We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
192
118
47
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
118
47
10
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 371 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2016

We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was grand and in the main part of the castle. Highly recommend this for amenities and history. the pool is just down a short path and is surrounded with beautiful roses. The terrace was a great spot for enjoying a glass of wine.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank donettaw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 29, 2015 via mobile

If the beautifully furnished and groomed rooms, were a little larger and better service, we would have given five stars.

We have spend four perfect days at the castle hotel in room 105, which is really quiet and nice.

The Beautiful pool is directly outside the hotel.The gardens are spectacular, as is the view to the land scape.
The breakfast was quite nice.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank isabella120379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2015

We stayed for 5 nights here in September. We were given a room on the top floor under the roof which was very small, just big enough for the furniture and with a shower room cut into the room. The shower room was a lovely size with good fittings, but the smell of drains was rather overpowering. I don't think they have a stench pipe for the toilet, so you can only imagine....We spoke to some other guests who had exactly the same problem and had changed rooms twice, but all rooms smelled the same. The room under the roof was very very hot at night as they didn't have on the central air-conditioning system, but we slept with the window open because of the smell anyway! I think maybe the rooms on the first floor would be bigger and better. The staff are very laid back, you get no help with luggage, but there is a lift. The location is very remote, so if you want peace and quiet and time to relax, it's great BUT they do not serve any lunch or snacks or anything whatsoever, so you will need to either bring in your own, or go out and buy something from a supermarket. There are no restaurants nearby. Nearest town Gubbio is half hour away. Breakfast was usual cake, cornetto, yogurt, cereal. Dinner was very limited, and you are given a piece of paper with the menu on which you then have to 'tick' the boxes on what you want! Never had that before in a restaurant!! There were only about 5 starters, 5 maincourses and a couple of desserts, so very limited if you are staying for a long time. We were out and about in other towns most of the time so only ate here twice. Wine is from €14 a bottle, but again, list is limited. The pool at the back is very nice, peaceful and relaxing, but not heated so very cold in September, but on a hot sunny day it was lovely. We booked at a discounted price of £40 a night, so I was happy with that. I would not want to have paid more, the place looks grand, but there is little service or amenitites. Most of the guests were Italians away for the weekend with their dogs. The place really is essentially a wedding venue and is set up as such, but out of Italian wedding season (summer) I suppose they have minimal staff and just want to keep the place ticking over. Another guest told me on arrival it was the 'Italian Fawlty Towers!'

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the top floor under the roof, they are very small and stuffy, try one on the first floor.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abruzzorentals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 11, 2014

What a lovely genteel getaway from for us unfortunately bad weather on our Umbrian sojourn.

The quality of the accommodation and gracious staff of Castello Baccaresca more than made of for what was lacking in the weather.

We visited as part of an internet coupon deal so pricing was exceptional in view of what was delivered. Accommodation was large, tastefully furnished and clean. Part of the 'deal' we purchased included a degustation of local produce and wine which was ample enough to serve as our dinner. Breakfast as likewise (albeit continental) fresh and ample in choice to cover most tastes.

We had the castle to ourselves on our visit so so the 3 adults and one tween really felt like the noble patrons sipping wine wight eh entire lounge area to ourselves.

We did not see a pool and this may be the only draw back in the warmer months. For those wanting a genteel escape without the associated over pretentiousness of some similar locales then this is an ideal place either for a place to rest whilst on the road in Umbria for a longer stay in the country.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelledDCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews