We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Highlight of our trip!

Franco's tour was one of the best parts of our trip to Rome, Florence, Bologna, Cinque Terre, and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
pat_nastys
via mobile
A trip highlight!

We toured with Franco a few years ago for our honeymoon. I looked him up to refer him to a friend... read more

Reviewed February 14, 2019
MaxDeOreo
,
Boulder, Colorado
via mobile
Read all 1,005 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Siena
from US$161.96
More Info
from US$20.82
More Info
from US$34.71
More Info
from US$104.12
More Info
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveller rating
967
24
9
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
24
9
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunello di montalcino wine tour olive oil fresh bread his passion amazing lunch his knowledge another couple highlight of our trip small town tuscan experience pasta our honeymoon beautiful scenery tuscan countryside small restaurant tuscan lunch
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2017 via mobile

This tour is a true Tuscan experience, even in December. Don’t let the cold weather or low season fool you-a wine tour with Franco is an amazing experience any time of year!

My friend and I did this tour in December and it was the most memorable day of the trip. Coming in the off-season it was just me and my friend. We took Franco’s advice to visit the Brunello region, which was stunning. He personalized the tour, is extremely knowledgeable about wine and the region, the scenery was stunning (there was even snow in some of the higher regions we visited) AND every winery we visited we were able to meet the winemakers who all spent time with us showing us the property and telling us about the wines.

Since it was just the two of us, we were able to visit 4 wineries in total but never felt rushed-the day was truly a full day trip! (Not to mention, every winery we went to we were the only visitors there making it a completely personalized experience).

The wineries we visited were all small family run type of vineyards, all unique. You could hear the passion and love from everyone as they talked about the wine, the region and the land. Everyone knew Franco and everyone was happy to spend time with us and tell us their story. And it almost goes without saying-the wine we tasted was some of the best I’ve ever had!

Lunch was also amazing-we sat by a fireplace and ate delicious Tuscan food while sampling a variety of wines (Franco knows the restaurant owners, so we were lucky enough to try some unique and VERY old wines we’d never had been able to try if we were there in our own).

A wine tour with Franco is truly a once in a lifetime experience and for the memories, the authentic Tuscan experience, what we were able to taste and who we were able to meet it is absolutely worth every euro and more! (And this is coming from a budget traveler).

I’ll be recommending this trip to anyone traveling through the region!

Thank you Franco for a most memorable day!!! Hope to be back one day!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2017

This was the best wine tour experience I've had in my life! Franco is a wonderful tour guide and we can't stop telling our friends, just how truly magical this experience was.

We were recommended this tour from a friend who had such a great experience. It completely lived up to the hype. We toured around Montalcino and enjoyed some of the best Brunello wines!

Our group for the day was small and intimate, there were 4 of us. It allowed for us to have more intimate tastings with each of the vineyards and explore the grounds without feeling rushed or pushed around.

I've done a few wine tours in the past, but this was my favorite for a few different reasons. A) Franco is just hands down a very knowledgeable, friendly tour guide. Knowing a lot about the area, we got to take in so much more of the local culture than you would expect. B) We learned so much about the winemaking process. We happened to have our tour during harvesting season. So we were fortunate enough to watch the entire process of grapes harvesting, wine going in to barrels, out of barrels and being bottles. Such a great experience to see in person! C) Getting a chance to walk on the vineyard grounds and experiencing Tuscany and its beautiful landscape! It's rare to get to walk through the grounds where the grapes grow and pick off a grape and try it straight from the vine.

I highly recommend this tour to anyone looking for an unforgettable wine experience in Tuscany. It will be a trip you'll remember for a lifetime!!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank s0nalrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2017

What Franco offers is much more than a wine tour…in addition to the delicious wine from Brunello di Montalcino, he took us to little villages in the region. The lunch we had was DELICIOUS! It was the most authentic meal we had the entire trip. Because we were with Franco (who spoke English fluently), we felt so comfortable and loved the opportunity to eat like the locals do complete with multiple courses and wine!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank KristinaATL2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017

If you stay in Siena for a couple of days, you really must take Franco's wine tour. Like most folks, we did the Montalcino Wine Tour. Franco and his crew were very responsive to last minute e-mails to set up a tour with some other interested people.

Like many other reviewers, we went to two wineries for Brunello tasting and tours and went to lunch in a super neat little town at a great trattoria with good food and amazing wine. The Tuscan countryside is also a major feature of the tour. Absolutely beautiful rolling hills as you pass through the farms and scenic towns.

Franco is a real character which helps make the tour so entertaining. He is very knowledgeable, talkative, and willing to answer all questions regarding wine and the area. He's also quick with a joke and to bust the chops of his guests where appropriate.

The only downside is that there is a lot of time riding in the van. It takes a solid 90 minutes or so to pick everyone up, get the bread and cheese for the tastings, and then get out to the first winery. The roads are also very sharp and winding. Everyone tends to eat and drink too much when they are in Italy so there may be a certain level of queasiness during the ride.

Overall, well worth the money and time for a memorable experience.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank MBones7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2017

Franco was a great find for us to see and do in Montalcino. We experienced some great Brunellos all with their own distinct styles. Franco's passion for excellence is shown in the 3 wineries and olive oil processing (bought some fresh pressed) we visited and had the best meal at Trattoria il Pozzo. The views were stunning all along the way. You can tell Franco enjoys what he does and the people love having him bring guests. I am an executive sommelier and would recommend this for the novice as well as the professional. The only problem is I bought too much wine and I blame that on Franco for taking us to such good wineries but there was no pressure to buy at all. We shipped from the last winery visited with ease. Highly recommend this full day plus to see and do so much. If you are looking for a quick tour this is not for you, but if you want the full deal, there is nothing better.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Joseph William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews