We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base for Tuscany Adventures”
Review of Il Pettirosso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Pettirosso
Ranked #68 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Base for Tuscany Adventures”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This property is close to Sienna but still in the country. You can hear some road noise from the upper rooms from the highway that runs through the valley below but the traffic slows at night and you can close the shutters. We arrived in the afternoon and read a notice that check in was between 3PM and 6PM. You might want to call ahead to check on reception times. The room was very nice, the breakfast so-so and the sunsets from the pool area (closed when we were there at the end of September) were spectacular!
Our favourite restaurant close by was Restaurant La capanna dei Cavalieri on Strata di Montabuccio. We ate there 5 nights in a row!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bfeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    22
    12
    6
    20
See reviews for
7
54
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed at Il Pettirosso in September 2011 and loved both the B&B and Siena. The B&B is a way from the main central district of Siena and really is only accessible if you are driving if you are driving. This residence is worth staying at if you want to appreciate just what living in Tuscany is all about. The outlook is rural and we never got sick of the view from the loungers by the pool. It wasn't easy finding the place but down the hill under the bridge and up the other side to the two cypress trees and you are there. There are no staff to be seen as they obviously came and went whilst we were away for the day. The Wifi didn't work whilst we were there and there seemed to be a problem with the provider. The rooms were lovely and clean and as we self catered we loved the local supermarket. Our room had a seperate kitchen/dining area and then down 2 steps into a huge bedroom. The furniture in the bedroom was very special, ornate and old and was a little dark as the window was not large. The breakfast they left each day after the cleaning was done was more than adequate for us. We were thankful of the pool as the afternoons were very hot so we spent the latter part of each day down at the pool cooling off as the days were very hot. It was also a great place to meet with the other guests. The route into the main area of Siena was very straight forward and took 10 minutes to drive there and the parking was free. JanandKev. Christchurch, New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JannienadKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Great area of Tuscany, lovely place and room. Really only accessible if you are driving yourself. We werent. We had never been to Siena before and felt quite remote being out of town with no knowledge of public transport etc. No-one was on premises to help us. Someone came to check people in late in the afternoon (of course when you are sightseeing you cannot be there at that time to ask questions). We had to leave a note for our communication! Pool at the time we were there wasnt clean so unuseable. As I said if you are an independent traveller, used to the area and have your own car, perfect! Quiet and relaxing. Having never been to this area we did feel abandoned. The lady who checked us in really didnt know much about transport re buses etc so again no help. Breakfast was a prepackaged meal left for us whereas other places we had fresh farm produce but thats just being picky! Siena itself fabulous and we had a great driver who drove us to a wonderful winery and we had a divine time.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The first thing my wife and I said was 'wow'.. if you ever wondered what it would be like to live in Tuscany as a resident, then come here.. the appointments are taseful and the staff is completely hands-off.. we enjoyed shopping at the local supermarket, cooking our own food, and just enjoying the scenery, which is stunning.. we highly recommend.. two things to remember.. break out your Google maps, as there's no signage along any roads until you arrive at the driveway.. it's a bit hidden; and we had a tough time opening the beautiful old front wooden door in terms of the key.. the Europeans staying there easily opened it thankfully..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldfisharenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

What a lovely place! Helpful, yet unobtrusive staff, a pool, air conditioning and great views. Clean and friendly self-contained studios, 10 min drive to Siena. Highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a bit of Tuscan countryside close to the town. Tip: when your GPS dumps you under the freeway bridge, don't panic - keep going for 300 metres and look for the 2 cypress trees on the left (coming from Siena) which form the gate to the driveway, go up the gravel driveway for another 200 metres and you're there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
3.0 km away
Hotel Palazzo dei Priori
2.0 km away
La Selva Agriturismo
La Selva Agriturismo
#22 of 88 in Siena
113 reviews
5.3 km away
Agriturismo Malafrasca
Agriturismo Malafrasca
#29 of 88 in Siena
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,184 reviews
10.9 km away
Affittacamere II Pozzo
Affittacamere II Pozzo
#1 of 1 in Isola d'Arbia
24 reviews
4.0 km away
Borgo Villa Certano
Borgo Villa Certano
#1 of 2 in Costalpino
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Pettirosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Pettirosso

Property: Il Pettirosso
Address: Strada del Petriccio E Belriguardo 97 | loc. Po, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Pettirosso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing