We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
75
95
61
27
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
95
61
27
23
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 281 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

This hotel completely sucks. I've seen a few bad hotels, this is the worst I've ever been able to experience, unfortunately. Besides the old not renovated rooms that stink, it is IMPOSSIBLE to sleep in this hotel:
- the rooms have no air conditioning, for this reason, windows must be open during the night
- continuous unidentified noises from inside and outsider the hotel made us completely crazy without letting us the choice as we needed to keep the windows open to not die from the heat
- even the ventilatilator which is completely destroyed, fixed with tape and disgustingly dusty was no help and was SO noisy during the night

One recommendation, stay as far as possible from this hotel and this is a very honest post. Worst 2 nights ever spent in a hotel in our lives.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Soogy_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cate126, Proprietario at Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca bnb, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Madam we are sorry that you have found it so bad to us. The structure is not air conditioned because it is a historic building, but it is written on all booking sites and just read. You are arrived in the afternoon and you slept for two nights, instead of suffering in silence and become sour for lack of sleep, could you tell us and we will try to find a solution, instead of saying to check out it was all right and throw up nasty denigrating here. I suggest you read the next time and not be so defamatory and above all to say in advance your inconvenience.
I do not think you'll come back but would not be a welcome guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016

The hotel is in a good position for exploring the old city but the facilities left a lot to be desired. Being so old, it was a bit of a rabbit warren and that would have made it more attractive had it not been for the shabbiness of the accommodation. The bathroom and shower cabinet especially could have done with upgrading as the tiles and grouting were worn and grey.
A major flaw was that contrary to the description given on Booking.com,which we had relied on, there was no safety deposit box or fridge, so we had to keep our money and valuables and passports with us all the time which is not ideal in a major holiday city. Breakfast, such as it was (coffee croissants and orange juice) was brought to the room on a tray and fell far short of any breakfast we have had elsewhere on our extensive travels in Italy.
The hotel wants to know your approximate time of arrival and I advised them both by email before we left home and then by text on the morning of the day of arrival but still they phoned when we were in Lucca to ask, so their Reception appears to be a bit haphazard. They actually close for a few hours after lunch and provide a code for the door access, another fact not noted when booking (it said reception wasn't open 24 hours a day but you expect that to mean no night porter, not to be unattended during the day).
When leaving we pointed out at Reception the lack of safe and fridge which we had paid for and were reluctantly refunded €5 each
Fortunately we were only booked in for one night or we would have had to find an alternative. Would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lphilip2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cate126, Direttore at Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca bnb, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2016

Good evening, I am sorry that you enjoyed your stay, the night Porter is not stated in historical residences, and anyway we're on call all the time. Most of our customers really enjoy breakfast in your room, but clearly your stay with us was not started off well, then anything i'd like very old palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

First hotel we came to through the Porto tufi after parking our car. Old building, rabbit warren but some nice little spaces laid out throughout. Not really a central spot, but our twin room had access to an outdoor concrete courtyard where we could have a glass of wine and take in the sounds of this old city. Also attached is a lovely garden but no seating.
Got lost on the way home and ended up coming through another far more elegant side to the hotel, with a large round foyer and marble floors. Couldn't believe it was the same place. The key fit.
Room was small and dated, bathroom small and peeling and the extractor fan hadn't been cleaned ever, by the looks. It really was just a cheap place to lay our head - Siena itself is the lure. Unfortunately though all electricity was shut off when we arrived home at 1am - some 'power over load' bs. No lights, no power, no toilet flushing even. The friendly girl managing the desk gave us a discount which just happened to be the same price as the measly breakfast delivered to our room at 9am. Walls too thick for wifi in the room but if you stand on one leg and wave your arms about on the balcony you might be lucky. Central and clean enough, very simple.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Mamapickels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2016

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cate126, Proprietario at Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca bnb, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

This hotel oozes ancient charm with the front wall being Etruscan in origin.

The location is perfect within easy walking distance of all the main attractions and several lovely restaurants.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. The continental breakfast is served in the room at your chosen time and we were fortunate enough to have access to the terrace.

The garden is beautiful and a welcome break from the heat and crowds for a light picnic lunch.

The staff were friendly and very helpful even allowing us to do online checkin and print boarding passes for our flights on the last day.

I would happily return here if in Siena again and recommend it to friends.

Ask for a room with terraced access!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Enola48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cate126, Proprietario at Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca bnb, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2016

Dear enola 48, we are very enjoy to have you our guest :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews