We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too stark for comfort.”
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Minerva
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too stark for comfort.”
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Disappointing. Room was okay but lacking any positive sense. If you only want a place to sleep and shower this will do. But there are other places that will enhance your Siena experience for less. One positive was the excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    539
    277
    71
    23
See reviews for
221
616
51
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I was pleased with my stay at Hotel Minerva. My room was very spacious... but cleanliness of washroom was a bit under par. The staff was curteous... the breakfast was very simple. There was a charge of 5 Euros for the WI-FI... I would have loved for that to be included which is more and more standard in hotels. When I asked the concierge to the cost for a taxi to the train station, he quoted me 5 Euros... it ended up costing 10 Euros (with no traffic). My main disappointment was that the concierge failed to advise me that there was a train strike that morning... and still sent me over to the station. I know that these things happen... but as a hotel (especially one so close to the train station), this should be information that is promptly communicated to travellers... especially those to ask to get to the station. Althought I had a few issues... most were minor and I enjoyed my stay... would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josee v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The hotel is conveniently located just outside the old town walls, 5 mins walk from the main bus station, 7 mins from the central piazza del Campo. The train station is a 20 min walk away, or by bus from the centre or one that stops just past the hotel. The hotel is in a rather nice building with a spacious lobby. Pick up a town map from Reception. The twin room was small, with an even smaller cramped bathroom with a small shower cubicle squeezed into a corner. You will need your own toiletries as only a couple of small liquid sachets are provided. The juliet balcony looks on to lovely views of the back of the old town. The usual continental breakfast fare of cereal, bread, cheese, cold cuts, stewed fruit, cake is served in a large room, & includes warmed croissants & boiled egg. Tea/coffee is served on a tray in small china jugs with milk by the 2 smiling courteous waitresses, so you can have your daily caffé lungo (long coffee), so favored by non-continental travellers, as you like it, leisurely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with views of the Old Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Mar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

I stayed in a single for three nights in November 2011 and very much enjoyed everything about the hotel with one small exception. The size of the room, the quality of the breakfast, the courtesy of the staff, the superb view of the city from my balcony--all first rate. Much appreciated also were the availability of BBC and CNN. The absence of a desk light would be my only mark against this fine hotel.--I would strongly recommend the Minerva to my friends.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SRJoffiveonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights in August. The rooms were clean and reasonably priced. The walls were quite thin and you could hear noise from the corridor and neighbouring rooms.

The Hotel is near the old city wall, just outside the old town. It is a 15-20min walk to the Piazza del Campo (Siena Square). If travelling via train, it is a bit of a hike so I would suggest catching a cab (roughly 8 euro’s) or catch the local bus to the centre of town and walk from there. The staff were lovely and happy to give recommendations and advice. There is a really nice steak restaurant (don’t remember the name) around the corner from the hotel which the staff recommended, which offers a 1kg T-Bones and amazing local wine.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBTravelblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Great hotel. Awesome views of the entire city. Great location. Helpful staff. They opened a bottle of wine for us and were very friendly. The balcony was a pleasant surprise and the entire hotle was great. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Not sure what our room number was but definitely ask for a balcony. We did not pay more when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We wanted to see Siena, as our daughter loved the 3 months she spent there while in college. We had 1 night at Hotel Minerva while on a 9-day trip pre-cruise.

First the good: our room was huge, much larger than any of the other hotels we stayed at in France and Italy. We had a balcony looking over Siena, and the room had air conditioning! We were helped with our luggage, and didn't have to ask.

Now the problems: parking is a real problem. If you find a place, you can squeeze into a spot in front of the hotel for maybe an hour while you unload. Then if you want to park without a hefty charge, you have to go up a hill and park along the street (if there's space available). Even with directions this wasn't easy to find.

The water pressure in the bathroom was very low, and the housekeeping wasn't the best (dirt in the corners etc.)

My biggest complaint though was the lack of coffee service at the breakfast buffet. We stayed in 6 hotels on this trip and they all had breakast buffets. Hotel Minerva was the only one that didn't have self-serve coffee. That in itself wouldn't be a problem if the service was good -- it was not. We entered the breakfast room and saw no self-serve coffee, but did see a young woman making specialty coffees so we asked her for a cup of regular coffee. Her response was "go sit down". So we did, thinking the coffee would arrive .....but instead we waited and waited. Finally we saw a different woman bringing coffee to other tables, and my husband asked her for coffee. This time it came quickly -- but why didn't the first woman let us know the procedure, instead of telling us rudely to "sit down" ?? I also noted this problem on the survey the hotel gave everyone. It would be so much easier on everyone to just have a pot of coffee with the food at the buffet. And those who want specialty coffees can order it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruising-along
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skrokko, Direttore at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear guest,

thank you for you comment on this forum. For the parking, as we are in the centre the majority of parking are paying and not so many. In front of the hotel are communal parking, so you have to be lucky to find a place even if it allowed to stay only for one hour. Being so near to the centre has the incovenience of lack of free parking, but this choice depends on the public administration.

I'm sorry if my colleague was not polite with you, during the days you stayed with us we were fully booked and maybe she only whished you have a table and then you order the drinks.
Your suggestion for a self-service coffee will be taken into serious consideration.
We hope you will come back to visit us and our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#13 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
2.3 km away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Property: Hotel Minerva
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 72, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minerva Hotel is a three star hotel in the historic center of Siena, overlooking from its position the city of the Palio. Hotel Minerva is located in the heart of Siena, the medieval city known around the world for the Palio and its age-old traditions, miracles and saints like Catherine and Bernard Tolomei, art, culture, food and wine. Just 10 minutes from Piazza del Campo and very close to the train station, the three-star hotel has 56 rooms, divided into Standard, Superior and Business, a meeting room and a garage. Perfect for business trips as a vacation exploring Siena and the most beautiful cities of Tuscany, Hotel Minerva is characterized by a warm welcome and an extreme attention to the customer. CHECK-IN 3.30 P.M. CHECK-OUT 10.30 A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing