We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip to Italy”

Wine Tour in Tuscany
Ranked #1 of 26 Food & Drink in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Tour in Tuscany is owned and operated by Donatella, a young woman who was born and raised in the area. Sharing her authentic perspectives on the unknown corners of wonderful Tuscany, including those of a formally trained sommelier offers her clients a unique experience. The Tuscan landscape, its wine and food make the area one of the most famous in the world. Donatella is a polite, friendly, enthusiastic guide who speaks French and English with ease. She is fully licensed, insured and in compliance with all Italian regulations.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Italy”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 10 day trip to Italy, and we both agree that this was the highlight of our trip. Donatella was a fantastic tour guide who is very knowledgable about the area and wine. We learned so much about Chianti Classico wine and how it's made.
We went to 3 wineries during tour, one mid-size winery and two smaller wineries. It was a fun experience getting tours of the wineries and doing the tastings with the actual owners of the wineries. We also tasted olive oil, balsamic vinager, cheese, and truffle oil at the wineries. Everything that we tasted was wonderful.
While the entire day was fun, the best part was when Donatella took us to eat lunch at her friend's house in a 1,000 year old Tuscan farmhouse. Getting to eat lunch with an Italian family and converse with them about life in Tuscany was the highlight of our trip. The food that her friend made was AMAZING. Lasagna, turkey roast, salad, homemade wine, and tiramisu. We left stuffed! The family even gave us the recipes so we could make the food we ate, at home.
I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Tuscany. You won't regret it! It was worth every penny.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MegL829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,088
    17
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip in Tuscany”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We recently returned from a 9 day trip to Rome and Siena during the Christmas Holiday.. The absolute highlight of our trip was the two days we spent with Donatella as our guide . Our group of seven enjoyed how knowledgeable and friendly she was. Her choice of places to visit was great and we felt like we saw parts of Tuscany not usually seen by tourists. The food and fine wine was exceptional! We met the nicest people and were treated like family. I would recommend this tour company to all of our friends for sure!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Aliag_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No need to look anywhere else! Hands down, our best day, of fourteen, in Italy!”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Donatella picked us up in Siena, and whisked us off to Brunello country with no delay. On the way to Montalcino, she gave us a great overview of the extensive wine industry in Italy. It was interesting and informative. Our first stop was at "il Casale," an organic cheese farm located on the way to Montalcino. We dined on fresh types of Pecorino cheese with homemade toppings and olive oil. On our way to the first winery, we stopped at Piensa to look at the church and take an amazing picture of the countryside. SanCarlo Vineyard was an amazing place, where we were greeted by Gema. She is a 3rd generation sommelier, and works the vineyard by hand with her father. She walked us through the process and the tasting went great. After, the first tasting we had lunch with Alberto at his house and it was outstanding. He was gracious, funny, and an excellent cook. San Polino vineyard was our last stop, where Katia invited us into to home to taste and learn more about a truly organic winery. All stops on the tour were fun, informative, and well planned. Donatella is the ONLY Tuscan tour guide in my opinion.

Helpful?
3 Thank Cbbutler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour, Amazing DONATELLA”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I don't even know how to begin, my partner and I travelled to Siena in April 2011, we booked the tour with Donatella and just blown away, we just loved Siena so much, in fact we are returning in September to be married. The wine tour exceeded how expectations, personalable is a complete understatement, the lunch with the beautiful family will always be treasured in Craigs and my heart for a very long time. Thank you Donatella for allowing us to be apart of your amazing home you call, SIENA.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaburgess1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Made so welcome by everyone we met”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Donatella took us to two very different wineries in Chianti and in each we had a private tour, tasting and lovely nibbles. For lunch we went to a farm where the owners hosted us around a large round table - with all the family. We felt the door had been opened to a Chianti we would never have found on our own, and felt privileged to be with her on the tour. It was quite a long day out, but she is a very entertaining person with excellent English.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank CarolynScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Tour in Tuscany also viewed

 

Been to Wine Tour in Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing