hope we can make it back again for another visit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jswoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Every other year we return to this wonderful agriturismo. Over the course of the past several years it has become our favorite Tuscan home. [This year we also booked an agristurismo in Umbria which made as appreciate Sassi Bianchi all the more.] The accomodations are spacious, the facilities top grade - pool, tennis courts, optional welcoming and departure dinners.
The proprietor, Concetta, and husband Paolo offer a truly exceptional home away from home. We always book the entire facility - 3 farmhouses and a small cottage, and bring along a full complement of friends and family - capacity 20. However, the lodgings are offered individually. The location is within easy reach of all the Tuscan sites, only about 5 miles from San Gimignano, but out in the countryside on a hill overlooking the area. This is a working agristurismo with fine wines and olive oil available - but the work crew keep to their task and are oblivious to our activities. The lodgings are all exceptionally clean with all the amenities, such as working kitchens. We are already booked for our next return!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobMac42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We stayed for a week at Sassi Bianchi in the farmhouse Acacia where we were treated to the outstanding hospitality of the owners, Concetta and Paolo. Other members of our group occupied the other houses on the premises. We used the central house, Lillium, for evening get-togethers and shared cooking on some evenings.

Our house, Acacia, had three bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms on the second floor. The beds were all king sized and the rooms decorated attractively in Tuscan style. Our window opened out to a blooming acacia tree and a view of the vineyards and hills toward San Gimignano--about 15 minutes drive away.

Downstairs there was a large living area, another full bath, and a kitchen with large table. Another table was placed outside the door on the patio. The kitchen was well-equiped and well used by us during our stay.

Sassi Bianchi was totally quiet at night except for an occasional owl :) The owners of the property live nearby and were extremely gracious and accommodating. They speak very limited English but manage to communicate very effectively with non-Italians like us.

This is a propery ideal for those who like "slow travel". Going out for all or part of the day into Florence, Sienna, Volterra, and the Chianti Classico region--all within an hours drive- and returning to relax and enjoy a light dinner with the local cheeses, produce, and wines. If this appeals to you, then Sassi Bianchi is your kind of place!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Gimignano hotels
11.9 km away
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
#1 of 1 in Ulignano
672 reviews
7.8 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#2 of 29 in San Gimignano
1,391 reviews
8.1 km away
Hotel Le Renaie
Hotel Le Renaie
#1 of 1 in Pancole
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Locanda dell' Artista
Locanda dell' Artista
#1 of 68 in San Gimignano
390 reviews
7.2 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#3 of 29 in San Gimignano
826 reviews
8 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#6 of 29 in San Gimignano
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sassi Bianchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sassi Bianchi

Address: Via del Cornocchio, 53037, San Gimignano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 109 Speciality Lodging in San Gimignano
Price Range: $105 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sassi Bianchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing