We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$123
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$103/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gattapone(Gubbio)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
US$91
B&B.it
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveller rating
496
82
17
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
82
17
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairy taletower roomcastle groundstruffle huntwatch towercastle staycentury towertwo nightsawesome staywine tourmodern travellerumbrian countrysidelarge bathroombreakfast roomspiral staircaseamazing hotelwent above and beyond
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 597 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018

I had a fantastic stay here. The location is amazing, but the best of all are the people who run it. A short drive to the medieval town of Gubbio, in the heart of beautiful Umbria. Great room and great service. Dinner was delicious, with best quality ingredients from their own farm, and in great atmosphere, with real fireplace and real candles. I can say that Paolo was the best waiter I've ever had, and I travelled quite a bit. Breakfast was equally delicious. Great value for money. Congratulazioni vivissime a tutto lo staff del Castello.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank marcomura75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017

We were two couples touring Umbria. We stayed at the Castello for two nights. It was originally built as part of the defenses of Gubbio 1000 yrs ago then came into the possession of various owners who lived there over the many years. The Duke of Urbino, made famous in a portrait by Piero della Francesca was supposedly born there illegitimately! The place is way atop a mountain ridge deep in the Umbrian countryside. It's gorgeous and isolated. The accommodations are top notch (we did not stay in the tower). The rooms were airy and although traditional outfitted with all modern conveniences. The staff were great-Leonardo, Lucia-very pleasant, thoughtful. We had dinner twice there and the meals were superb, the service top notch. The views from the rooms and the breakfast room are stunning. If you are planning a trip anywhere near the area a stay here is well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017

We booked a truffle hunt and truffle dinner experience with Castello di Petroia for our guests here at Casa Vialba. The truffle hunt was not so great since we are experiencing a drought here in Umbria but the dinner was to die for! I have lived here in Umbria for 19 years and have therefore had countless memorable dinners but I will remember this dinner more than any other. Everything was perfect: the setting, the service and the food. The gnocchi with truffle was out of this world, the pork filet was cooked to perfection.
I highly recommend this truffle experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 14, 2017 via mobile

We were referred to the location by la coccanga owners and I have to say thank you.
The old castle is a huge beautiful hotel and restaurant we were welcomed so nice and warmly by the staff and the atmosphere is taking you back in time as if you are at the ninth century.
The chefs cooking and the service was excellent we enjoyed our food and the desserts were wonderful.
Thank you for your wonderful experience with lots of thanks.
Yoram

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Yoramla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017 via mobile

To stay in an 11th century tower. 14th century castle. How much more needs to be said?
Location is exquisite. The beauty is rich, deep in history. The countryside is stunning.
We stayed in the tower- be prepared for the steepest spiral staircase down the the bottom bathroom. Center level is a toilet. Upper is the bed- I would wake with stunning sunrise views, stunning. The top of the tower is just incredible. You see all of the Umbrian valley.
There is no wifi in the tower.
Friends took the room in the main building- very comfortable, well appointed.
Food was excellent, prepared by Michelin star chef. Ambiance was unforgettable.
If you go in late Sept, be sure to visit during the Gubbio festival- there is a candle lit dinner with sword fighting demonstration- unforgettable.
Breakfast was amazing- great cheeses meats etc. the cappuccino was excellent.
Service was excellent from the front to the servers, wait staff, everyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SBN_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews