We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed high-end dining”

Ristorante La Rosetta
Reserve with
Ristorante La Rosetta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 888 Restaurants in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Perugia, Il Ristorante La Rosetta represents the tradition of the local cuisine, following old receipes with a modern twist. Established in 1922, the restaurant has been one of the first in the region to achieve the prestigious Michelin Star. Positioned in a elegant and confortable environment, with a charming patio, Il Ristorante la Rosetta has became a point of interest where people from all around the world come to taste typical and geniune dishes. The principle of the restaurant is local, seasonal and natural products.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I lunched there early afternoon in November 2018.

The restaurant serves a hotel of the same name. The restaurant has a very attractive ivied facade. The dining room is large, open and airy, dominated by the hugest pumpkin I have ever seen. A lovely marble mosaic tiled floor. There were only four other diners at the time, perhaps because we were very early. Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

We commenced with complementary Norcia crudo ham on warm crisp pancakes to be eaten with the hands. A great start to the meal.

Our waiter recomended an Umbrian white from Orvieto; dry but with slight fruit in the aftertaste.

I had tagliatelle with black truffles. Pasta perfectly al dente and a profusion of truffly happiness. Truffles are soooooo good!

My partner had spaghetti with bianco ragu(no tomato) from a Chianina bullock. The ragu was based on mince in Bologna style. (Further south ragu is based on chunkier meat.) She was delighted with her choice.

Next we had a cheese plate (mainly various ages of Pecorino) With pear, walnut and jam.

We were then presented with a further gift: almond biscuits to be dipped in sweet Vin Santo. Mmmmmm.

The price was not unreasonable, the food was terrific and the service was exemplary.

The place is slightly tucked away, which gives a sense of privacy and seclusion, so you should seek it out when you deseve a rare treat.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 283 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2018 via mobile

The restaurant is part of a traditional hotel in downtown Perugia. It is open for guests and visitors alike. Outside and inside seating. Service very attentive and courteous. We tried several local dishes, all of them very well prepared, specially pasta. We chose to drink a local red wine from Montefalco which happened to be very good. We were offered a free local dessert consisting of “tozzetti” (almond biscuit similar to Toscana’s Cantucci) and Vin Santo. We came back for a second visit in our three day stay in Perugia. Recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank juanca4712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018

We and our British friends enjoyed a fine dinner last evening at La Rosetta in Perugia. Our waiter was friendly, attentive, and good-natured. Service was superb. The restaurant provided a tasty appetizer of Norcia ham on fresh bread. For appetizers, we had salads: My wife a large, fresh mixed salad; I, arugula with fresh sautéed mushrooms. Then we both had delicious pork cutlets. The wine list was extensive, but we settled on a moderately priced Vino Nobile de Multipulciano. We were too full for dessert, but our waiter brought us biscotti with Vino Santo. It was a rather cool, windy day, and this stylish restaurant seemed a real haven. We strongly recommend La Rosetta as a class act in a smaller city with limited dining experiences. The Prix Fixee menu at 25 Euros is a real bargain.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018

Elegant service. wonderful food and a great finish of their own dessert.
I had the gnocchi stuffed with ricotta with fresh tomato sauce. My husband had pork with truffles.
It was delightful to eat there and is located inside the hotel down off the main promenade.There is a gated outside eating area so you have a choice of eating inside to out. We chose to sit inside because of the heat of mid day.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank SRQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2018

We went to this establishment last night and while the team serving were pleasant enough, there was an old fashioned, stuffy air to the place which didn't make us feel all that welcome. The restaurant was listed as "fine dining" in our guidebook so we persisted expecting the food to live up to the pretension. While the food was perfectly edible and not ridiculously priced, it wasn't fine dining. The quality of the ham was good but you'd expect that in any reasonable restaurant in Italy. The quality of the presentation and sauces though did not live up to expectations. While the rabbit I ate was nice, the sauce added nothing to it (it was like a bland vegetable soup rather than a flavourful addition.) Reheated potatoes added nothing and most of the vegetables were overcooked. My partner's pork dish he felt was "ok" without being anything special.

All in all very disappointing. Perhaps a place living on former glories? While it was an "ok" meal, food in Italy and in Perugia particularly is generally excellent which makes it pale in comparison.

My advice? Chill out on the service so everyone feels welcome whether they're in jeans, shorts or a suit and revamp the menu to add a hint of modernity. Focus most of all on flavour and quality.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UKLouG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante La Rosetta also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante La Rosetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing