We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Duomo
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
451 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 517 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Simply the worst. It looks like in Italy, the hotel are having different Star in the same hotel.
If you are looking for tranquility and nice rooms dont go there. At least we had most probably the worst rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WatchFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_duomo_siena, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Customer,
We do not understand your criticism, and we think it's due more to personal problem rather than a real one. As can be seen from other reviews on this page, Hotel Duomo offers maximum comfort and relaxation for guests.
In this case, however, I cannot really see eventual deficiencies in the provision of comfort and quality, distinctive features of the Hotel Duomo.
If the room not responded to your needs, we would have proceeded immediately to replace it according to demands. Our priority, in fact, is to offer an excellent service to ensure a pleasant journey to our visitors, as the opinions of other customers, on this same page, evidence of such behavior.
We hope to be able to welcome back to our hotel, to give you an unforgettable vacation in Siena.
Greetings from Hotel Duomo
Alessandro Briganti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    545
    170
    30
    13
See reviews for
301
516
53
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Hotel Duomo is close to the Il Campo parking lot, which came in handy since we arrived by rental car. They were very courteous and the room was clean. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We stayed in room 52 and it had a good view of the Duomo.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbbutler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We are seasoned travellers, been to most parts of the world. Arrived 4 hours before check-in time and were received with a warm welcome at reception, and the offer of coffee. Staff friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was very comfortable, with a stunning view. Walking diistance to everywhere. Breakfast; Rolls, cheeses, cooked meats, cereals, cakes, pastries, fruits and more, with friendly dining room staff. Overall, our view of ths hotel is "Excellent", and Clean! Clean! Clean!.

Will stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 61 - Great view across Siena
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TypoToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocolalla, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed in room 59 like the previous poster. It's at the end of the hotel near a plaza that had music and someone talking on the mic till 4am!! Even the reception person acknowledged that...but no discounts here. They have renovated the outside of the hotel, maybe now they should concentrate on the inside. Also,major construction going on directly across the street. The free breakfast was better than most, had a nice assortment of fruit and the usual processed, rolls, ham and cheeses (ick). It was a nice room with three HARD beds, but I think if you compare it to hotels in the USA it would equal a one star. Just deduct 1-2 stars for every hotel in Italy or Sicily and you'll be spot on. Its one big plus was location to the Duomo, the square, and family, too!. We did have WiFi. Nine euros for a taxi to the main bus stop when the hotel call for it.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view (if they have any?), but in a quite location, not room 59!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marz2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel is perfectly situated in Siena. If you take the Bus from Rome to Siena you are dropped off about 6 good blocks from the hotel. You just walk one winding road to the Hotel.
As others have said the Hotel is right near the Duomo and two blocks from the center of town where everyone hangs out.
The staff are very kind and generous. They have great recommendations for places to eat, whether cheap of pricey. Either way the places they recommend are nice!

Pros, Free WiiFii, Nice Breakfast, Decent shower, clean rooms and Location!

Cons, the only con I found was that the mattresses in the room is just ok. It feels like a big pad or pillow but not a true mattress but this is common in Europe. No safe in the room.

Otherwise I do recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bscans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We just returned from a 1 week vacation in Italy and made a 2 night stop in Siena, staying at the Hotel Duomo. I chose this property because of it's location within the city walls and it definately met my expectations for convenience. What exceeded our expectaions was the fantastic view we had from our room! Although we had to climb a few stairs to reach the top floor, it was worth it! We had a corner room, right next to the rooftop patio, and you could see the most wonderful sunsets on one side and sunrises from the duomo on the other, There was a very good restaurant just down the same quaint street and shopping everywhere. The breakfast buffet was average (for all the hotels we stayed in Italy on this trip) but everything was very clean and tidy including rooms, hallways and baths. One slight difficulty was the wi-fi connection. It was inconsistent with our laptop and devices. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toothscrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

A delightful small hotel in the heart of the old city. An excellent service, an exceptionally friendly staff and a great buffet breakfast. We stayed five days and enjoyed the experience - the location and the atmosphere. Siena has become a favourite city for us and we will certainly stay at hotel Duomo again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,180 reviews
0.2 km away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,367 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
747 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo

Property: Hotel Duomo
Address: Via di Stalloreggi 38, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing