We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Piccolo Hotel Il Palio
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dreadful Hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2008

We booked the stay via Lastminute.com a few days prior to arrival and when we got to the hotel were pleased with the welcome. The reception seemed a bit shabby but otherwise homely. The lift was a slightly worrying and shaky experience, the stairs and landings were filthy, threadbare and a cleaner's cart were left in the corridor outside our room with dirty linen on for the length of our 20 hour stay. The minibar comprised of a fridge that didn't work with a can of pop and some crisps inside, the bedlinen was clean and fresh at least, the walls were filthy, the balcony was absolutely covered in pigeon muck and therefore unusable and then we got to the bathroom. It was a 70s style wetroom/pod type bathroom with a very old sticker saying that the facility was automatically refreshed with every use. I doubt it was even refreshed every decade. The white moulder plastic on everything was tarnished, discoloured, melted and above all filthy. It stank, the toilet was vile and we couldn't bring ourselves to shower because it looked so germ-ridden (or indeed try breakfast). In addition, we could hear every breath and waterdrop from the bathroom nextdoor, and our bed was little more than a double-sized campbed. How this establishment got 2 stars I'll never know. How it's allowed to call itself a hotel escapes me too. If you can, stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Leaving.
  • Disliked — The disgusting bathroom.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cchappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    21
    33
    37
    86
See reviews for
28
68
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, Cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

We (a couple in late 50's) were slightly apprehensive about this Hotel from reading previous reviews, but thoroughly enjoyed our week there. I will attempt to give a flavour of the hotel, and also comment on points mentioned in previous reviews.

The Hotel is small, old-fashioned and very friendly, situated at the terminus of many of the buses from the Railway Station, 3 minutes walk from the Bus Station, 10 minutes walk to the Campo and 15 minutes from the Duomo.

The two ladies on Reception spoke good English and were very friendly. They suggested that we keep our Room key for the week, so that we wouldn't worry about security if we stayed out after 20:30 when the Hotel became unmanned (with a code being provided to open the Entrance door form outside, but then having to get your own key from behind the Desk). The Lift is turned off overnight as there would be nobody to respond to an alarm if it got stuck.

Breakfast was back again in a small area off Reception (as shown in their photos), NOT across the Road in a cafe which some people had deemed unfriendly. There was a good choice (Tea, Coffee, Bottled Juices, Cereal, Buns. Croissants, Butter, Jam, Cheese Spread, Yogurt, Biscuits, etc) with no restriction on how much you ate.

Our room was on the top (3rd) floor directly over the Hotel entrance with a small balcony overlooking the pedestrian square (which includes a bus turning circle) in front of the Hotel. The double bed was actually 2 single beds pushed together but made up with double bedding and was very comfortable.

The bathroom door is about 8 inches (20 centimetres) above floor level and leads into a small glass-fibre pod (floor, walls and ceiling all cast together with shower area (with a ceiling extractor fan), toilet and wash-basin, plus shelves behind the toilet). Everything in the bathroom was very clean, but had been scrubbed rather too vigorously for the glass fibre which was noticeably scratched). Commenting on previous reviews, the shower area drained fine without overflowing onto the floor, and the toilet water tank was behind the wall.

The doors onto our private Balcony had wooden outer doors with Louvres for ventilation and inner doors with glass panels which could be covered by closing wooden panels. There were also curtains, so the room was very dark at night if you closed everything. Noise from outside could still be heard, but wasn't a problem, noise from the room next door was more noticeable as the shower and extractor fan could be heard.

The Room did NOT have Air-Conditioning, so MAY become too hot later in the year, even with the Balcony Doors wide open, but we couldn't comment as it was warm but not hot in Siena in March/April.

  • Liked — Close to Sights, and NOT a faceless Chain Hotel where you could be anywhere in the World.
  • Disliked — Noise from Room next Door.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerMEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Siena was the third city on our month long trip to Italy/France. The hotel was easily reached by cab from the train station. The bus also has stops directly in front of the hotel. The hotel is located within walking distance of all the attractions in Siena. The room was large however it was a little dark and the bed was hard. The room has its own bathroom however the toilet was in the shower. It was an unusual set up but we made it work.

The staff were very friendly and there is a restaurant across the street that was very good and not expensive. We were lucky enough to be in Siena during the Palio. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PR_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

I can not believe AAA and Travelbound would want to be associated with this hotel. I don't consider myself spoiled by fancy hotels, but this is definately the worst room I have ever stayed in. The room pictured on the internet can not possibly be from this hotel. We literally did not sleep for 3 days with the noise and extreme heat in the room. The bus and streetsweeper ran inches outside our window day and night. The toilet tank was located high on the wall and would leak on you as you sat on the toilet, the carpet was ridiculously filthy, and the mattress springs so uncomfortable you could barely stand to lie down. We tried very hard to walk away and book another room in the city, but found everything to be booked due to high season. The only pleasant thing about this hotel is the two ladies who work the reception. They are friendly and very knowledgeable about Siena. Save yourself the nightmare and stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Dirty, lack of air conditioning in 100 degree weather
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Siena hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2007

I stayed at this hotel for one night and got the room at the last minute. The room was about the dirtiest room I have every stayed in. I like to think that there are other, better rooms in this hotel and that they save this room only for emergencies. I was not even able to put my suitcase on the floor becuase it was so dirty.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank truffolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

We booked this hotel through Expedia amid mixed reviews, not expecting to find what we did. Even the oldish Italy Lonely Planet recommended it, saying it was set on a "quiet square".

Quiet square - yes, the square was pretty quiet however the main road is NOT quiet, at all. We stayed in a room on the main road and the whole bathroom shook when the bus stopped at the bus stop outside the window.

Being on a hill the cars and especially the scooters are very, very noisy and can go on basically all night.

The room we stayed in didn't have air conditioning, just a small desk fan. Luckily we stayed in September and it wasn't too warm. It wasn't like you would be able to open the window because the noise could keep you awake all night.

The room was very run down, the paint was peeling from all the windows and shutters, the bathroom had shutters on the outside but no curtain or anything on the inside and the toilet was right next to the window.

There were dirty marks on the walls and a cigarette burn hole in the bed sheet. Otherwise the sheets were pretty clean. The furniture reminded me of a cheap student house.

They did have a small fridge and a television and with shutters on both the inside and outside of the bedroom windows it was very dark at night.

The staff were friendly, if you returned after 10.30pm you had to put a code in the front door, not sure how you got your key because we didn't return after this time. Didn't seem particularly secure to be honest.

The room was very small and the bathroom was of equal proportions. It wasn't dirty in a daily sense but it was dirt that had built up over months maybe even years. There was also an unusual smell that seemed to hang around.

The hotel is inside the traffic restriction zone, although they will take your registration so you can enter to unload your luggage, after this you need to park in the free parking outside the city walls. This can be tricky at peak times.

The hotel is well placed as it is basically at the top of the hill to get into the main part of the city, Siena is quite hilly out of the city centre. But also it isn't too far from where you park the car.

Breakfast is served in a small cafe across the square and consists of a croissant or other sweet pastry, coffee, juice and some crackers. Nothing special.

I would not recommend this hotel, but there didn't seem to be too much choice in Siena when we booked. If you do book, request a room away from the main road.

Despite our disappointment with this hotel, it didn't detract from the lovely time we had in Siena. It is a beautiful city and a great place to visit.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything - see review
  • Tips/Secrets — Go somewhere else or request for a room away from the main road
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MissClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2006

We were booked for 4 nights but had to move, or go nuts after 2 sleepless nights. The windows had to be kept closed due to the noise on 3 sides of the hotel, so it was hot and sweaty. The piazza was also a bus turning circle with a games parlour adjacent.

The beds sagged to the extent that I resorted to putting an extra pillow down the length of the bed to try and get comfortable. Our room had a tiny prefab plastic capsule bathroom with a blocked toilet. The "buffet breakfast" was non-existent - it had been outsourced to a place across the street with an arrogant owner who snatched our docket and would only give us one pastry each and coffee, and if you were lucky, a yoghurt, cordial juice and packed toast and spread.

The carpet in the hallways seemed to be the original floral from decades back that had never been cleaned.

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — Easy access to bus station.
  • Disliked — Shockingly sagging beds and noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there under any circumstances.
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 km away
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
Albergo Cannon d'Oro
#31 of 40 in Siena
474 reviews
0.6 km away
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
Piccolo Hotel Etruria
#24 of 40 in Siena
262 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#32 of 40 in Siena
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
954 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#19 of 40 in Siena
791 reviews
0.2 km away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#9 of 40 in Siena
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Hotel Il Palio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Hotel Il Palio

Property: Piccolo Hotel Il Palio
Address: Piazza del Sale 18, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Piccolo Hotel Il Palio 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in former Convento de Tre Mori dating from the 1400s; set in the historic centre of town near the Piazza del Campo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Piccolo Hotel Il Palio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing