We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - rude staff”
Review of NH Siena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Siena
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This is a beautiful hotel although can get quite busy with groups. Our stay was marred by the man working the front desk who was rude and not at all interested in helping customers with enquiries. (not just me but also the two people in front of me who were asking a simple question and received rude, blunt and unhelpful answers also). Found the hotel to be a bit 'penny pinching'. Internet was expensive (compared to other hotels we'd stayed at on our trip) and they advertise free wiFi in the lobby everywhere but this is only free for one device per room for 15 mins each day! We went for breakfast which was pre-paid, and when we walked into the breakfast room it was busy with no attendants in sight. We started putting food on our plates then this woman shouted at us and came running across the room demanding our room number. She demanded we put our plates down and go with her to ensure we were on her 'list' (basically treating us like we were stealing breakfast). The room was kinda small but clean and newly refurbished. The location was great as is right where the busses stop and short walk to main attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photobecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 1,478 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed at the NH Excelsior in Siena for 3 nights. The booking was done by our travel agent (so we paid over the odds) and given the mixed Trip Advisor reviews we were a bit nervous! We needn't have worried - the staff were fantastic from the time we arrived. We had a bit of a problem with our documents when we arrived (our fault) and the receptionist sorted things out in a couple of minutes. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

The Hotel location is great, just a short walk to the centre of the 'old town'. It isn't a 'character' hotel but it was fine. We stayed in many Hotels during our 3 months in Europe and the NH Excelsior would stack up really well against most - the rooms were a good size and very clean. There was some noise from outside but not an undue amount.

Wouldn't eat at the Hotel Restaurant it was pretty dull and lifeless with a very restricted menu - many other great options nearby.

Maybe we just got lucky with the staff rostered on during our stay but we would certainly stay here again if we returned to Siena (we loved Siena its a great place to visit)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grantd1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

this hotel has a great central location but; the moment you enter the hotel you feel the cold spirit.. which is something very rare in Italy!, the reception staff is really really negative and rude and all have an attitude, my god i've seen how they treat the person in front of me, you don't understand if it's a hotel reception or you're being treated like school children who fail and they're the bad teacher, people were scared to ask questions to them.. me and my husband we both had bad experience at the reception and left the hotel with down feelings all the time. We had to select this place because it was late at night and we were looking for a central hotel and they had rooms. I've stayed in many other NH Hotels around the world and this one doesn't deserve the 4 stars and definitely needs to go thru a change. The breakfast buffet was also weak compared to other NH Hotels 4*, our room was small and I'd say minimum comfort..i really suggest you look around for other hotels

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tncya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We arrived in Siena late night with the car and we started looking for an accommodation.

The hotel looked very nice, but we wanted to look around, so we asked the staff to hold us a room for 30 min while we were searching for other alternatives. They have been very nice showing us on the map where all the other 4 and 5 stars hotels were.

At the end, after looking around we decided to stay. They gave us a nice suite, very comfortable bed and spacious bathroom.

Only the breakfast was under standard. For the rest good value for money and very convenient to walk in the historical center.

Room Tip: Suites are nice and spacious, with a nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGADOTTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel has a great location within the walls of Siena and it's a nice property. But, the staff is less than helpful and sometimes downright nasty. Their wifi didn't work properly & the computer in the lobby not at all. The hotel is rather contempory in design which was fine but somewhat perplexing since it's in Siena. We were there the 1st week of October and it was 82 F so AC would have been nice but it was "broken". Thank goodness our tour guide called ahead and moved our rooms to the north side of the building. A bit noisy but a decent temp. We loved Siena and the location of the hotel, though. Good bathroom.

Room Tip: North side is noisy but cooler if the AC isn't working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank korybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We flew to Pisa and travelled by train to Siena which, although a long trip with a couple of changes, was quite straightforward. From the train station at Siena we got a taxi to the hotel. I think we could have walked at a push but had read somewhere that it was quite a way. Taxi was about 7 euros.

We found the hotel more than satisfactory for our needs. A typical city/business hotel though so may seem a bit impersonal to those used to resort hotels. The staff were more than helpful and spoke good English. Our room was quite large and comfortable. The beds were a little firm but that was fine by me. The bedlinen and towels were spotless and the bathroom was also quite big and modern. Breakfast was great - everything you could want. Again the staff were courteous and friendly.

The hotel was about 10/15 mins from "Il Campo" but it was a nice walk. The city is really old and beautiful to walk around. You just have to watch out for cars in places as it's not too clear where they are allowed and where is pedestrianized. So many restaurants it's difficult to pick but we did particularly like La Tellina on Via delle Terme. If you're a lover of fish it's difficult to find in Siena but we didn't miss it too much!

Traveling out was easy as the bus terminal was really close to the hotel and the people in the ticket office also spoke good English so this was useful.

All in all I would defininitely go back to Siena generally and would go back to this hotel again as well as recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIerraOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I've stayed here twice for business. The first time I had a "superior" room which was a bit larger, but the furniture was old and it had a view of the Siena football stadium. The second time I went for a standard room which was smaller, but the furniture was modern. However, the A/C didn't work in the whole hotel so I was forced to keep the window open and the bus stop traffic in front of the hotel woke me up early. Reception staff pretty cold. This hotel has no parking so I was forced to park outside in public space and I got a fine since the roads were being cleaned in the morning. The hotel is in a good location for visiting the town, but I don't think I'll be staying here again. I have seen better NH hotels than this, especially if they are rated 4 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,342 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,132 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
766 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Continental - Starhotels Collezione
0.1 km away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#6 of 40 in Siena
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Siena

Address: Piazza La Lizza | Stadium, City Centre, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Siena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range: $129 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the rolling hills and plentiful olive groves of the sweeping Tuscan countryside, Siena's NH Siena (previously NH Excelsior) welcomes visitors with a striking blend of natural elegance and historic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Excelsior Siena
Nh Excelsior Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing