We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca bnb
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Claudia(San Gimignano)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Athena(Siena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
74
95
61
25
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
95
61
25
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 276 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2016

We went to the hotel at 3:30 which was the check in time stated on the door. There was no one there to let us in. We had to sit on the doorstep until the manager came. She was late and very frazzled. The hotel is old but not charming at all. We had to climb 41 steps to get to our room. It was very disappointing. The room was not air conditioned. It was not clean. The beds were hard as rocks and there was lots of noise. The most shocking thing about this hotel is the lack of staff present. After the manager checked us in, she left and we never saw her again. There was a brief period in the morning when the breakfast server was present but the rest of the two days we were there, no staff at all was present. It was so weird! Guests just came and went using a code to get into the hotel. The manager left notes with the keys at the front desk. We needed assistance making a call because we don't speak Italian but there was no one to help us. Everyone was on their own. I would NOT recommend this hotel. It was a terrible experience and we are sorry we stayed there.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2016

The hotel is in the old classic part of Siena so it doesn't have any of today's conveniences. There's no elevator so going up 41 steps with luggage is difficult (impossible for elderly or disabled people). Someone in my group has bad knees so this was a challenge. The beds were VERY hard. This is more of a bed and breakfast so there was never anyone at the front desk which means there was no one to help tourists with questions or phone calls. Wifi was free, but weak - couldn't get it from our rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hershmank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights in a lovely vaulted room on the second floor that had a private and secluded balcony, perfect for relaxing from the heat and beginning the day with breakfast al fresco. Right outside our room was the old kitchen and sink from at least a hundred years ago, probably a lot older. The Campo is a three minute walk, the cathedral is maybe five minutes away and three minutes away is a lovely piazza with a nice view and two great restaurants recommended by the hotel reception. Breakfast is the usual continental style but very good. We were there the day after the Palio and yet found the hotel to be very quiet although our room overlooked the street so motorcycles and cars went by at night from time to time but after midnight all was quiet. The building is very old so the stairs are relatively narrow and very high because of the ceiling height so heavy suitcases would be tiring. There is also a very nice rooftop garden for the use of all guests.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor in front of the old kitchen and had a lovely private balcony
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

This hotel completely sucks. I've seen a few bad hotels, this is the worst I've ever been able to experience, unfortunately. Besides the old not renovated rooms that stink, it is IMPOSSIBLE to sleep in this hotel:
- the rooms have no air conditioning, for this reason, windows must be open during the night
- continuous unidentified noises from inside and outsider the hotel made us completely crazy without letting us the choice as we needed to keep the windows open to not die from the heat
- even the ventilatilator which is completely destroyed, fixed with tape and disgustingly dusty was no help and was SO noisy during the night

One recommendation, stay as far as possible from this hotel and this is a very honest post. Worst 2 nights ever spent in a hotel in our lives.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Soogy_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cate126, Proprietario at Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca bnb, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Madam we are sorry that you have found it so bad to us. The structure is not air conditioned because it is a historic building, but it is written on all booking sites and just read. You are arrived in the afternoon and you slept for two nights, instead of suffering in silence and become sour for lack of sleep, could you tell us and we will try to find a solution, instead of saying to check out it was all right and throw up nasty denigrating here. I suggest you read the next time and not be so defamatory and above all to say in advance your inconvenience.
I do not think you'll come back but would not be a welcome guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016

The hotel is in a good position for exploring the old city but the facilities left a lot to be desired. Being so old, it was a bit of a rabbit warren and that would have made it more attractive had it not been for the shabbiness of the accommodation. The bathroom and shower cabinet especially could have done with upgrading as the tiles and grouting were worn and grey.
A major flaw was that contrary to the description given on Booking.com,which we had relied on, there was no safety deposit box or fridge, so we had to keep our money and valuables and passports with us all the time which is not ideal in a major holiday city. Breakfast, such as it was (coffee croissants and orange juice) was brought to the room on a tray and fell far short of any breakfast we have had elsewhere on our extensive travels in Italy.
The hotel wants to know your approximate time of arrival and I advised them both by email before we left home and then by text on the morning of the day of arrival but still they phoned when we were in Lucca to ask, so their Reception appears to be a bit haphazard. They actually close for a few hours after lunch and provide a code for the door access, another fact not noted when booking (it said reception wasn't open 24 hours a day but you expect that to mean no night porter, not to be unattended during the day).
When leaving we pointed out at Reception the lack of safe and fridge which we had paid for and were reluctantly refunded €5 each
Fortunately we were only booked in for one night or we would have had to find an alternative. Would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lphilip2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cate126, Direttore at Il Casato Residenza d' Epoca bnb, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2016

Good evening, I am sorry that you enjoyed your stay, the night Porter is not stated in historical residences, and anyway we're on call all the time. Most of our customers really enjoy breakfast in your room, but clearly your stay with us was not started off well, then anything i'd like very old palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews