We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of la Cantina

la Cantina
Ranked #53 of 139 Restaurants in Gubbio
Cuisines: African, Italian, Moroccan
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We were looking for somewhere for dinner in Gubbio and spotted this place up a quiet side street off the main square. We were the first customers and as it was fairly warm decided to sit outside under an awning.

The menu looked interesting and my husband chose Melanzani Parmigano to start which he really liked. My starter of baked cheese with truffle sounded awesome but was awful. Really solid, chewy mozzarella dusted with truffle shavings. I love cheese but couldn't finish half of this odd stuff.

Our main courses arrived before we had finished the starters.Gary had four cheese pizza with a lovely thin base which was good and my gnocchi gorgonzola was ok. They do not have the usual house wines that are normally served in Italy just a glass of wine for 8 euros or a bottle for 15 euros! Also no bottled soft drinks just soda stream stuff.

The servers were all very young girls and although they were pleasant the service was very, very slow and erratic. And got worse as the evening dragged on as more customers arrived. We looked around the town in daylight the following morning and saw many more better looking places. So wouldn't recommend this one. Price for this food, a beer & soft drink was 45 euros.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oreisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 312 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Needed somewhere for a quick lunch with hungry kids and not too expensive. This was perfect. Close to the centre and down a pretty side street there is seating inside or outside with decent shade. The waitresses were efficient and helpful. Food was tasty and reasonably priced (€5.50 for a decent sized pizza and €8-13 for pasta dishes). Yes they add on a surcharge of €2 per person for the bread provided but the menu stated this and they don’t add on a ‘service charge’ too. I assume this is standard with busier town centres. Only criticism is it took a good while to get and then pay for the bill (even when I stood at the till) mainly because owner/manager was too busy chatting with friends.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank saladboxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018

We had pizzas and steaks for lunch. Everything went smooth and we also got gluten free food for one. She had a big steak and salad. Not too many customers as we had a late lunch so very fast service. The pizzas were so good that we will come back if possibl!! :)

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 76VVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2018

We were in Gubbio for just one night and stayed at the Relais Ducale. It was a Saturday night and we did not have any dinner reservations so we wandered around a bit trying to decide where to eat. By 830p we decided on La Cantina, but they had no room inside so they offered us a table outside. We saw a lot of locals coming and going. The wait staff pretty much ignored us as they tended to their friends at nearby tables but regardless we were sort of entertained by it all. We shared a pizza and a salad, and it was very reasonably priced.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoveToTravel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

Visiting La Cantina is somewhat of a tradition every time we visit Gubbio and this most recent trip was the best. We love the location and lovely courtyard, it's very family friendly and the staff are always very accommodating. Pizzas are always fine and very tasty pasta, especially good is the tagliatelli with rabbit and truffle. On this visit i had the fillet steak with a Mediterranean ragout style sauce which was absolutely divine. The best meal we've had there yet, and we've had a few! Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank BrockleyJanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed la Cantina also viewed

Gubbio, Province of Perugia
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
 
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
 
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
 

Been to la Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing