We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I want to go back today” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I want to go back today”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Hotel Alexander in Assisi is set in a quaint little piazza a bit off the main drag. The hotel is new on the inside, and wonderfully old looking from the street. It's the kind of hotel that, when you walk past, you'd say to your companion, "Awww. I wish we could stay there."

Staff was very helpful. Room was clean and airy. Rooftop "porch" offered stunning views of Assisi. And breakfast was served to my family in our room! Plus, the price was right.

Tip: You can drive right up to the door of the hotel while you unpack, then move your car to the nearby garage. I wish I would have known that.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbydee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    115
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
84
128
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

nice in-room breakfast incl in room rate
nice roof-top deck to view sunsets/countryside
no elevator to top rooms could be issue for some
very nice/helpful staff

Room Tip: The Raffael room has a great view from the window, even if the bed isnt the most comfortable. Churc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan_in_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
630 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I enjoyed my three night stay at the Hotel Alexander, but I’m not as enthusiastic as other reviewers. The hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of the small town, close to restaurants and sights, in a small piazza off the main street, so it’s very quite as far as street noise is concerned. Unfortunately, we had a screaming child staying in the room next to us and this we could easily hear!

I had thought it might be better to stay near the Basilica of San Francesco, at the other end of town, but, I’m glad we didn’t, as this was closer to other sites, restaurants and a bus stop to the train station. It’s an easy 15 minute walk to the Basilica.

Check in was fast, easy and friendly, but our room was slightly disappointing, not as nice as the pictures on the internet, but certainly OK and large by European standards, with a flat screen TV (no English channels) a small, but functional bathroom (rain shower, no tub) and all very clean. Bathroom amenities included soap, shampoo and shower caps plus a hairdryer. The main problem was that the beds were not comfortable. The mattress needed a mattress pad, because what would normally be “mattress buttons” were actually pieces of horizontal metal like pins which made laying on the bed uncomfortable. I prefer down comforters with duvet covers especially in hotels, and I was surprised to see bedspreads, which aren’t cleaned after each person’s use. The hotel is small, so breakfast which is the same each day, is served in your room by a very professional staff or on the roof top terrace, which wasn’t open while we were there (too early in the season). There is no 24 hour reception service, however someone is available by phone and you are given a key to the front door. We enjoyed the Otelloassisi restaurant which isn’t part of the hotel, but just under it.

Overall a very nice hotel, with a good location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful town. The room was stunning, breakfast delicious and service exceptional. Our daughter was unwell during our stay and we were all very well looked after. Would go back next time we go to Assisi.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTJAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Hotel Alexander is worth reserving ahead of time.......check your map, you will see the sign directing you from the Chiesa Nuova. The central location makes all the sights within a few minutes walk but it is the initimate, quiet, rooms that will bring you back. The deck on the roof gives a breathtaking panorama of the city and the breakfast served in the room will keep you going all day!!! The bathrooms are new and modern, the staff welcoming and knowableable. The hotel is not made for handicapped, but neither is Assisi......the good news is that after all the climbing in Assisi, the hotel steps are nothing!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We spent Christmas Eve and Christmas night in Assisi. Hotel Alexander was a great way to enjoy Christmas! The hotel was clean and rooms were spacious and modern. Off a small square that was quiet but very close to a main square and all the beauty of old town. Great location to explore the beautiful streets of Assisi. The hotel had an amazing terrace with wonderful views of the whole valley. Because it was winter months breakfast was served in our rooms. Very nice touch. If not, they are served on the beautiful terrace in the warmer months.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We have a family of 5 and visited Italy this past summer (2011). Stayed in Assisi for 2 nights at this hotel with a very happy experience. Got a bit lost navigating Assisi's streets but we were able to call Simone (director of hotel) and he led us there.

The rooms were very nice- air-conditioning was amazing, had a tv, nice bathroom, and clean. The hotel has an amazing terrace with wonderful views of the whole valley and they serve a very good breakfast up there in the mornings.

The hotel was very close to the main plaza as well. Only a couple minutes walk.

All in all, very friendly, nice hotel! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfpilot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#24 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Berti
Hotel Berti
#23 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#4 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#3 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Property: Hotel Alexander
Address: Piazza Chiesa Nuova 6, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alexander is situated in the hearth of the medieval town of Assisi; it looks out on a small friendly square and stands between the "Antique Town Hall" and the "Paternal Home of St. Francis". From this position is possible to reach quickly all the main monuments: the hotel is near "Piazza del Comune", the main historical town center, 70 meters from the "Basilica of St. Clare", 500 meters from the majestic "Basilica of St. Francis". Entirely restored and renovated in 2009, Hotel Alexander has 9 rooms all finely furnished and equipped with every comfort. The Alexander Hotel, entirely restored and renovated in 2009, has 8 rooms (6 standard and 2 junior suite) all with private bathrooms, tastefully furnished in modern style and very well cared in the selection of details and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing