We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant and modern hotel”
Review of NH Siena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Siena
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant and modern hotel”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The lobby is very big, all the hotel interiors is very modern and clean. The room are good sized and modern, clean and functional. The hotel staff was very helpful for taking care of our luggage as we arrived too early for our room to be ready, and also after check-out, as we wanted to stroll around the city a little bit more, before leaving to another city. Very recommended.
Be aware WiFi is not free.

Room Tip: Opt for at least the Superior type of room to have some more space and a quite nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tari_manga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    584
    269
    82
    42
See reviews for
198
605
33
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The best feature of this hotel would be the location, which is in the elevated old city, and quite central to many of the more interesting features of this exciting city. The hotel has a worn, business-man-I-just-want-to-go-to-sleep quality, and many of the public spaces were either abandoned or completely unstaffed, like the lobby bar, or closed off to use by guests. Although we were there at a peak time, a few days before the summer Palio, the general feeling was of a disinterested host, which may be characteristic of this chain. Room quality was acceptable but undistinguished, views from all rooms are marginal, and there is a large soccer stadium at one side of the hotel wing that could become raucous during games. Other than the prime location and convenience to the many outstanding historical features of this charming city, there is no compelling reason to choose this hotel for your visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CUinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluntishou
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Hotel has a very good location but try and get a room at the back - not facing the square and the coach terminal. Rooms are a reasonable size and comfortable. Check in was easy (possibly because I have stayed before.
Breakfast is OK but it would be nice to be able to make coffee/tea in the room.
What lets the hotel down is the resteurant - the food is bland, little choice and the staff although friendly prefer to talk lowdly to each other and check there mobiles. But you can eat out - hotel is only just 10min from the cental piatza.
Overall for a buisness trip it is OK

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the coach station - early morning church bells are preferable to engines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel was wonderfully located. It was easy to exit the city for bus trips but at the same time we felt we were actually "in" Sienna. Everything was a short walk. The hotel was very very nice, rooms very clean and modern. Being on a busy street did not bother me, street sounds were minimal. Excellent area, felt safe and secure at all times. Dining facilities were good. Staff was helpful but could learn to smile just a little more. I found that when I was politer and smiled first they responded in kind.I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for either street side or not, it could make a difference in noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1248justjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Let me just begin by stating I don't believe in bashing any establishment. However, the NH Excelsior needs some tough love. The front desk staff is rude, especially Giancarlo. The waitstaff in the breakfast room were rude as well. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. The room was in need of a good cleaning. Please readers, don't waste your time staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hellosaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have stayed at the "Jolly" more than a dozen times. It is very pleasant and well-run. The staff are charming and helpful and the rooms are spacious and clean. The location is also ideal.

Room Tip: It's better to stay in the back (except during soccer/football season) because the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed at the NH 2 nights in September, as we were on our long awaited honeymoon.

Overall, the hotel is very nice, clean, modern, convenient and they have a breakfast room.

Breakfast was your average European breakfast, nothing to brag about, but one morning I noticed the bread was blatantly moldy, can't imagine you wouldn't notice when putting it out.

As many have stated, the front desk reception was far from a warm welcome. No music, no welcome, just get down to business. But, that doesn't really make or break whether we like the hotel or not.

The breaking point for us was, being awaken at 11:00PM by BLASTING, LOUD, so called, Live Music in the park next door. When first awaken, I thought it was some prank, that someone was outside the hotel being obnoxious and surely the cops will be there to put it out, , however after looking outside, seeing nothing, and the music continued until at least 1:00 AM if not longer, it was no joke. Just music in the park with a large attendance, or so it sounded. Surely, this was a one time deal, right? Not, next night, about the same time, LOUD, Blasting Music, with and even louder crowd, again, playing until 1:00AM or later. Unbelieavable! In the morning, I was feeing a bit tired but felt really bad for the Bride getting married that early afternoon. Surely she had NO sleep with nerves and BLASTING NOISE.

Also, the dinning room has limited hours, and didn't see any vending machines, so we had to go across the street for water, etc. There may be vending machines but we didn't see any.

We enjoyed a 5 hour wine tour to Tuscanny (Brunello) recommended by Rick Steves Italy Book 2011 book. Most reasonable pricing and good tour... www.enocuriosi.com. There are various options to pick from. Salud!

Albeit, I'd recommend the hotel if you don't care about friendly staff, or noise. Either bring really good earplugs, or ask if there is music in the park before you make your reservation.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Continental
1.5 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
2.1 km away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Siena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Siena

Property: NH Siena
Address: Piazza La Lizza | Stadium, City Centre, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Siena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Siena 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the rolling hills and plentiful olive groves of the sweeping Tuscan countryside, Siena's NH Siena (previously NH Excelsior) welcomes visitors with a striking blend of natural elegance and historic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Siena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Excelsior Siena
Nh Excelsior Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing