We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Quality, Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Chiostro del Carmine
Ranked #25 of 119 Siena B&B and Inns
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“High Quality, Friendly Service”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

A beautiful building where we had a lovely spacious room - the people on reception were very helpful and we can highly recommend this hotel. Just on the outskirts of the city centre but that only means a 10-15 minute walk to the Duomo etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    191
    92
    41
    18
See reviews for
84
304
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We found our stay here absolutely delightful! All the staff we dealt with were as polite and helpful as can be. I agree with another recent reviewer that service must have improved since some of the bad reviews were made. There was no lift because, well, what do you expect when you stay in a 500+ year old monastery?! Staff brought our very heavy cases up to the 2nd floor. They also helped with booking dinner, organising trains to our next destination and even provided wine glasses, plates and bottle opener for our picnic! The rooms are comfortable and clean, not fancy but good for the price. Yes the sound travels between rooms a bit, but the beautiful residence makes up for it. Would definitely recommend it to travelers.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieellie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This hotel provides you with a unique Italian experience staying in what originally was a monastry. Our room was very large with a large bathroom and we only booked the cheapest room available!! So we were pleasantly surprised :) Our window view also looked out towards some of Siena together with the Tuscan countryside! Staff were fantastic, they could not be more friendly and helpful. We also used their parking facility which was easy to locate and enter and exit during our stay. Breakfast was very good in Italian standards - toast, cheeses, cold meats, crossaints, cereal, fruit, spreads, juice, tea and any coffee you like. Also, the location could not be better - you are 5 minutes walk to the main street, but you leave the hustle and bustle behind you when you return to this hotel at the end of your day, meaning peace and quiet! We would most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I agree with the other reviewers. Nice, quiet,clean and spacious rooms. Close to the downtown and great views of the Tuscan hills. Breakfast was good, not extensive but adequate. Too bad they don't take advantage of the lovely little courtyard at reception. It would make a great little spot for a morning coffee or an afternoon drink. Several great little restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

As a former monastery," il chiostro del carmine" offered an perfect spot in Tuscany to spend Easter 2011 relaxing, and quieting down. Typical italian atmosphere with everything in this beautiful ancient city within walking distance, churches, reataurants, beautiful views to narrow streets and ancient houses. Really spectacular.
We, two adult couples, spent few days in this hotel, and enjoyed, all the rooms were different, the history of the old monastery was still preserved, you could still almost feel the devotedness of people staying there in those old buildings when you listened the bells still calling people to prayer. So atmosphere, not modern technology or facilities are the attractions of this hotel in addition to very friendly personnel always ready to help. The bathrooms were clean and had modern Italian equipment. Additionally, breakfast was very good and was included in quite reasonable room price.
If You can take car parking on a too tiny yard only possible with help of other people as an adventure, or experience, this hotel is just for You. If You are disabled,wouldn't recoommend. If You are looking for a Hilton, go there....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finlandese49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The hotel is part of an old Carmelite monastery set just within the city walls.The location is superb just minutes walk from The Duoumo and the Campo yet quiet and peaceful.Our room had view of Tuscan hills in the distance and was quite a decent size with high beamed ceiling.It was spotlessly clean,comfortable bed with crisp white linen.New marble tiled bathroom with powerful shower.Breakfast was very good.Usual continental style -bread,jams,,meat,cheese,yogurts,fresh fruit ,cereals,plus fresh Italian sweet pastries.Tables are attractively set in the old quad and cloisters.An appropriate setting from which to begin your exploration of an amazingly beautiful city.Friendly helpful staff made our stay very enjoyable.Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicoutimi, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We loved the room, spacious and clean. The staff is really helpful, the atmosphere is quiet and the building is really beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges_Payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
3,089 reviews
0.1 km away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,361 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#3 of 119 in Siena
631 reviews
0.8 km away
Bed and Breakfast Pantaneto Palazzo Bulgarini
0.7 km away
La Chicca B&B
La Chicca B&B
#10 of 119 in Siena
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Chiostro del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro del Carmine

Property: Il Chiostro del Carmine
Address: Via della Diana 4, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro del Carmine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Chiostro del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Del Carmine Residence Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing